We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centric, calm, kind staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariano IV palace hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariano IV palace hotel to your Saves list
Mariano IV palace hotel
Piazza Mariano 50, 9170 Oristano, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Oristano
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
“Centric, calm, kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Satisfied with this hotel during "Sa Sartiglia" equestrian tournament held in Oristano for the past 500 years on Carnival Sunday and Mardi Gras

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
27
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We went to this hotel using our navigator because the other 2 it suggested didn't exist, and we were glad we found it. We don't recognise the staff from the other reviews as we found them all very helpful and pleasant. The room and bathroom were both large and clean and the bed very comfortable. Despite being on the road, we heard no noise from either traffic or other guests and slept very well. It was within walking distance of the town centre and easy access to restaurants there. Also a locked underground garage for cars and bikes.We were advised to go and see the ruins at Tharros and the beach at Is Arutas and it would have been a crime to miss either of them. Also worth spending half an hour at San Salvatore for a drink at the very idiosyncratic bar there and to see the location for many a spaghetti western !

Room Tip: If not a smoker it might be worth asking for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pros: good location, excellent parking close by, clean and comfortable, a great breakfast buffet.
Cons: reception staff that are either grumpy or just uncommunicative, hideous decor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

One the most comfortable hotel we stayed at during our tour of the island, but the staff was a let-down with them being the most reserved and dour hotel staff we came across during our entire trip. Hospitality and "service with smile" was not invented here...

However, the hotel itself is nice and has a convenient location for exploring Oristano and surroundings. Oristano turned out to be a nice town once we discovered the town centre and the Il Faro restaurant (which was outstanding).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Mariano is locate on the edge of the old town within walking distance of all the main sights. The room was clean, but I'm not sure I could two singles pushed together as a double, but we were too tired when we turned up to argue.

The staff were helpful and breakfast was generous. There was also hotel parking under the hotel.

Free Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Hotel ideally placed in centre of Oristano. Free parking which is a bonus in the centre. Good variety of shops and restaurants.

Hotel is quite grand with spacious rooms. Restaurant caters for lunch and dinner (although we preferred to eat out). The breakfast had the usual cereal, breads cakes and a small selection of ham and cheese.

One warning if visiting Tharros - be prepared for the mozzies. The site is fantastic but spoilt by the mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff, nice food in restaurant. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariano IV palace hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariano IV palace hotel

Address: Piazza Mariano 50, 9170 Oristano, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Oristano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Oristano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariano IV Palace Hotel is located in the heart of Oristano, opposite the homonymous square. At a walking distance from the train and bus stations, Mariano IV Palace is a four-star hotel with Standard, Superior and Suite rooms, carefully designed in order to guarantee comfort and ease. The building, completely renovated in 2006, also lodges a bar and Blao restaurant, where our guests can taste the traditional Sardinian dishes brilliantly revisited in a contemporary style. Free Wi-Fi connection.All the eighty rooms at Mariano IV Palace Hotel are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV (Sky channels are also available in many of them), minibar and desk. Some of the rooms look out onto the square, others onto the garden.Free car parks are available around the square and the neighboring streets. The hotel is close to the historical city center and to the sea: the beautiful sandy beaches of Sinis are just ten minutes away by car. An on-demand shuttle service to and from Cagliari Elmas airport is provided with an extra pay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mariano IV palace hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariano IV Palace Hotel Oristano, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariano IV palace hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.