We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST HAVE A CAR ( to drive to san teodoro instead)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Speraesole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Speraesole to your Saves list
Speraesole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   viale Multa Maria 33 | Loc Murta Maria, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Olbia
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MUST HAVE A CAR ( to drive to san teodoro instead)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in early September. We chose this hotel because it is close to Olbia, but not too close, close to beaches and had a pool.

We stayed for 7 nights and for 5 of those nights there was some sort of wedding or party on. Unlike other guests who have reviewed this hotel we were not given advanced warning of this or anything complimentary to make up for the noise until the small hours. The location of the dining area is next to the pool which makes getting to the pool very hard when there is an event on or being set up. Also we didn't particularly want to take a dip in front of an entire wedding congregation.

The hotel seems much more focused on setting up for the big events which presumably earn them more money. In the morning at breakfast there were what looked like leftover's of the wedding 's desserts. Hotel guests were channeled into one small section of the dining area while the rest was left over/being set up from/for a wedding.
Some of the staff at breakfast seemed extremely tired, making us wonder if they had been working at the wedding and then again at breakfast.

The selection at breakfast included cold meats and cheeses, eggs and bacon ( scrambled and boiled) small selection of yoghurts and cereal, sometimes fruit, and lots of tart-like desserts.
Perhaps we expected too much, but we thought thre might be a couple of Italian coffees to choose from, some fresh Italian bread and pastries. There was one type of average coffee, and I wouldn't recommend the bread or pastries at all. I don't think they were an accurate representation of true italian baking.

The hotel was very clean and there was a maid service daily. The bathroom was nicely decorated and functional.

The biggest downside to this hotel is the location despite being only a few miles from Olbia. We thought we would try and use the public transport. However there is a bus every 1-2 hours to Olbia, they don't run on time and between about 2-7 there aren't any at all. The hotel does offer a free minibus service to a local beach which is lovely. It is very tourist filled though and there are many touts trying to sell you fake bags on the beach. The water itself is stunning and warm.

There is a much better beach about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, it is much quieter and frequented by locals ( which is always a good sign).

Our holiday was saved by the fact we managed to rent a car on the third day. We actually ended up spending a lot of time in San Teodoro instead, about 20 minutes south of Murta Maria. This is a much better place to stay with many restaurants, shops, hotels and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    135
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
101
187
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From some of the reviews you would think that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so I was pleasantly surprised to find several restaurants, two supermarkets and a bakery (Panifico - Via dello Zenzero) that are all within a 5 minute walk. The main thing is that the hotel is just a couple of miles of some stunning beaches.

Admittedly, without a hire car one does feel a bit limited. So any longer than 4 days without a car would be too long. The hotel hires out bikes for 15 euros each per day. Also, there's a free shuttle to the beach. The driver we had was very friendly and professional. The reception staff were helpful too - especially Federica who organised our airport shuttle.

Some of the reviews say that the rooms overlooking the road are not as good as those with a pool or garden view. In fact, the road view room that I had was very clean and quiet. It was also far away from the banqueting area, which was just as well because there was a wedding on one of the days of our stay.

The bar / cafe has a good snack menu and cocktail list but many things are only available for a limited time during the day and early evening, if at all, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and the coffee was excellent. If you have an early flight then you can order a packed breakfast to take away.

Overall this hotel is a nice place to stay. It's not 5* but neither are the rates. It is, however, a clean hotel and the staff are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in mid September. It was very quiet and very relaxing. The room was nice, with a big balcony, aircon, extra pillows and blankets and a modern bathroom.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast and everything was fresh and tasty. You do need to be there before about 9am though as after that few items get restocked.

As it was the end of the season there was no bar near the pool area. This wasn't an issue, we just went to the cafe on the front of the hotel for both drinks and food. The pool area itself was very nice - plenty of loungers spread around a large area.

There are only a few restaurants in Murta Maria. We mainly ate in Le Pergola which was lovely.

We visited both Porto San Paulo and San Teodoro on the bus. Both were lovely little towns and worth a visit. Be aware that the bus service is unreliable and will be later than timetabled. It is cheap though and does turn up eventually! Be sure that the bus is going back to Murta Maria - especially the later ones - two will be timetabled and they take different routes,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were planning a relaxing trip and that is exactly what we had. We opted not to hire a car on this visit but Murta Maria is quite a small town so if you want to get around easily then we would recommend you hire a car. We would definitely visit again and hire a car to see more of the island. There is a local bus which you can get from the airport to murta Maria and it only costs 1.20 euros each but beware of the times as they are not very regular so we had a drink at the airport while waiting. We also used this bus to visit San Teodoro for a day trip from murta Maria, which was only 3 euros each. You can get the bus timetable from the hotel reception. Would definitely recommend a visit to San Teodoro at least once - there is a bit more going on in the town & the beach there is lovely. The hotel was very accommodating, clean & our room was spacious. Although we did not have a room overlooking the pool or garden - we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. We ate in the hotel restaurant once but found it quite pricey & the food wasn't as good as we had elsewhere. Our favourite place to eat was La Pergola, only a few minutes away and ate there 5 out of 7 nights. They have a roof top terrace overlooking the hills & sea. The food & wine was very tasty & staff were very friendly. They also offer a take away service if you don't feel like eating in or are on the go. Breakfast at the hotel was good with lots of choice & freshly made coffee & teas. We used the free shuttle bus to Porto Istana once but found the beach quite crowded so ended up walking along the cliffs along the seafront & found ourselves a beach all to ourselves which was a nice treat. We also walked down to marina Maria twice and enjoyed the beach down there with places to pick up an ice cream or drink & is not too busy. When we weren't exploring we relaxed in the hotel garden by the pool - again very clean & picturesque. We forgot our beach towels so the hotel gave us some for 5 euros each. The staff were friendly and willing to help. All in all a good trip & we would both recommend this hotel to anyway visiting Sardinia.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Responsabile reception at Speraesole, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor and recommending our Hotel. We welcome you back to Hotel Speraesole to enjoy our comfy rooms and great breakfast. We also invite you to try our restaurant again: a wide range of menu at different price will be awaiting for you!

Kindest regards,

Sara Porcu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed 7 nights second week of September. All in all, a very nice hotel for a relaxing break. Room overlooked the garden and the pool and was quiet. Garden area almost deserted most days. Recommend that you get in touch with the hotel before arrival to ask if they can pick you up with their shuttle if you are not hiring a car. A taxi cost us 30 euros, hotel shuttle is 15 euros one way. There is also a free shuttle service to the nearest beach , Porto Istano, every 2 hours. Hotel restaurant is the best food in Murta Maria (and most expensive). Room mini bar prices are not unreasonable, but range of . Everything clean and tidy, hotel staff friendly and speak English. Location is quite remote and Murta Maria is only a small village so a car is essential if you want more from a holiday than sitting by a pool. We opted for a car for 3 days which was ideal for our needs, allowing us to visit other coastal locations.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the front as there is construction work going on (Sept 13)and the road can get busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara_P925, Responsabile reception at Speraesole, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your positive comments that you have put on tripadvisor, I am very pleased to hear that your first experience with Hotel Speraesole was a really positive one and its also great to read you really enjoyed our team members, the rooms and the food, too.
We endeavour to make our guests visit a comfortable one.
We hope you will come back to visit us in the future.
Kindest regards,

Sara Porcu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Right,we(me,my bf and my 5 years old daughter) just back from Sardinia after week staying in Speraesol hotel.It is nice, clean and quiet hotel which is set in the tranquil village of Murta Maria,so car is necessity.Good thing its just 15 min drive from Olbia airoport.
The room wasn't to big but ok.We been staying in room 114 with balcony fronting sea for 160 € extra pay. The food is nice but I wouldn't say AMAZING. Breakfast is ok, but after 9am you hardly gonna get some fried egg or bacon which is unexceptionable for 4* hotel.The bad thing about having lunch or dinner there is, they don't have kids menu, so I asked to grill some white fish for my 5 years old daughter and ended paying for 100gr of fish 18 € and plus 7 € for chips so be careful with that.The staff is friendly whit good English so no complains about that.In my opinion it is strong 3* hotel for older people or someone who wanna have very boring and silent holidays by the pool.I been in many 4* hotels and 99% of them usually have some corner for kids or at least pool toys for them.This Hotel is totally not for families with kids as they dont have anything for them(apart pool) so be ready to entertain them all the time!!!Speraesol definitely have to work on welcoming families with kids and put more effort in that!It is pretty nice beach not to far with some toys for kids which you can use I guess for free.The hotel have beautiful garden next pool and would be so great to have there something little bit for kids.Well in total is nice and friendly hotel just very and very boring in the middle of nowhere! I would go back maybe just for weekend but not for week as its far to boring and nothing really special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Responsabile reception at Speraesole, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is highly valued and your comments will be addressed with our team accordingly to improve our services. I agree with you our hotel needs something to entertain kids, a part the pool. We are working on it and in a very next future our hotel will have a play area. For the next time you and your kids can enjoy "Parco Padrongianus" which is a natural park a couple of km far from us. There are daily activity for children, drawing, art and music workshops, canoa and bike escursions. A part from this place, Hotel Speraesole is highly recommended for families with children: children under 6 years old do not pay, over 6 years they get 50% discounts on the room and in the resturant. Rooms are designend for families and so are the restaurant, bar and our lovely garden. Moreover we are just few steps from the nicest beaches in the area: Porto Istana, Marina Maria and Li Cuncheddi etc.
We regret that the breakfast was not the best of your expectations. If you needed more eggs and bacon during breakfast you should have asked our waiters. I am absolutely sure they would have brought the right quantity required.
I am very sad to read you found our hotel boring when it is very well appreciated for relaxing and enjoyng the quiet. It might be we are not what you were looking for. I guess you are more interested in a holiday resort with miniclub for entertaining children and a place close to the beach. However I sincerely hope you will stay with us again in the near future and we will do our best to make your holiday a faboulous one.

Kindest Regards,

Sara Porcu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judenburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff was really friendly, the room was quite ok and the parking possibilities were good.
The shower and toilet clean and ok - but no way worth the **** and the 150€, I've spent there for 1 night.
The biggest fauxpas and really most negative point is the situation with the minibar. They have put a sign on it, that it is not allowed to put some own drinks into it, or they will fee you with 10€...

You should know, that in the bar there were only "4" small Drinks and the minibar itself was not cold, due to the Situation that it is a cheap crap of fridge....

In the meantime they serve fruits for breakfast, but the quality of it is not outstanding - we saw a moldy dried strawberry sticked on a nectarine and the pears were not the freshest ones...

Anyway, I will not choose the Hotel anymore and would not recommend it. I do. To know, why is has so good reputations...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Responsabile reception at Speraesole, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to give every guest personalised and genuine service and for you not to have experienced this is a disappointment. Breakfast is normally a highly rated feature for its fresh and healthy food so I am additionally disappointed to read of your displeasure.
The minibar in the room is a small refrigerator which can cool only few drinks and it can keep only few bottles, overloading it can damage its function. This is the reason we do not allow our guests to put their drinks inside and suggest them to ask our colleagues at the lounge bar to store or to buy beverage. You could call the bar room service to get food or drinks into your room.
Thank you once again for your comments and time.

Best Regards,

Sara Porcu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Speraesole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speraesole

Address: viale Multa Maria 33 | Loc Murta Maria, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Olbia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Speraesole 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Speraesole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speraesole Hotel Olbia
Speraesole Olbia, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speraesole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.