We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Bianco

Pepe Bianco
Via Catello Piro 8 | traversa Corso Umberto I, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
(+39) 3347353059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 218 Restaurants in Olbia
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The restaurant is on a side street to the main street in Olbia.
One of the employees of the restaurant stands on the main street and turning tourists into the restaurant.
In the evening there is music from the restaurant that gives you a feeling that this is a good place.
The main dishes were expensive and not tasty.
The Tibbon steak was dry and the spagetti was very salty.
The waiters tried to please us but without success.
Thr bill was expensive and it also had a mistake, they added a dish that we did not order at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Proprietario at Pepe Bianco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi.
I'm so sorry that your tastes differs from our Mediterranean kitchen, but everything we cooked was good.
If you ask for a T bone steak well done, its normal that it has to be a little bit dry( it express better its taste rare).
Spaghetti with seafood also have to be salty because seafood it's fresh. Maybe in your country you prefer to eat pasta without salt at all...
Yes, there was a mistake in the bill, but it was corrected in a while, spending 225€ in 6 eating 5 T-bones 600+ grams ,pasta, drinks and other things and listening live music it's not expensive at all.
I hope you come next time so we can do our best like always.
Best regards Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    37
    20
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
menton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Is it a bar? is it a disco? is it a pizzeria? Is it a restaurant?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Don't be taken in by the flashy chandelier lit bar nor the live music.
If you're there for a drink, that's fine. If you've been "encouraged" to eat there, beware! Although the food is OK when it finally arrives, the staff haven't got a clue. Plates are cleared while one is still eating, service is very slow and confused.
For the same price you can have a decent meal nicely served anywhere else in Olbia.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Unmemorable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate here during a seven night/three city tour of Sardinia and chose it as a consequence of being accosted in the street by a suited employee handing out meal deal flyers. We managed to get a table outside but decided not to choose from the meal deal options and instead chose from the main A La Carte menu. That said, of the various restaurants we ate in during the trip, this is the only one that neither of us can remember what we had to eat, therefore it was not memorable just decidedly average. The service was a bit slow and standoffish and overall it was a bit pretentious but without foundation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Chance Encounter With Pepe Bianco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After being handed a flyer from a guy off the street, we enjoyed a great meal here. We both enjoyed a filling bowl of pasta and a steak and a bottle of red wine. The two pasta dishes were really tasty and generous portions. The steaks were cooked exactly how we'd ordered and the red wine we choose was very enjoyable. The service and the attentiveness of the waiting staff were very good, all of which made for a very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork-Ireland & Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely venue, looks like a fashion cafe for models. Lovely decor.
I liked to sit outdoors and have some drinks there. Great musical entertainment. Music was a great feature of Olbia night entertainment, outdoor Karaoke, local communities dancing on the Piazzas nearby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Bianco also viewed

Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Pepe Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.