We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Barbagia

Ristorante Barbagia
Via Galvani 94, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
+39 (0)789 51640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 218 Restaurants in Olbia
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

First night in Olbia and decided to go to the nearby restaurant. Well, being the only foreigners in the restaurant, we thought that was the reason for taking almost 20 minutes for someone to come to our table. Another quarter of an hour to order and then it all started.
It took ages for the antipasto to arrive and after that it was like being part of a Gordon Ramsay's TV show. I kept searching for hidden cameras to make sure that was not a joke. It took 2 hours for us to get our pizzas. The whole night we witnessed customers complaining about delay, orders mistake and lack of service.
So it was not only for the haoles but to locals as well the poor service and to complete I had to stand up and pay at the counter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    98
    34
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wholesome quality Italian food, surprise find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Overall a nice little restaurant with friendly staff and a good selection of food. We had a mix of pizza and pasta and both were very good, the pasta portion was on the large size but is homemade and you can taste it. This is a good "daily" eatery but lacks the finesse to make it a "special" place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Twice in two days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Barbagia is a must if you are in Olbia. It was so good, we just could not believe it and decided to go again the next night. No regrets. Go go go.

The portions are huge, which turned out to be a burden for us since we ordered one antipasto (10 euros), one pasta(10-12 euros) and the roasted piglet (18 euros). We were delightfully surprised with not only the portions but the quality. The pastas were incredible, full of taste, plenty of sauce (hate dry, sauceless pastas) and a lot of seafood to enjoy.
It was definitely not a place where they just add a teaspoon of any type of seafood and call it a "seafood" pasta. The Pane carasau, which is the traditional flatbread from Sardinia was warm and crispy, far from the old and hard ones you get from other places. We tried the roasted piglet and Salsiccia (9 euros, Italian sausage), which were flavourful and the perfect second dishes. All of the food that we ordered were simply divine.

The staff and waiters were lovely, smiling and checking on us from time to time. The restuarant is quite easy to find, clean, friendly and cozy. Perfect evening indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So good we went back twice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is so good went back a second night, thinking it couldn't get any better, yet they surprised us again with yet another beautiful meal, with amazing flavour, I had wild boar pasta this was 12 euro and such a huge portion!! We have been travelling around Italy for awhile now and have been lucky to stumble across such an amazing place, staff and host are so welcoming, and the chef is clearly talented in cooking gourmet Sardinian style food. Would be going back there for a third night but unfortunately it's our last night here in olbia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally found this place( were staying down the road and didn't want to go far, so we walked into the first place we found) amazing food, we definitely walked into the right place.
Friendly, welcoming staff and relaxed atmosphere.
We ate the sliced beef with rucola and Parmesan cheese, this was 16 euro per person and was worth every cent!! So tasty, full of flavour, large portion and by far the best meal we have had in along time! We have been in Italy for 2 months and this meal was easily the best! Would highly recommend this restaurant to all. We will be back tomorrow it was that good:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Barbagia also viewed

Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Ristorante Barbagia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Barbagia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.