We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Olbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Olbia to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Isarco 5 / 7, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Location
A great base for exploring the area, easy to park and quiet location just outside of Olbia town centre, but an easy walk into town if you want. However to enjoy Sardinia you do need a car and to get around a car is essential....just be very careful and get full insurance they drive like mad people! lol

Rooms
We stayed in a double deluxe room and it was fabulous. Luxurious decor, comfy bed and good size, with a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the mountains.

Hotel facilites
The hotel pool was lovely and always very quiet, breakfast was good and the overall feel of the hotel was very good, very stylish and modern.

Staff
All the staff were very friendly, especially at breakfast.

Only Negatives....(and these are minnor things in the grand scheme of things)

It is true the WIFI is a bit dodgy, but then that is to be expected when lots of people are trying to use it at the same time!

The cleaning i was disappointed with, we stayed 5 nights and didn't have our sheets changed once. We did get fresh towels everyday but I did feel that the standard of room cleaning didn't match the rest of the hotel standards.

The Jacuzzi wasn't working, and when i asked at the front desk about this i was told there was nothing they could do. I dont know if it was a communication thing or what but i didnt really expect that from a 4 star hotel.

On our first day one of the lifts broke (we were actually in it when it broke!) and it didn't get fixed for our entire stay (5 nights) so with only 1 lift working you always had to wait ages for it... however this gave me the opportunity to get fit by running up and down the stairs :) If i was elderly though or disabled this could have been an issue..

Everyone else said in their reviews about these wonderful cookies on arrival, which we never got :(

Overall though like I said these negatives are minnor niggles. Overall we loved the hotel really enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona C, Direttore vendite at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We’re happy you had a great stay at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia - Sardinia. Thank you for your nice comments! Come see us again soon – we’ve got a delicious chocolate chip cookie waiting for you! Safe travels….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    156
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
165
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet location well away from the center of Olbia. We had booked our room well in advance and it turned out to be a great place to recover from a nightmarish day of travel from the states. We arrived late at night, but the desk clerk was very helpful and our room was immaculate and very comfortable with a wonderful balcony overlooking the city and harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a southerly view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona C, Direttore vendite at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! I’m happy to hear that our rooms and our amenities made your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Only stayed 2 nights, the room was clean and spacious. Staff were helpful and polite. Great shuttle bus to the beach. Did not eat there but was given welcome cookie which was a nice touch!
Could not fault it, would stay againx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona C, Direttore vendite at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in Olbia, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton. We’ll take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

New hotel close to city centre. Plenty of excellent restaurants near by. Excellent pool as well as very friendly and helpful service. Highly recommended if you need to stay inolbia or surroundings.
Only cons is wifi that does not work properly and brakfast service took longer than expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona C, Direttore vendite at Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear that our service made your stay more comfortable. We’re very sorry that wifi wasn’t working well during your stay. We’re currently updating the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll consider staying with us again. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

the hotel and facilities are comfortable, but the hotel is, in my opinion, not equipped to handle the high season.

A few examples:
- breakfast was chaotic, as there were too less tables to seat all the guests
- internet (WIFI) was buggy and disconnected a lot

pro's:
- rooms with a balcony
- nice pool
- rooms are comfortable
- enough parking space

con's
- restaurant is not so good (asked for a red steak, was served well done)
- hotel is not equipped for high season (see examples)
- Olbia is a 30 min. walk
- high prices

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at Doubletree this month. The hotel is excellent, the room was more than expected, but the view over the suburbs of Olbia doesn't match with the Hotel. Service excellent, the pool in good shape. In the night, the car traffic is not very disturbing. You can go by foot in Olbia (aprox. 20 min walk) but recomended is with the car (rented). And, by the way, the car rental in the hotel (Avis representative) is very flexible, despite the lack of rental car availlable

Room Tip: Surely, that the sea view is better than the suburbs view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at Doubletree this month. The hotel is excellent, the room was more than expected, but the view over the suburbs of Olbia doesn't match with the Hotel. Service excellent, the pool in good shape. In the night, the car traffic is not very disturbing. You can go by foot in Olbia (aprox. 20 min walk) but recomended is with the car (rented). And, by the way, the car rental in the hotel (Avis representative) is very flexible, despite the lack of rental car availlable.

Room Tip: Perhaps the sea view is better than the suburbs view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Olbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Olbia

Address: Via Isarco 5 / 7, 07026 Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Olbia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#8 Family Hotel in Olbia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Olbia 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Doubletree Hilton offers a free swimming pool, free Wi-Fi access and a beautiful view on the Sardinian coast. Olbia's historic centre is just a 10-minute walk away.Hilton Doubletree's air-conditioned rooms all have an LCD HD TV with Sky channels and free tea and coffee-making facilities. Most have a furnished balcony overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Olbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Hotel Olbia
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Olbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.