We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for a 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cagliari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cagliari to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cagliari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto Ticca 23, 090122 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Cagliari
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good price for a 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night. We had good service from the reception desk. The room we had was very well accommodated and very comfortable. The only problem was that it seemed the air-conditioning was not working and the room felt rather warm. We had been travelling the whole day from Alghero by car and so the comfort off the room in general was welcome.

We decided to have the buffet breakfast the next morning and it was fairly comprehensive and mostly very good. Only complaint was that the coffee machine in use wasn't very good.

Apart from the air-conditioning issue, it was a surprise that the TV in the room was a rather old CRT (not that we were there to watch TV but others may want to know this anyway) and that internet access was not included in the room price. When in this day and age, even family run hotels have free internet access and modern flat-screen TVs, I did find this odd in a 4 star hotel.

I think with regards to the location, a car is necessary both to access the hotel and to get around from it.

Having said all that, for all that the hotel offered for the price we got the room for, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHicagliari, Direttore generale at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a comment about your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Cagliari.

I am very pleased that you have positively rated our hotel and that you will come back, in case you will be again in this area.

Anyway I am very sorry to understand that it has not been a totally positive experience and for this I do, sincerely, apologize.

In particular, I am sorry that you do not approve our decision to offer the Internet connection service for a fee (€3,00 for 1 hour of connection, € 8,00 for 12 hours and € 12,00 for 24 hours). Our WI-FI network is a closed network, password protected, as required by Italian law, and it is at extra charge. We believe that to guarantee a fast and secure connection, especially to those customers who need to use this service to work, it needs to be a service at extra charge.
With the spread of smart phones and tablets are very few customers who need the Internet for reasons not strictly related to work and our reception is always happy to assist our customers to print a boarding pass or to verify any information available online.

Regarding the TV offer we are updating our system and new TVs will be available soon.

Regarding the coffee machine, I am sorry you have not liked it. The coffee machine offers several options of one of the most popular and well-known brand on the market and it meets the tastes of our customers.

Thanking you, once again, for having expressed a feedback on your stay, I greet you cordially.

Gianluca Mosca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    152
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
37
118
18
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Situated in an industrial area, without any attractions or restaurant options in the surroundings, I found this hotel suitable for an overnight stay before heading to the airport.
It's ridiculous that in 2013 you have to pay EUR 12 for 24hs of Internet, and they can't even activate it through the phone, so you have to go to the reception at night, when your 24 hs are over, to get a new code!
And another EUR 10 for a not-so-rich-breakfast.
The gym is also barely equipped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHicagliari, Direttore at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for leaving a comment about your recent stay experience at our Holiday Inn Cagliari.

I am very sorry to understand that it has not been a totally positive experience and for this I do sincerely apologize.

In particular, I am sorry that you do not approve our decision to offer the Internet connection service for a fee (€3,00 for 1 hour of connection, € 8,00 for 12 hours and € 12,00 for 24 hours). Our WI-FI network is a closed network, password protected, as required by Italian law, and it is at extra charge. We believe that to guarantee a fast and secure connection, especially to those customers who need to use this service to work, it needs to be a service at extra charge.
With the spread of smart phones and tablets are very few customers who need the Internet for reasons not strictly related to work and our reception is always happy to assist our customers to print a boarding pass or to verify any information available online.

Moreover, I am really sorry that you did not like our breakfast service which usually receive many enthusiastic comments and that, in perfect harmony with the standard Holiday Inn, offers a very rich buffet with several alternatives: cold cuts and Sardinian cheese, scrambled eggs, a rich selection of croissants, homemade desserts made by our pastry-chef, yoghurt and cereals, especially for those who love the "healthy breakfast", juices, hot drinks, and selection of coffees of one of the most popular and well-known brand on the market.

Regarding our location we are proud to say that we have never hidden or omitted to specify that our location is suburban and out of town, on the way to the airport.

Hoping that you could find this answer useful and interesting, I hope that in the future you may reconsider to choose the Holiday Inn brand for your stay in the city or elsewhere in the world.

Thanking you again for taking the time to rate our hotel, please accept my personal

best regards

Gianluca Mosca
Direttore Generale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crema, Italy
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the typicall business oriented hotel placed in a strategic position, just by the main road that cross the whole island, close to the Cagliari airport and port and to the downtown.
Rooms are wide, at least in my experience on a Saturday night, clean and quiet.
Pillow and bed are dedicated for those having back problems.
Wifi is provided in all rooms but, unless of special kindness of the frontdesk staff, not for free.
A private garage is available at a price of 3euro/day, a free parking is available, even if it is not that big.
To mention the extremly high level of professionality and kindness of the frontdesk staff, they are the real added value for this hotel.
Black spot is the price of the breakfast, really too high if you do not want an American breakfast but just a cup of tea.
The hotel direction should consider to have two breakfast option with different prices.
Special price offer on weekends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHicagliari, Direttore at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel.

Reports and suggestions of our guests are for us the incentive to do better, and with more passion, our work.

It is therefore very helpful and pleasant, to receive a feedback from our customers and have the chance to do better.

Regarding your comment on breakfast alternatives I am please to inform you that for guests who want a easier breakfast than the buffet, we have a bar that serves coffee, tea, croissants.

The bar opens later than the breakfast room but is still available for those who want to make a different breakfast.

I hope to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Cagliari as valued guest in the very forthcoming future.

Thank you again, best regards.

Gianluca Mosca General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on 3 different occasions over the past year and each time I was very happy with the whole experience. The room was clean, big and soundproof, the staff were very professional but also friendly and the bed was big and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHicagliari, Direttore at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Sylvia B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel.

Reports and suggestions of our guests are for us the incentive to do better, and with more passion, our work.

It is therefore very helpful and pleasant, to receive a feedback, expecially when it is a positive one, from our customers and know that the target we aim to reach which is "the full satisfaction of our Guest", is reached.

I hope to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Cagliari as valued guest in the very forthcoming future.

Thank you again, best regards.

Gianluca Moscow
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel Holiday Inn a nice four star hotel located far from the historic center of Cagliari. If you are traveling by car to the hotel you will find free parking spaces. However, if you not rent a car it is very hard to get there by public transport. The nearest bus line 20 is located approximately 750m from the hotel. You can reach her Roman theater, then you have to change to another line to get to the center. Rooms are spacious and equipped with a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel has a gym, sauna and swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel is alright, nothing special but you are not supposed to expect much from this kind of business hotel. Staff are quite apathetic, when they wake up they are impolite
Avoid the restaurant at any price, food is terrible and they can't even defreeze properly the fish.
Location is good for airport but uncomfortable if you are planning to visit the city.
Internet comes at a fee (pretty high) but at least works.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear GioinoS,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our hotel conveniently located near the Cagliari Elmas Airport. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your overall experience with us. It is my regret your stay was negatively affected due to the unacceptable customer service from our staff and the quality of food served. Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a typical 4 star Holiday Inn. Situated next to Cagliari's airport, it is a good stop if you have a late or early plane. You need a car in order to benefit from your stay.
A very negative point is the lack of soundproofing in the rooms. Our plane was late so we arrived to the hotel at 1 am and all we wanted was a good 8 hours sleep. But we were awaken in the early morning by the cleaning crew shouting and making a lot of noise in the hallway. They were literally screaming to each other from within the rooms. After 20 mins, I had to go out and ask them to stop ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cagliari, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear zaithefirst,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the noise. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cagliari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cagliari

Address: Viale Umberto Ticca 23, 090122 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cagliari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cagliari 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a propitious position from the city centre and from its main connecting ways, Holiday Inn Cagliari is the perfect starting point to visit the principal Sardinian town, its amenities and themost renowned Sardinian tourist areas. The hotel is only 4 km far from Cagliari - Elmas International Airport and it’s about 4 km far from the city centre, that makes it the best place for business stay or for holidays. The Hotel is provided with 92 rooms of which 69 classic rooms and 23 executive rooms, all of them guarantee comforts and the most advanced technologies of a up-to-date 4 stars Hotel: individually controlled air conditioning, sound-proofing, direct telephone with voice mail, T.V. color 20’’, satellite television, Pay per view, minibar, radio, HDSL Internet line wired or WI FI, electronic door lock, clock radio, electronic PC safe, bathroom provided with bathtub or shower and hairdryer. In the executive rooms are also available dedicated amenities among them a soft bathrobe, a trousers press and a comfortable working desk and armchair.Holiday Inn Cagliari has the ideal setting for meetings and seminars, it disposes of wide meeting rooms equipped to fit, in a professional and refined way, to events from 10 to 400 persons.The welcoming “Vecchia Darsena” Restaurant and the American Bar “Le Saline”, are the ideal place for cocktails, business lunches, buffets or celebration parties. Guests have free access to an indoor car park and to an outdoor swimming pool, to a well equipped Fitness Centre with sauna and steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cagliari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cagliari Hotel Cagliari
Cagliari Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cagliari Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cagliari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.