We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best host you'll have -- anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosso e Nero B&B

Save Saved
You added Rosso e Nero B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosso e Nero B&B
Savoia, 6, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 197 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best host you'll have -- anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Location, comfort, very good breakfast -- all these are lovely features of Rosso e Nero. But the generosity, kindness, hospitality, and care that Stefano extends is truly without peer. You have to be there and receive it to believe it! When we couldn't find parking, Stefano rushed out to our car, drove us around, and even took the wheel to insure that we'd find a good spot for our car. He takes pains to help you plan your time both in Cagliari and in Sardegna, with maps, suggestions, and phone reservations. You will feel like a member of his family (and your family had someone like him!). You are right in the middle of the historic center, with the port 2 minutes' walk, wonderful meanders through the four famed districts, and too many great restaurants from which to choose.

Room Tip: Our room had a private bath but not all of them do, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rosso e Nero B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Harriet and Robert,

thank you so much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to write it. It is very kind of you.

I can't forget your arrival, your stay at the Rosso e Nero B&B, your perfect Italian and your effort to improve it, your pleasure tasting Italian breakfast and your questions to satisfy your curiosity about Cagliari and Sardinia.

It has been and it will continue to be a real pleasure having so smiling people between my guests and I hope to meet you again in some future occasion in Cagliari.

Best regards,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We traveled the length of Sardinia and stayed at very nice B&Bs, but Stephano's was the best of the lot. Great location, terrific breakfast and a host who went out of his way to make our stay special. His recommendations of where to walk, what to see and where to eat were spot on. Although the food on Sardinia was very good, the restaurants he recommended prepared memorable meals. Prices were very good, too.

Unfortunately we rented a car before coming. Parking in this area is terrible. Don't rent a car. However, Stephano actually drove our car around until he found a spot. If we come back, we would book here first.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in June. We booked the Rosso e Nero because of the great reviews we’d seen on TA and the price compared to hotels in the area.

Firstly, the booking. I booked through laterooms.com and within 24 hours had received an email from Stefano (the owner) confirming our reservation. He gave us all the information we needed on how to find the B&B as well as bus times from the airport and local online guides to download.

A taxi from the airport to Cagliari is about €20 and takes about 15 mins. There is a direct airport shuttle on the ARST buses to Cagliari that runs every half an hour and costs €4.
The B&B sits on the first floor of an apartment block and the rooms overlook a nice little square.

On arrival Stefano welcomed us like old friends into his home. He provided lots of local maps and gave us some great recommendations for local restaurants. Our favourite for food was Sa Domu Sarda on Via Sassari which serves traditional Sardinian. For drinks we can recommend heading up to the Bastione and go to Caffe degli Spiriti. Good service, cheap drinks, classy place and you can see across the City and out to sea for miles and the flocks of flamingo’s go by.

We stayed in the white room. This is nice and spacious, has a sofa and air con. This room does have its own bathroom for the guests but the only downside is that you have to go outside the room and across the kitchen to get to it. The other room with the elevated bed has an en suite in the room. A new bar has opened up just around the corner from the B&B and this was popular on the Friday night of our stay. It was a little noisy but once the shutters were down and the air con was on this did reduce it. Apart from that one night we slept fine and spent the evenings out joining in the fun.

Breakfast is between 8:30-10:30 but Stefano is happy for you to have this at another time providing you let him know in advance. It consists of fresh pastries, fruit, yoghurts and juice. There is also a fresh fruit bowl in the kitchen for you to help yourself at anytime and you can use the fridge to keep drinks cold. Free Wi-Fi is available as is a spare laptop if you need to borrow it. Stefano also provided us with some beach towels and toiletries as well as booking a popular restaurant so we could guarantee a table.

To get to the beach (Poetto) head down along the sea front and look cross over to the middle section. Look for any bus heading away from the bus station with a P on it. E.g. PM, PQ etc. Tickets for the buses can be bought in the little shops along the front and are €1.20 per journey so for a return trip you’ll need 2 tickets. Stay on for approx 10-15 mins. You will see the beach from the bus so will know when to get off.

I would recommend Rosso E Nero to anyone who wants a good quality cheap B&B and who is looking to gain a lot of inside knowledge on the town. A big thank you to Stefano for making our stay that much more enjoyable.

If you’ve found this review helpful please let me know by clicking yes.

Room Tip: The room with the raised bed has an en-suite attached. The white room is bigger but the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rosso e Nero B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Adam and Rebecca,

thank you very much for so wonderful and detailed review and for taking some time to write it. I really appreciated, and I'm writing to give you a big thank you.
Your stay at Rosso e Nero B&B has been something nice for me and I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday.
I hope to meet you again and soon in Cagliari.

Let me take this opportunity to extend my very warm regards,

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

It's all been said - the place is very well-presented, very central, overall very nice. But Stefano the proprietor just goes the extra lengths to make you feel welcome and get you everything you need. With a host this nice and helpful, you're going to have a great stay! We tried most of his food recommendations, and they were 100% reliable - every one of them was great! The only small caveat is that weekends can be a bit noisy, depending on the restaurant/bar scene nearby - but there's no reason you can't be down there in the piazza yourself!

Room Tip: Let them know if you have breakfast prefs - Sardinian breakfast is mostly grains and sweets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Perfect location right in the middle of town. Easy walking distance to cafes and great restaurants. Stefano was a wonderful host. He went out of his way helping us navigate our way around the city. His restaurant recommendations were spot on. Our room was bright, clean and spacious and had a nice view of Piazza Savoia. Nice selection of fresh fruits and pastries for breakfast. Free Wifi in our room. Rosso e Nero is the perfect place to stay in Cagliari.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved our stay in this B&B and it was a perfect location, very near to the central train station. Everyone else's comments on here are absolutely true, Stefano is a wonderful host and we were very grateful for his recommendations. Sardinia is a beautiful place and staying at the Rosso e Nero was perfect, I would recommend it to anyone! Lovely breakfast, nice spacious room and beautiful view onto the square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We chose this B&B based on other Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed in any way whatsoever. We were only able to stay for 2 of our 4 nights in Cagliari due to the owner already having other bookings, but we'd not have missed Stefano's hospitality for the world. We had a beautifully decorated and funished bedroom and living-room and, although we were reputedly using the shared bathroom, it was never occupied, spotlessly clean (and I do mean spotless) and the complimentary toiletries and slippers of a high quality. Breakfast was continental in style, everything to hand, no time constraints with Stefano providing fresh rolls, etc., from the bakery, loads of fruit, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee - the list goes on. Stefano gave us some fantastic recommendations for eating out (defintely worth taking his advice), emailed us with travel information to get from the airport to the B&B, advised us with regard to travel around the local area, could provide a car pass for the conservation area within which the B&B is located had we hired a vehicle, every angle covered! He found us another B&B for our final two nights, again of a very high standard, in fact he could not do enough. We honestly cannot recommend Stefano and his wonderful Rosso e Nero B&B enough: if you're looking to explore Cagliari and the surrounding area you must make a bee-line for this establishment - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Both rooms great. One has an en suite and a mezzanine, the other has "shared" bathroom (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosso e Nero B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso e Nero B&B

Address: Savoia, 6, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosso e Nero B&B is based in the heart of the city just the tourist and shopping area.Guests have a sunny and comfortable suite with double bedroom and lounge. It is well furnished and equipped with sofa, air conditioning, stereo and DVD, Italian and foreign dictionaries and magazines, a laptop with free Wi-Fi ADSL.Through the large French windows, both on 2 flowery balconies, guests can enjoy the romantic atmosphere outside.Bed & Breakfast Rosso e Nero è situato nel centro storico della città nella zona turistica e dello shopping.A disposizione degli ospiti una luminosa suite composta da camera matrimoniale e soggiorno.La suite è dotata di divano, aria condizionata, impianto stereo-DVD, riviste e dizionari in lingua italiana e straniera, un portatile connesso con Wi-Fi ADSL gratuito.Attraverso le ampie portefinestre, su due balconi sempre fioriti, gli ospiti possono apprezzare l'atmosfera romantica che offre la piazza nelle ore crepuscolari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Rosso e Nero B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosso e Nero B&B Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosso e Nero B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.