We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sardegna 31, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Cagliari
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A three star hotel, so quite simple but very tidy and clean, with helpful and smiling staff. Breakfast is fairly basic, but quite sufficient and coffee is pretty good. Juices rather thin, though,
The best part is the location right on the pedestrian area of the old town, with any number of restaurants and bars around (the restaurant right opposite hotel entrance is not the cheapest around, but actually quite good - recommended!).
A good hotel for the price conscious and for those who want easy access to some night life (not far into the wee hours since most places close at about 24-01)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    81
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
14
47
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a perfect hotel if you are on a budget but want to stay centrally and in good clean accommodation. Our room was spacious, with balcony, tv set, fridge, quiet aircon. The hotel situated very centrally in Marina district, packed with seafood restaurants, next to the port, railway and bus stations. Free wifi which worked all the time. Great continental breakfast with addition of cold cuts and fruits, coffee made to order. Plesant English speaking staff. The only downside - no safe box in the room and hotel is a bit dated, so do not look for 5 star experience. I would recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in a single room for a week. The room was simple (bare wall, single bad), with no frills, but room and bathrooms were kept spotlessly. The personnel was very good, including the helpful front desk people (I met four or five of them) and the very efficient and friendly breakfast people. Breakfast was very nice: a large selection of items, including fresh croissants, pastries, bread, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, cereal, juices, etc. There was a counter from which you could order a variety of hot drinks, delivered efficiently. Only small complaint is that the air conditioning in the room was quite cold, and only operated by an on and off switch, however, the air conditioning unit was one of the quietest I experience in any hotel. Overall a very good choice in a very central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, right in city center. The rooms are small and sparse but very clean. Despite being right on a main thoroughfare, it was very quiet indoors so sleeping was no problem.breakfast was your typical continental breakfast, everything was fresh and the coffee was excellent. The reception staff were not always the most helpful. Internet only worked in the lobby so forget in room wifi! Considering the price and central location it was excellent. You are within walking distance to the main sights and can take a 15 min bus ride to the beach. The bus and train station are down the street where you can catch the bus to the airport. Would definitely return here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is excellent, great location, friendly staff, very very clean. Good breakfast, a typical Italian.The only downside is the weak wi fi in the rooms, but when you're on vacation you do not need :)
Special thanks to the room that was not in a noisy area. We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hi,

Why? When I booked this hotel I was debating as was close to the buss/train station (and usually the hotels around this location are not much encourage). Arrived, crossed the main via Roma, behind the Rinascente store was the Hotel Italia. A lovely hotel with so many restaurants, shops around, via Roma a beautiful long street facing the sea/port. I left the luggage and walk towards the port, loved the fresh air, freely walk along the sea, where you can seat and have a drink or gelato. The hotel situated in a major intersections streets where you can walk to the most important historical places. Breakfast was for me more than I was expected, the staff help me print the boarding pass for my next flight. The hotel is situated in such an area no matter what time you will be back late is always people, having a late dinner and enjoyed their stay. As a solo travel once again I chose the right hotel and I would advise this hotel for the above reasons. For only 35 euro and 3/4 hours booked a trip on the sea. Next morning to my surprise was a sailing boat not a regular boat, was me the captain Luciano and a couple to be trained how to use a sailing boat. For me this was a life time experience, I never thought I will experience something as relaxing under the sun and the right temperature. I did lots of sea trips but this will be something you can not forget to have your won boat for 4 hours. The captain stopped twice if we want to get wet 'meaning swimming'. Right now I am asking to myself 'was this for real'?. Glad at this age of 66 was able to visit Cagliari, Sardinig and choose the right hotel.

Room Tip: Room very spacious for a single booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Excelent location,breakfast and helpful personal.
Personal helped us to organize trips included calls and translation. Dont hesitate to ask them,they'll help you.
Main bus station(airport,beaches,all directions)only 200m.
Rooms on 1st floor are old and dark.
Great deal for cheap oversleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Via Sardegna 31, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Italia Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.