We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panorama to your Saves list
Hotel Panorama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Diaz, 231, 9100 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Cagliari
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Rooms are clean and comfortable and it is located about 20mins walk from the Centre. The top floor restaurant offers views of the harbour and you can watch ferries going to and fro. Breakfast is reasonable, with limited hot food but the toaster left things to be desired. There s a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom, the best of 6 hotels we stayed at in Sardinia.
Would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Superb Restaurant location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    52
    24
    7
See reviews for
8
44
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in September 2013 and had a great time in Cagliary and around. Restaurant upstairs provide excellent food, better that you can find in town. With local specialities and not expensive (Sardinian fish) was very good. Nice a quiet hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport for 19 Euros. We arrived at 12.30 and were told that the room wasn't ready - which is fair enough, it does say check in is from 2pm, so we had out luggage stored and went walk-about. When we returned, we were given our key and it was a case of 'find your own way to your room'. There are 2 lifts in the hotel and they are fairly fast so no problems there. Ours was room 308 - a family suite for me, the Mr Dreamer and our 11yr old daughter.

The door opened onto a good sized room with 2 single beds, a desk with TV, coffee table and a mini fridge, through from this was the bathroom, then through again was a room with kingsize bed (2 singles put together) for me and hubby. Both bedrooms had balconies, the room with 2 single beds had the biggest - but there was no furniture at all!! and our room (kingsize) had a balcony which 'tapered' - around 3 feet wide at the widest part and down to about 1 foot at the narrow end- very strange but unusable anyway. I used them to dry dry out our swim wear lol.

All of the rooms had metal shutters, curtains and air conditioning. The air-con was pathetic - it made no difference at all which setting it was on, and in our 11 days here, we tried them all!! The beds are 'put me up' style, with fold away legs, but I have to say they were comfy and the pillows on the kingsize were memory foam, but the ones on the single beds in our daughters room were just polyester filed and she ended up using 2 pillows because they were really flat.

There was a TV in both rooms but we could only get a reception on the one in our daughters room.

The bathroom was a loo, bidet and shower - and the shower was complete with curtain all the way round - who else hates shower curtains?! The shower had a slope to a drain on the left hand side which the maid seemed to take pride in using the shower mat as a wick for - all folded nice but soaked before you can even use it :(

When I first spotted the mini bar, I wondered if it was included in the room price - and I asked about this at reception - I was told the price list was on the desk ....in the folder - well we didn't have a folder so there was no price list, I eventually got a price for the mini bar. Needless to say, I took everything out of the fridge and filled it with goodies from the supermarket up the road:) I filled it up daily, with beers, wine, sausages, fruit and other and snacks.

The pool was the main reason I booked this hotel - and it was the best thing about it - there are very few hotels with pools in the area and on hot days it was great being able to take a dip or hide under the canopies at the side and hubby taught daughter to swim while were were there so thats a bonus.

Breakfast was good - it was the same thing every day, ham, cheese, bread pastries etc. The coffee from the machine was so bad though - I drank English Breakfast tea from day 3, and I HATE tea lol. There is suspicious looking fesh orange - its the colour of blood and very, very concentrated, but tasty enough if you water it down with a bit of frizzante. The fresh fruit was nice and they don't object to you taking it away with you - the pears were perfectly ripe and the oranges were seriously yum!!!

The hotel is in a good place - its around 25 mins walk to the town or in the opposite direction to the beach. We caught the bus from outside the hotel a couple of times and if there isn't a ticket seller on the bus - well you don't pay - this wasn't deliberate but it happened a couple of times for us. The Hotel is in a nice area, surrounded by stadiums and the whole place felt really safe and laid back. Bottom line is, if we were to go back - and I think we might, it wouldn't be to this hotel purely based on value for money. Oh...and apparently there's a gym in the hotel - we didn't manage to find that (we'd only have looked anyway lol). Cagliari is a beautiful place with lots of history and amazing beaches.

Room Tip: We had room 308, which had a stadium view which was nice enough - balconies have no furniture so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel 5 - 10 minutes out of the city but brilliant bus connections - every 5 minutes or so to city and beach for only 3 euros a day. Swimming pool large, clean (and cool!) with not too many loungers - a peaceful haven after a busy day in the city. Hotel and rooms spotless with interesting tiling in the bathroom! Lovely big balcony but strangely no furniture on the balcony - why have a balcony? Food and drink in bar very reasonably priced and good quality. Rated 4 star but furnishings etc probably only 3 star. Breakfast plentiful with very good selection of food and stunning view from 8th floor restaurant. Would go back due to position and easy access to city.

Room Tip: High floor - can see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently had a very pleasant weekend in this hotel. It was clean, comfortable but I wouldn't rate it was 4 star. The rooms were fairly simple, the TV was an antique and there was no information about hotel facilities, this had to be extracted from the staff on reception where English was not always spoken. The buffet breakfast was very good and the pool was a real boon as the August temperatures were over 30C. The cafe/bar was very good value although choice was fairly limited.
The hotel was very convenient for a bus stop which was essential. The daily 3€ bus ticket was a wonderful suggestion(from Trip Advisor!)
The most bizarre feature of this hotel however are the balconies which have no furniture making using them very difficult to use!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woluwe-St-Pierre, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews...room is confortable and clean.
Located in a residential and quiet area, is far away from the City Centre (30-35 minutes walk) and staff were not very helpful,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here just one night. Close to Cagliari Football stadium and in a good area with bus stops outside the hotel which goes to the city centre and beach. It has very good rooms, a lovely outdoor pool and a small gym. Breakfast is served on the top floor with a panoramic view of the area. I would stay here again for a longer period if the price was right. I found the staff to be some of the most helpful that I have come across.

Room Tip: If eating out at night in the city get the restaurant to phone a taxi for you as we found it almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Address: Viale Diaz, 231, 9100 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A strategic position, only a few minutes away from the city centre and the wonderful Poetto beach. A first-class service and a breathtaking view over the Golfo degli Angeli make Hotel Panorama the ideal place to stay for anyone who wishes to spend some time in the city of Cagliari or visit the south of Sardinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Panorama Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.