We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Hotel Mediterraneo
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare C. Colombo, 46, 09125 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Cagliari
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Mediterraneo in Septemer 2012. Room 401. This hotel may have been a 4 star hotel, but now it is definitely not, although the prices were. The most positive was the breakfast and we guessed that that was something that the business guests required. Our room was noisy because it was placed very near the elevators. So both in the evenings and early morning the noise started. The total impression was that the hotel needs renovation.

The size of the room was adequate, but worn and smelled of smoke. The TV in the room was small and had only 3 or 4 (italian) channels available. The remote did not work. No meals, except breakfast, were available. No WiFi in the room, only in the lobby.

The positive with the hotel was the view from the room over the sea and the reserved car park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
15
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is pretty run down in the hall and outside, but at least the room I was in had been renovated and was pleasant (you should ask for a renovated room at the counter). The wifi didnt work in my room, so I had to go to the lobby to get work done which was a pain. The area is not very nice, but it was convenient for the convention center which was a 10 min walk away.

We got a good price from the convention management, but I wouldnt pay more than 100 euros for a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Take a look at their website...well, nothing is like you see there!
This place is actually closer to a Motel than a 4 stars hotel.
I can't understand why it is ranked 4 stars! Unbelievable!!!
The rooms are uncomfortable with very old furnitures.
Don't even consider to stay here...go elsewhere!
The owner should invest more money and make it a real hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Don't waste your money! The 'hotel' is dirty, disgusting and smell. Old furniture. old carpet. Old everything! Staff rude and unhappy.

Room Tip: no good room available. Bad smell everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

First floor is brand new... rooms are alittle small ....askfor Bruno at the desk he will point you in the right direction for everything to do not miss dinning a....t Trattoria Lillicu in old town it's a hidden gem !!! everything on the menu Fantastic!! it's always busy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The description of the hotel online is nothing like what it really is. The hotel is very old, dingy, dirty. The room is really small. The carpets are all stained, the chairs were stained with coffee. The tub was cracked and the water was coming out yellow constantly. There is not a clock, nor coffee maker, the telephone was not working properly ( could barely hear). The staff at the front desk were not nice, nor did they give good service. Their answer to everything was "I don't know". They advertise the hotel online as a 4-star, but in reality it is only a 2-star. We would never stay here again and definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only slightly positive comment I have is that the view was not bad if you were on the top floor and facing the ocean. We only stayed 1 night and checked out and stayed at another hotel for the remaining 6 days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I let my niece make the reservation, assuming she'd think of location. She didn't. The hotel is not close to the center of things, so you are always walking back and forth, spending money on cabs or buses or hanging out somewhere just so you don't have to go back. This hotel has a seminar or business meeting every day, so the lobby is frequently full of non-hotel guests. The restaurant they listed is closed for renovation. And while there are a few decent restaurants within walking distance, it is a long way to the good ones. The staff were pleasant, but I think they are more happy with business travelers than vacationers. No pool. No outdoor spaces. The internet only works in the lobby with a 3 euro per hour charge.

If you are going to Cagliari for vacation, I would stay in the center and not in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.0 mi away
Caesar's Hotel
Caesar's Hotel
#7 of 32 in Cagliari
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#14 of 32 in Cagliari
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
#29 of 32 in Cagliari
3.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel AeR Bundes Jack Vittoria
0.9 mi away
Miramare Boutique Hotel
Miramare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 32 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungomare C. Colombo, 46, 09125 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Mediterraneo Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.