We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grillo to your Saves list
Hotel Grillo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carmine, 132 | Assemini, 09032 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Cagliari
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for two nights while touring the island, using this as our base for exploring the south of the island. We found the hotel easily using the satnav, and there was plenty of space for parking in the hotel grounds. Checkin was easy and we quickly got the keys but were not given much information such as breakfast times etc. We had a big room on the second floor at the front of the hotel with a balcony (but no chairs/table to sit at on the balcony), plenty of space for the two of us and very clean. It wasn't quite warm enough to have to use the air conditioning but it was available if required. There was a mini bar in the room which was a little more expensive that some other hotels we stayed at but still reasonable, and there was no safe in the room. There are not many restaurants and bars around the immediate area, although there is a new restaurant opposite the hotel, Malloci, which was nice. Cagliari is also just 20 minutes drive away, and the day we visited we got found free parking at the Marina in the Automobile Club car park. There is a pool at the hotel but it was not open during our stay in May. We didn't use the fitness room but there were signs to it in the basement area. Breakfast was the standard selection of hams and cheeses, fruit, cereal, pastries etc and we had no problem finding something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
25
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great base as the room was large and cleaned daily, excellent bathroom. Plenty of car parking. We used the swimming pool almost daily and found the pool and surrounding area very clean. Continental breakfast was good. Very good daily menu in the restaurant.
The staff were all extremely polite and helpful.

We used this as our base to travel and visit family about 15 minutes drive away as well as visit Cagliari, the island of San antioco, and Pula. We found it very easy to travel round from the hotel.

Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good Hotel very close to local bus service 3 euros for an all day pass. Best way of exploring Cagliari as parking is a nightmare ! The hotel bedrooms are excellent , breakfast is pretty average , didn't eat in the Hotel as there are some great restaurants nearby. Free ample carparking . Swimming pool area always clean and has plenty of free sun loungers.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Due to changes of travel arrangements we booked into the Grillo for one night. The receptionist was very helpful and sitting by the pool in the sun was a pleasant way to spend the late afternoon. Our room was spacious and very clean and more importantly, quiet, even though we faced the front of the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for what turned out to be a trying day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This Hotel is lovely if a little remote from the capitol Cagliari, I love staying in slightly of the main track places and Assemini is a lovely village to walk around. The hotel is bright, clean and the staff are very nice, it also has a swimming pool. The hotel has a very nice retaurant with good food and a ready smile from the staff.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front away from the back of the hotel as a railway line is not far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I read some of the previous reviews and was slightly worried before arriving but was very happy with what we found.
As a couple with a 21 month old child we were extremely pleased with the Hotel. The room was cleaned superbly everyday with lots of towels provided. The air conditioning worked, the shower was strong as did the TV and internet connection. Black out curtains in the room as well as double glazing meant we were able to rest really well at night. The king bed we had was really comfortable as it was suitably firm.
Luckily for us, the staff at the Hotel spoke great English and were really courteous and helpful. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the first night we arrived and thought the food was good and good value for the amount. The breakfast was what you would expect a continental choice to be and had lots of different options, which were ok.
The location was perfect for us as we went to Sardinia to visit family living in a small town about 20 minutes away from Assemini. There was plenty of parking at the hotel and it was a great base to have as it is only a 15/20 minute drive into Cagliari and close to all mayor routes.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend if you are hiring a car and want to discover Sardinia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

For Brits out there imagine Alan Partridge's hotel transported to Sardinia and you'll get the picture. A grim hotel in the middle of a dead town on the outskirts of Cagliari. The air conditioning didn't work and probably doesn't work anywhere in the building. The room itself was clean but that's about all you could say for it. The breakfast consisted of an array of packaged cookies, stale cake and croissants, and some nasty cheap concentrated orange juice. This is a last resort kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grillo

Address: Via Carmine, 132 | Assemini, 09032 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grillo 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grillo Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.