We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent backstop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grillo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grillo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carmine, 132 | Assemini, 09032 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Cagliari
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent backstop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Due to changes of travel arrangements we booked into the Grillo for one night. The receptionist was very helpful and sitting by the pool in the sun was a pleasant way to spend the late afternoon. Our room was spacious and very clean and more importantly, quiet, even though we faced the front of the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for what turned out to be a trying day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
22
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madrid spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This Hotel is lovely if a little remote from the capitol Cagliari, I love staying in slightly of the main track places and Assemini is a lovely village to walk around. The hotel is bright, clean and the staff are very nice, it also has a swimming pool. The hotel has a very nice retaurant with good food and a ready smile from the staff.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front away from the back of the hotel as a railway line is not far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I read some of the previous reviews and was slightly worried before arriving but was very happy with what we found.
As a couple with a 21 month old child we were extremely pleased with the Hotel. The room was cleaned superbly everyday with lots of towels provided. The air conditioning worked, the shower was strong as did the TV and internet connection. Black out curtains in the room as well as double glazing meant we were able to rest really well at night. The king bed we had was really comfortable as it was suitably firm.
Luckily for us, the staff at the Hotel spoke great English and were really courteous and helpful. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the first night we arrived and thought the food was good and good value for the amount. The breakfast was what you would expect a continental choice to be and had lots of different options, which were ok.
The location was perfect for us as we went to Sardinia to visit family living in a small town about 20 minutes away from Assemini. There was plenty of parking at the hotel and it was a great base to have as it is only a 15/20 minute drive into Cagliari and close to all mayor routes.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend if you are hiring a car and want to discover Sardinia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

For Brits out there imagine Alan Partridge's hotel transported to Sardinia and you'll get the picture. A grim hotel in the middle of a dead town on the outskirts of Cagliari. The air conditioning didn't work and probably doesn't work anywhere in the building. The room itself was clean but that's about all you could say for it. The breakfast consisted of an array of packaged cookies, stale cake and croissants, and some nasty cheap concentrated orange juice. This is a last resort kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I booked this hotel because the amenities looked good and the description suggested it was near the beach from the 'only 20 minutes away' timescale given, but this must be by car (if there is no traffic and you know where you are going!). To get to the beach by foot you have to get on 2 separate public buses if you don't have a car and it probably takes you the best part of an hour to do so. The journey is not bad and the buses are good though.
There is very little to do at this hotel. in fact, I've never been so bored. There is a lovely restaurant round the corner called Bacco Ristorante. Delicious food and great staff to talk to. Be sure to mention Boy George to the waiter Luca and you'll be in the club ;-)
The swimming pool was nice and clean, but they closed the pool on one of the 5 days I was here for a private party, even though the party was only in the evening, it was closed all day.
The free WIFI was strange - you had to log in to use it with a code and user name given by reception and my laptop said it was high risk!? Not experienced this system in any other hotels yet.
The air conditioning in my room didn't work, so I found it difficult to sleep due to the humidity.
Bathroom was good, nice powerful shower.
This place was ok but I wouldn't go back again. I moved to a lovely B&B (Sa Domu Cheta) in the centre of Cagliari. Same price as this hotel, but breakfast was included and location was far better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010 via mobile

We were there for one night. Room was spacious and clean, hotel restaurant was good too. However hotel is right next to the traintrack and close to the airport. We were unable to sleep with window open. Even when closed it was noisy. The rooms at the front might be better from this point of view

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Went here for mini honeymoon, main one next year. Stayed 5 nights. Found hotel ok, only 10 mins from Cagliari airport. When arrived, was not impressed by standard room but was given upgrade - new room much better, not quite 4* but cosy and clean. Room had TV, some satellite channels, sofas, small balcony, very comfy large bed, small hydromassage bath and very basic hairdryer in bathroom. Rooms are definitely not soundproofed as advertised on some web sites! Can hear people in corridors, airplanes flying over and trains pass by.

Hotel has nice swimming pool, but no spa or wellness centre or massages available - again this is advertised on some websites! Does have a gym, and a sauna has been installed but is not licensed to be used yet.

Found all staff to be very friendly, particularly those on reception who spoke good English too. They would advise us on good beaches to go to, such as Chia and Villasimius (both a good hour´s drive away). There were other beaches only 20 mins away but we wanted to go to the better ones. Also went in Cagliari, about 20mins away, not too much to see but gave us something different to do other than going to the beach.

Ate in hotel 2 nights as only a couple of other restaurants in the area - a nice pizzeria a few doors along and a little italian up the road. Hotel food very good, reasonably priced too. Waiters Ignaccio and Luca were excellent. Breakfasts were basic continential, quite nice, ended at 9.30am.

Overall, would say that this hotel is ideal for a stop over for the airport or business meeting, but not for tourists. The staff made the stay pleasant but the hotel was more like a 3* than 4*, and not the best location for seeing the sights. May go back to Sardinia some day, but would probably stay in the north next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grillo

Address: Via Carmine, 132 | Assemini, 09032 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cagliari
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grillo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grillo Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.