We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but hotel seriously run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Calamosca to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   v.le Calamosca 50, 09126 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Cagliari
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but hotel seriously run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is in an absolutely stunning location. Few hotels can boast of a private bay and outdoor terrace bar to enjoy it. However, this hotel is very tired and dated and is in need of serious renovation. Our room, and the hotel itself, was clean, but the whole premises seemed as if it had been closed down and abandoned for 25 years and reopened the day we arrived. Walls are crumbling, paint is peeling, the gardens are full of weeds, etc.

The restaurant only served a set menu of two choices and nothing else, so we had to pay between €12-€25 to get a taxi into town and back each night for dinner. The breakfast was limited and so unappetising, we didn't eat anything.

This hotel would be fine if you were on a tight budget and rooms were only €30-€40 per night, but the €82 we paid per night was way off the mark and not at all worth the money. If we were ever to return to Cagliari, we would choose a city-centre hotel that might cost a bit more, but actually looked like it was taken care of and would be worth the cost, without the extras of taxi fares.

Spend your money on another hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    27
    24
    33
See reviews for
21
42
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We thought it would be nice for a couple of nights to be away from the rush and noise of Cagliari, and be able to take a swim before breakfast. On the basis of TA and the Rough Guide we booked in here. The hotel is on a pretty bay about 20 minutes from downtown, views of the sea and a lighthouse from the balcony of our room. So far so good. The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was never built to a high spec, and is now very run down. Our bath was peeling its coating, the furniture is scuffed and very basic in any case. Much of the woodwork inside and out needs repainting as does much of the concrete, Dinner was served on a terrace overlooking the sea, and was full on Friday night by families from Cagliari. The food was dull, but the Cagliaresi could leave afterwards. We couldn't. A deafening disco started - dum, dum, dum - in the adjacent garden and continued until three in the morning (perhaps later, but by this time I was so exhausted, I fell asleep). Breakfast was minimal and more or less inedible - and uneaten. Not many people were staying, and it's not hard to understand why. We learned that there would be another disco that night, so we had absolutely no hesitation in cancelling our second night and leaving for a place in the centre of town that was sure to be quieter than here. And the swimming had little to recommend it either.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wielsbeke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very good hotel, a little bit old with a beautiful view. Very good breakfast => ask for fresh croissants or bread, it is not on the buffet but they have it, just ask for it. There is also a beach bar with a beautiful view, walk trough the garden and it is on top of the hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the couple of € or $ more is well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is not in the middle of town which is actually quite nice to get away and see another part of town. Poetto beach was easy to navigate to and was also within running distance. However, at the actual hotel, the accomodation was very basic and certainly had not been updated in years (at least on the top level). There were parties/weddings at the outdoor bar next door which was very lively, but if you are looking to relax, it could be disturbing. The "private beach" was rocky and a friend that we were with cut herself trying to take a dip. Water shoes are recommended. Further, we were delayed with check-in about 2hours than what was initially promised. An overall average to below average rating for accomodations.

BUT, the completely redeeming factor of the entire experience was the restaurant, Villasimias & the people of Sardinia! First, the food at the restaurant on the terrace was amazing! Especially the Pizzas! And prices that were completely reasonable. I would highly recommend a stop at the restaurant but would not recommend for the accomodation unless you are happy with the very basic conditions and are not sensitive to late night noise. Bus ride to Villasimis is around 10euro from main station downtown and was WELL WORTH the day trip. I would suggest going straight to Villasimis to any future travellers looking for a relaxing/beautiful beach experience and cutting the time in Cagliari to short stop in.

The people of Sardinia were amazingly friendly and very interested in helping to ensure we had a memorable time in their country. This was very much so appreciated and overall our experience outside of the rooms themselves was brilliant vacation and I'd do it all over again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on the coast road 10 minutes outside Cagliari. Quite complex to get to airport. Amazing location, wine and food. Rooms shabby, lack lustre, Art Deco, not been kept to any standard. This is a genuine Italian hotel with genuine Italian staff, food, standards and prices. Dinner and wine were to due for however.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

we stayed here in late October at the end of the season with the GB youth windsurfing team. The rooms on the ground floor have all been refurbished and many have fridges ; the first and second floor rooms are more basic but clean and functional. If possible ask for a room with a sea view as these are more pleasant and catch the evening sun. It is worthwhile noting that internet access is free for your first hour then is charged at 2 euros/ hr thereafter and is only available in the hotel lobby.
The hotel restuarant serves a 2 course menu with choice at 2 euros, but they also have a wide variety of pizzas to choose from off the main menu.
The staff in the hotel were all very helpful and worked hard to make our stay as pleasurable as possible , allowing us the use of the large fridge to keep our packed luch supplies. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and fresh towels every day.
It is also worth noting that late on on the season the beach bus service does not run and it is quite a walk to get anywhere. Local taxi's can be expensive and will often charge for luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stunning view, clean comfortable room, pleasant and helpful staff, good food.
Fantastic value, would still be worth it at twice the price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ristorante Calamosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Address: v.le Calamosca 50, 09126 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Calamosca 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful beach-sidelocation, Hotel Ristorante Calamoscaprovides an elegant and tranquilsetting for your stay just outside thebustling centre of Cagliari.You will instantly feel at home at thisfriendly hotel on the Bay ofCalamosca. The sea view isunforgettable.Your air-conditioned guest roomcomes with a private balcony. Thehotel features a TV lounge, a bar,and an internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Calamosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamosca Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Calamosca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.