We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Piola

Sa Piola
Vico Regina Margherita, 3, 09125 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
070 6404245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 664 Restaurants in Cagliari
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tipicall freshest ingredients dance from the market on the cutting board and jump in the pan, to give somersaults to your palate.Dal mercato freschissimi ingredienti della Tradizione danzano sul tagliere e saltano in padella, per regalare capriole al tuo palato.
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After a dissapointed evening in what was supposed to be a good restaurant in Calgiari, Sa Piola was recommended to us by our b&b host. I'm pretty picky about restaurants (food and service wise) but really enjoyed eating at Sa Piola. When we arrived at 8 we were the first guests. The owner took his time to explain the menu and when we asked him for recommendations he proposed a four course menu with different plates and lots of sharing. We had 3 different salads, a pasta, fish and a dessert, al shared, with a simple but good wine, for a very decent price. Around 9.30 the restaurant was full, but service was still very attentive. If we're back in Cagliari, we will come back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    101
    33
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rather Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to this restaurant expecting to have superb food based on the recommendations that we had seen in the guidebooks. However, for the price we found to food rather mediocre. The location is a nice "hole in the wall" type restaurant in a narrow alleyway and is nicely decorated. As noted in other reviews, the owner seemed to be more interested in chatting with his friends rather than serving guests. We had the house wine, which was rather sweet and mentioned this to the owner. He said that most people do not line dry wines, but took other old carafe away and poured two glasses of drier wine but did not bring us a carafe. Since we were not too hungry, two of us had the daily fish, which was tasty and well cooked but the portions were rather small, pasta and a soup. The total bill came to 70 Euros.

This was certainly not the best Sardinian food we had in Cagliari .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, nice chef/owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Whilst in Cagliari we visited this small restaurant which is located in a side street off Viale Santa Margherita (Just walk up the hill from the Piaza Yenne on the right hand side of the road and check the side alleys for some pot plants and a little restaurant board).

It appears the chef may also be the owner and he is a really friendly guy who speaks pretty good English. He is very keen to chat to all of his customers and is happy to help explain the menu as it's only in Italian. There was another waiter who appeared a bit "unfriendly" at first, but I think he's just being very formal and he soon relaxed and was nice to talk to.

The food was excellent, with good choices, the service was very quick and the wine is nice.

We noticed there seemed to be a lot of regulars returning as the chef seemed to know them so that is a good sign of returning customers. There is a nice atmosphere there.

When we left the restaurant the chef ran out to say goodbye as he was busy with a customer as we were leaving which just shows what a nice guy he is.

I would highly recommend this place. It's not the cheapest place, but worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Good food but far from excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Cagliari, or Sardegna for that matter, is an excellent place to eat, great fresh food, be it meat or seafood. Sa Piola is a nice small restaurant with good food but nothing to scream about. We spent 2 weeks travelling around Sardegna with 3 days in Cagliari and this is one of the 2 places I wouldn't recommend.
The owner/ server, while friendly, is too busy attending to his friends and regulars to pay us much attention. Dirty plates stayed on the table for at least 10mins with small flies flying around. Coffee took 30 mins to arrive, I guess he forgot. We were being stared at by a couple of tables, no idea why, maybe coz we were the only one not speaking italien. Believe me, it was not comfortable eating through 3 courses while being stared at. We spent 120 euros for 2 and living in Paris, it's not expensive. However compared to other meals we had in Cagliari, it was not a place we wanna go again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food, like heaven on earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lovely cosy venue, great house wine!!! We had starter, main, dessert, a few drinks on the house...and we were guessing it would cost around 90 to 100 BUT it only came to 70!! Absolutely Fantastic!! Also, the address(thanks to an earlier comment) is Santa Margherita...A bit hidden away but ask around there and they will direct you :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa Piola also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Sa Piola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa Piola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.