We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful Hosts, quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Peonia

Save Saved
You added La Peonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Peonia
Via Alberto Riva Villasanta, 77, 09134 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive special offers
Ranked #3 of 183 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful Hosts, quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

La Peonia is a true oasis - behind its facade on a narrow busy street, the doorway opens onto a quiet and spacious world of its own. Antonello and Vanna's home is lovely and airy, there are several good-sized guest rooms with elegant bathrooms, and a lovely garden. Antonello speaks fluent English and will do anything to make your visit pleasant. He made reservations for us at a traditional Sardinian restaurant, Ammentos, in the Centro Storico, and even provided bus tickets. There is a small parking lot across from the B&B, and it's only about 10 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
160
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed with Antonello & Vanna for two nights in their wonderful B&B La Peonia. The ancient house and luxurious rooms. We get one with the balcony facing the garden. Very calm place, two lovely dogs, tasty breakfast. Antonello took us to the old town and gave directions for travelling and sightseeing. So kind and lovely, we felt like we visited our papa and mama :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed one night at La Peonia after flying into Cagliari and before heading north for the rest of my Sardinian journey. Antonello and Vanna were gracious, helpful and generous in every way. They offered directions and restaurant suggestions -- even an early-morning ride to the bus terminal. The house is beautiful, clean, quiet, organized and well-appointed. The neighborhood is just a short bus ride outside of the center -- though easily navigated and accessible to all other destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed with Antonello & Vanna for the second successive year at their delightful and well-located house. Everything there is clean, calm and tasteful. An Oasis in the city!
We were given a luxurious room overlooking the tranquil garden and made to feel most welcome throughout our stay. Antonello generously provided us with personal transport into town each day and, on departure, took us to the airport. He also arranged a table for dinner at probably one of the most popular restaurants in town on our first night, a Saturday when the restaurant was noticeably oversubscribed, mostly with local people. Vanna provided fresh and tasty breakfasts and unrestricted servings of espresso!
The hallmark of La Peonia is the hosts’ attention to details that make guests feel not just welcome but valued. An object lesson in hospitality

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in La Peonia only for one night, but it was a really great experience. We arrived very late, but Antonello was waiting for us and was extremely welcoming. The house and the room were both equally comfortable and exceeded our expectations.

The next day before we left, Antonello gave us some great tips for the rest of our trip, which proved to be spot on.

Our only regret is not staying longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are a family on 5 who stayed for 1 night at La Peonia in 1 double and 1 triple room. Very nice rooms, superb bathrooms and a very good breakfast. Warm welcome by the owner of the place, he also gave us lots of good recommendations about the town. They did make us a very good breakfast 0700 in the morning (so we should reach our flight). This accommodation is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Antonello took us on a tour of Cagliari on the first day, zipping us through the narrow streets of "Historic Town" in his car, all the while showing us points of interest and enlightening us with a bits of Sardinia's history. our room was beautiful, very clean. It has a flat screen TV and the bathroom were sleek, modern equipped multiple shower heads. Antonello and Vanna are great hosts. Antonello recommended couples of local seafood restaurants which were the best we had in Sardinia. We would definitely recommend his B&B as the top choice in Sardinia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Peonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Peonia

Also Known As:
La Peonia Cagliari, Sardinia
Address: Via Alberto Riva Villasanta, 77, 09134 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now we have a dedicated Wellness Corner,within our property, where our guests can enjoy the Fitness Room "with TechnoGym equipment". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Peonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Peonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.