We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oca Bianca

L'Oca Bianca
Via Napoli, 38, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
+39 070.664339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 664 Restaurants in Cagliari
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is considered by locals as a place that has one of the best pizzas in town. And that's for a good reason. The pizza dough is very tiny and the pizza itself very large. The toppings vary from very traditional ones to more extravagant: e.g. I have recently tried their "salmon+ginger" and found it really interesting (and very tasty).
The place is generally full (not only on weekends), which means you always have to make a reservation. The ambience is elegant and the service is good. The only negative note is the fact that they serve tap water but you pay the same price as if you were getting bottled one. In general, prices are really fair.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    181
    73
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the best pizzas I've ever eaten in my life. Also the rest of the menu is very good. great Service and quality.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Huge Pizza! A bit soggy in the middle....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This pizzeria we were told was the best in town so we gave it a go as soon as we could. Like most places in Cagliari it doesn't open until 20:00 and closes around midnight. It's also open only 5 days a week so if you want to go you don't have much of a window of opportunity!

I found the waitress very very friendly and welcoming. She showed us to our seat and took our drinks order. They have quite a nice draught beer from Scotland which I tried and very much enjoyed.

My friend and I ordered a Pizza each which came in what seemed to be only 5 minutes! I guess because they are so thin it doesn't take very long to cook them. The pizza were absolutely gigantic - I don't think I've ever seen a pizza so big!

At first I was really enjoying my food but as I got closer to the middle I found the consistency to be very soggy. It was like eating a pancake with tomato sauce on it. We speculated that perhaps we were just unlucky and that they had misjudged the cooking time by a minute or so. I asked another friend about it later however an he told be that that is how Pizzas should be in southern Italy?? If this is so then I stand corrected. Either way, I was hoping for thin and crispy not thin and soggy.

To be honest one pizza would have been enough for two people. I would definitely try this place again though as although not exactly to my liking I think maybe we were just unlucky. The positive reviews on here speak for themselves.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Maybe we were unlucky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We read the complimentary reviews and listened to the recommendations from local colleagues, so visited this restraurant with great expectations.
The restaurant is open Monday to Saturday from 20:00 and is easily located near the marina on via Napoli.

The ambience, music and atmosphere is pleasant, modern and welcoming, along with the friendly and helpful waitresses who greeted us immediately on entering.

The menu has an excellent selection of pizzas and a few antipasto and pastas.


Both myself and my colleagued ordered a pizza each, however upon delivery we realised that the pizza was an incredibly generous size, which you could easily share with two or even three people. The pizza was on a incredibly thin base, like the best pizzas are. However, the dissapointment was that the pizza base was quite soft, and not crispy as I'd been lead to expect. I suspect that we were just unlucky, and would like to give this restaurant a try again if I get have the opportunity.

As an aside they had a Scottish Beer 'Bulldog' on draft.

Total cost for two pizzas, a bottle of sparkling water and two small beers: 27 euro.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good food, really good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

They serve some gigantic pizzas for a pretty fair price. Go early or make a reservation, because it fills up fairly quickly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oca Bianca also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to L'Oca Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oca Bianca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.