We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Due Colonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Due Colonne to your Saves list
Due Colonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sardegna 4, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Cagliari
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Due Colonne hotel (July 6th-9th) and found it to be a great hotel. The hotel is just 5-6 min. walk from the train and bus station. Which was great since we took the shuttle bus from the airport which drops you off at piazza matteotti, also where you can take the bus to polette beach. The check-in was fast and the front desk were very friendly. The room itself was clean and modern looking, it was a little small but we really didn't stay in the room during the day basically used the room only to sleep. As well, the bathroom was clean and everything was working properly. The breakfast which was included in our stay was very good it was a traditional continental breakfast. So it had a bit of everything from eggs and ham to crossiants to fruit. The hotel is right on the corner of via sardegna and largo carlo felice. largo carlo felice is a very busy street but you did not hear any of the noise from the hotel room. Also via sardegna is a pedestrian street no cars allowed and the street is lined with all sorts of restaurants. The hotel is in an excellent location a few minutes walk and you reach piazza yenne and torre dell' elefante. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return if i ever go back to cagliari.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
45
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was excellent for disabled guests. They could not have been more helpful prior to our arrival and during our stay. The location is excellent. Easy access to the bus and train stations.
Cagliari is not suited to a wheelchair user. I could not push a wheelchair over the cobbled pavements as the chair gets stuck in the uneven cobbles or cope with the incline. The road is to busy to walk on, At least from this hotel it is easy to get to the port which is modern with smooth paving, a positive blessing!
English is not widely spoken in Cagliari but I found people to be very helpful and managed to communicate with the locals to find bus details and other information.
The locals are very courteous and helpful and will stop traffic for you to get you across the road when you are pushing a wheelchair, on one occasion I wasnt wanting to cross but felt compelled as they were so helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is totally devoid of charm and vastly overpriced and noisy. The room decor is like something from the 1960's . The worst hotel I have stayed at in over 30 years.

The central location does not excuse it's horrible rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELYPALM, Collaboratore at Due Colonne, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Google Translation
E' evidente che questa persona non sia mai stata all' Hotel 2 Colonne!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is a very short walk from the bus station in Cagliari where the bus from the airport arrives (cross the Piazza Matteotti diagonally and a few paces up the Largo Carlo Felice - the hotel is on the right, with its entrance on Via Sardegna). At the top of the Largo Carlo Felice (a few minutes' walk) is Piazza Yenne, and above that the old town, which requires some climbing (but there is luckily a lift up to the Torre dell'Elefante).

My room was on the 4th floor and was comfortable and the bathroom (with shower only) modern. I paid Euros 69.00 per night, which I thought good value - this would vary though depending on the time of year (and how you book). There were three minor deficiencies which stopped me from awarding this hotel its fifth 'star': (1) the air conditioning worked well for the first day but after that (I was there for one week at the end of May) either did not work or had been turned off centrally. As the weather was not swelteringly hot this was not much of a problem (though opening the window, looking out over the Largo Carlo Felice, let in too much noise); (2) there was a mini-bar with beer and water which I thought were good value (Euros 2.30 and 1.00 respectively) but unfortunately it was only once refilled, though I did point it out to reception; (3) the basin in the bathroom had a pop-up plug which did not pop up (because the 'handle' that you push down to force the plug up was missing). Luckily I had a pen-knife (with can opener etc.) with me, which was required to prise the metal plug up. Although these points were not put right, when I asked for an extra pillow it arrived promptly and the staff were at all times friendly. All in all, a more than adequate hotel in a brilliant location (also very near the restaurants in the area), but be prepared for a few minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent location in city center. Overall very nice. Our room was large, so was the bathroom. The breakfast included was good. We can recommend this place. The best about this hotel is the location. We stayed for two nights. If you bring a car, you can park at the railwaystation which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have recently returned from a long weekend break in Cagliari. Not perhaps an obvious destination for a short break from the UK but made attractive by a new route introduced by one of the low cost airlines.

The hotel is very central, ideally situated for the bus and rail stations, shops, bars, restaurants and local sights. Indeed its central location is one of its major plus points.

We arrived at the hotel prior to 12 noon and although the normal check-in time is from 14.00 onwards, the reception team advised that if our room was ready we could get early access. However, it wasn't ready but we were able to leave our luggage and with the use of a helpful map provided by the hotel set off to explore the city and get a bite of lunch. By the time we returned our luggage had already been taken to our room by the hotel staff. Overall, check-in and check-out were hastle free.

Our room was of a good size, larger than some hotels we have stayed at and was spotlessly clean. Decor was restrained but again gave a feeling that the room was fresh and welcoming.
The room was on the corner of the second floor overlooking Via Sardegna in one direction and Largo Carlo Felice in the other. The latter is a main thoroughfare in the city and is very busy but we were pleasantly surprised that traffic noise was not a major issue as the soundproofing was good.

Importantly, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep each night.

Breakfast was a typical self service affair with a good selection of breads, pastries, cheese, meats, fruit etc. and the breakfast room also doubles as the hotel bar in the evening.

We would not hesitate to stay at the Due Colonne next time we are in Cagliari

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I can only say we had an amazing stay at Due Colonne, It was our first time to Cagliari we went for a weekend for a family wedding.The hotel we couldn't fault staff excellent, ideal walking distance for main street, shops, room perfect and had air-con. Thank you once again Due Colonne for making a very hot weekend bearable for two british people used to wet windy weather. Diane and Bren

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Due Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Colonne

Address: Via Sardegna 4, 09124 Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Colonne 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Due Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Colonne Cagliari, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Due Colonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.