We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment, excellent location and awesome hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardinetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il Giardinetto to your Saves list
Il Giardinetto
Via Satta 92, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, excellent location and awesome hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Upon arrival we stayed at flat 4! We were greeted by Gianluca's parents who presented us with complimentary wine, bread and cakes all from their own vineyard! Shortly afterwards Nicola arrived to show us round the apartment and gave us a map with all his restaurant recommendations on along with pointing out the best beaches! All of which were awesome restaurants actually! The apartment consisted a lovely air conned double bedroom, lovely living room/kitchenette and a bathroom with shower. All was excellent for what we paid, the only gripe being the shower curtain doesnt keep anything in the basin and it drains so slowly that the floor becomes a swimming pool! Supermarket is two minutes away and old town is about 10 minutes walk and the beach the same in the other direction! Can't fault the hospitality and the apartment is well worth the reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Gianluca was very friendly and accommodating when we emailed him to book our apartment, and offered to arrange a taxi from the airport for us. We stayed in Apartment 5, the one-bed apartment, for a week for our honeymoon. The apartment was fresh, spotless and tastefully decorated, and the garden at the back was also very neat and peaceful. The area is quiet and clean, and only two minutes from a supermarket and ten minutes from the old town/coast. Vincentina, one of the owners, went above and beyond to ensure that we had the perfect honeymoon, providing us with homemade wine, eggs from her own hens, fruit from her own garden (which were all delicious) and, on our last night, a home-cooked Italian feast. Her friendliness and attention to detail meant that our holiday was full of wonderful surprises. There is a computer downstairs, so residents can use the Internet for free, and the bikes (also provided for free), although not top of the range, allowed us to spend several very enjoyable days cycling up and down the coast of Alghero. We reccommend cycling the 10km to Nuraghe Palmavera, especially as there are beaches along the way that surpass the rather crowded Lido in Alghero itself. We cooked most of our meals in the kitchenette, which is small but servicable, and came with some essentials like oil, salt and sugar. We had a wonderful time and would reccommend this apartment, and especially its owners!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is one ot the best appartments we ever stayed in. Place so clean and really well fitted out. Location great near to old town and beach. Owner was so helpfull when we arrived. Gave us tips on places to eat and drink and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Spent a very enjoyable week here first week in June. This place is in a great location, in a residential part of town with loads of free on street parking all around. 5 minutes to nearest supermarket and bank, 10 minutes to the old town. Stayed in Apartment 6 on the 2nd floor which is a spacious apartment (double bedroom, kitchenette/diner/lounge and bathroom)with balcony overlooking Via Sata below. No great view but good to have outdoor space (with clothes drier) and nice to see locals going about there business.Very quiet at night though the garbage truck comes around very early in the morning and there is some short term noise!

Apartment is well eqipped with air con, TV, DVD player, gas hob, microwave/grill, toaster, kettle, stove top coffee percolator, fridge, use of a computer (in common room downstairs) and has bicycles available too. Some of the fixtures, fittings and furniture is showing signs of wear and tear but is all perfectly clean and functional. This is not a 'luxury' apartment but it is perfectly adequate and is reasonable value for money.

Gianluca kept in touch throughout the booking process and even texted us on our arrival at Olbia Airport. He was at the apartment to meet us on our arrival and provided helpful local information.

Alghero is great for a short break/week with plenty of good restaurants and a few wee bars. Town beaches not the best but there are some superb beaches in the area easily reached by car or even bicycle. All in all we had a great time here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend having a car to see the area and as I said before there is plenty parking at the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, it included, iron, hairdryer (no blow drying attachment) everything that you needed for a simple meal in the kitchen, but no frying pan. Our room was at the back, with no balcony. We had the sun in the morning, but in the afternoon there was not any sun, so it was a bit dull if you were back at the apartment. It was at these times when you really missed having a balcony. If you book I would recommend that you request an apartment with a balcony at the front of the building as this would really make a difference. There is a room with a computer and free wifi, there are also bikes that are free to use -a great extra! As previous reviews, we had some basics in the room when we arrived, and Gianluca gave us a bottle of homemade wine which was a lovely gesture. It was clean and tidy, we met some of the other guests outside in the courtyard and it was a nice social area. It was a functional base for a long weekend, my only critism would be our shower, it was a big bathroom with an open curtained shower, which made it difficult to keep the area dry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My partner and i have just returned from a two week holiday in Sardinia staying at II Giardinetto. We booked direct with the owners after reading all the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
Gianluca arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport which was much appreciated. He was also waiting at the apartment to meet us. He made us very welcome and advised us on places to visit and eat ect.
We arrived around 9pm and was very grateful for the coffee, milk, fruit juice and cakes that were in the apartment.
The apartment is very comfortable with everything you need. We only used it as a base as we ate out most nights. I have to say i slept really well during my stay there, as it was located in the residential area of Alghero so no noisy revellers at night time. The walk to the old town which is lovely was only 10 minutes and was quite pleasant. The beach was probably a little further but that didnt bother us as we hired a car for most of our stay.
A very big thank you to Gianluca and his brother for making our stay an enjoyable one. We hope to return in the future as Sardinia is such a big island it is not possible to see it all in one trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Rented a one bedroom apartment for a week.
Likes: Quiet location
Ample street parking
Free bicycles!
Free Internet with PC in a room downstairs
Friendly enough people, only contact during stay was to ask for the promised dvd
player that never came
Welcome pack food
Cleaning and new towels during stay


Dislikes: Poorly equipped with "thrown-together utensils" , for instance no wineglasses
Very old and run down furniture in livingroom, the sofa was.... well
The extrabed slanted so badly that I fell out of it twice in one night
The showerhead was cracked and the bathroom was completely wet after a
shower and stayed that way
Loads of mosquitos and other insects in the apartment, probably from the
garden. Natures fault, but not everyone likes this, so be aware
We were promised a dvd-player, did not get it even after twice asking for it
during the stay

All in all, we felt that we got what we paid for, but no more. Fair enough, but would go for a better standard next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardinetto

Address: Via Satta 92, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In city center, residential and quiet area, 600m from Old Town, 900m from sandy beaches. Seven bright apartments available for rental both for short and longer periods. Two-roomed 60 sq m (up to 4 people); one-roomed 30 sq m (2 people). Totally renovated in 2007, with all modern conveniences, satellite TV, equipment for infants, Air conditioning. Bed linen, blankets and towels. We can give you bikes and snorkeling equipment! Garden available from spring 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Il Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardinetto Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardinetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.