We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia di Conte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alghero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Baia di Conte
Save
You added Hotel Baia di Conte to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   SP 55 Bis | 07041 Alghero (SS), 07040 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Bagshot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Baia Di Conte hotel and what a great week it was. The staff in the hotel couldn't do enough for you. The hotel as everybody seems to point out does look a bit tired from the outside but the inside is kept spotless. The rooms were cleaned daily and again were spotless. It does need an uplift and the AC needs updating but it did the job.

The pool was lovely and the hotel has a great beach which was kept tidy and there were 3 lifeguards around everyday. The grounds of the hotel are very well kept.

The food was good, breakfast had plenty of choice from cereal, cooked breakfast, pancakes and they would always cook you an omelette. Lunch you had the choice of the buffet or they had burgers, pizza, hot dogs and chips which were served by the pool which ok. Evenings there was a good choice and they always had pasta and chips to get by on.

They have evening entertainment Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday which was ok and they even put it on again on our last night which was great.

The hotel is very remote but on saying that it does tell you that, however, the bus stop was directly outside the hotel and you could get the beach bus into town which was 5 euros or you could get on the big red open top tour bus which was on a hop on hop off basis for 18 euros and it took you to the old town.

All in all we had a great holiday and it will be interesting to see how it looks after the refurb.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
55
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We were made aware by the travel agent that this hotel is due for a makeover before next season, it did from the outside look a little tired! This soon became unnoticed due to the lovely friendly staff ,nothing was too much trouble. Bearing in mind this was the last week of the season everyone put their heart and soul into making our holiday absolutely fantastic!! The rooms were cleaned daily,with fresh clean towels and sheets! Transfer from airport was 20 minutes maximum and Roberta the Thomson rep was so so helpful throughout our stay! The Sardinian trip we booked was also great value and so interesting! The guide and coach driver made it such a fun informative day! The private beach is perfect for everyone and well looked after by the staff with a lifeguard on duty all day. The gardens are beautifully kept too, We look forward to seeing the new look in the new brochure but hope nothing else deters from the fantastic friendly atmosphere inside!

Room Tip: Pool view or sea view are always a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I've just returned from a week's holiday at Baia di Conte. I'm already missing the weather, but I sadly can't say the same for the resort.

Perhaps I'm at fault for expecting a certain degree of quality from a resort which offers all-inclusive service. I feel misled by all of the positive reviews here. Maybe the owners decided to wind things down last week, as it was nearly the end of the season?

As Baia di Conte is not within walking distance of anything significant, you'll likely spend most of your time on the premises, unless you have plenty of spending money. I wouldn't wish a single meal from the buffet on my worst enemy. Most of the meat is incredibly salty, as are several other foods. Don't get the salmon, as the chef makes no effort to remove the countless pin-bones. One day they had a salad with salmon flakes in it, and even that had bones! I could tell you about the few decent options available, but why bother? You're either eating the same foods day after day, meal after meal, or you're stepping into a culinary minefield.

The rooms are clean-ish but seem far older than I am, right down to the separate beds, as God would have intended. Housekeeping was kind enough to push them together, though. ;) No washcloths, so bring a pouf/loofah/etc. if you're classy like that. Outlets are sparse, so prepare to unplug lamps and such if you have devices to charge. Oh, and maybe I'm just oblivious, but I don't think there's a handle/latch to open the balcony doors from the outside, so be careful not to lock yourself out if no one is on the other end to let you back in!

You can get wi-fi credentials at €18 per device per week. Mine would log out every time I let my phone fall asleep. Still, it seems like the reception/"lounge" area is the only free zone, so it's worth it if you're looking to connect by the pool, beach, or in your room. You probably don't want to spend much time in reception anyway. The playlist ranges from smooth jazz to some freaky horror movie song I can't begin to reason through.

The pool is great. Very clean. Grab a drink at the pool bar while you're at it, but again, avoid the food. The beach is swell, too, though a bit rocky. I tried swimming out a ways but there wasn't much to see in terms of sea life. You'll have to venture elsewhere on the island for that.

Thomson offered some excursions for reasonable prices. The Costa Smerelda tour was scenic and relaxing, but maybe geared more towards the older folks! The Sardinian tour was more eventful, and we had a lovely guide and driver. I would have loved to have seen Corsica, but that one was rather expensive. Maybe another time (at another hotel)...

There's no allure to the "tapas" "restaurant". It's joined to the buffet, and the food served was only a step above the buffet's. 75% of it could literally be assembled at the buffet. Same staff, after all. The other reviews lead me to believe there used to be more to it. It was only open my last night there, and it's your only option, as the buffet is mostly empty. It's dimly-lit, but there's no ambiance beyond that.

Finally, the staff were all quite friendly and helpful. Everyone at the front desk speaks English well enough, and some of the restaurant staff do as well, but that's about it. They fit you with a wristband on arrival, and try as you might, you can't remove it without cutting it. Have fun looking like an obvious tourist wherever you go.

All in all, I'm disappointed. Supposedly there will be significant changes in the future, but this place is a lost cause as far as I'm concerned. Sure, there were positives, but the often-inedible food mixed with the ancient rooms, gloomy facilities, and shoddy fitness centre makes for a pretty miserable experience. I was half-expecting a "you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave" deal a la "Hotel California" by the end.

Save up your money and visit a resort that gives meaning to the concept of "all-inclusive". Or just find a hotel in Alghero and feel a bit more immersed in the Sardinian culture.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Was very happy when I got to the room - there was a huge double balcony and with a sea view. I could even see the sea from the bath/shower!
The beach was beautiful and the sea was great for swimming and snorkelling. My partner had some sailing lessons too which he organised from the beach.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. The all inclusive restaurant had plenty of choice and the wine was good quality. The post dinner Sardinian digestive named "Mirto" was delicious!
There was a lovely clothes shop on the premises and as the hotel was closing down for the winter I bought quite a few clothes at half price!
We went into Alghero on the "beach bus" which was only 5 euros for the day. There was also a red open top tourist bus which was very reasonable and used this to go to the caves. As they are only 10 minutes from the hotel they are worth a visit if you can cope with the 656 steps down ( and then back up again!). The entrance to the national park is only 500 metres from the hotel and was an amazing afternoon. We hired bikes and cycled for an hour to the most amazing viewpoint of Isola Piana - a small island which you could see from the cliff face with a sheer drop to the sea. One the easy back we saw wild horses and fallow deer. The deer jumped out in front of us as we cycled back!
The hotel was closing down for the winter and was very quiet when we were there, but we still had a great time and good service. There was entertainment every other night, and there were a couple of really good singers.
The only downside was the poolside restaurant - the food was not very good quality compared to the main restaurant. The pool itself however was lovely.
A great choice for a relaxing holiday. The flight is only 2 hours from the UK and the hotel only 20 minutes from the airport. There are plenty of things to do close to the hotel, so you don't have to travel too far for anything.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We had the greatest time ever at Baia di Conte with our two teenagers+ friend and girlfriend. Nice beach beautiful setting and lots of food. Esecially the bread was fabulous, abosolutly world class, the wine nice, enough selection of drinks and a pleasant tapas-dinner. We had such pleasant meals, played tennis and boccia and after dinner cards. Just chilling and having a good time. The satff is very friendly and helpful.

We also rented a car and went to Nepune´s Grotto and walked the stairs from hell, you shouldn´t go there if you´re not fit. There´s the option to go by boat but it looked terrifying as the wawes were so high the boat couldn´t be tied when peolple had to go on and off.
We also went to La Pelosa- Stintino. It might have been the most beatiful sand we ever have seen, and lovely turquise water, the problem was it was so crowded you could hardly se any sand.
There is a lovly mountaintown futher north called Castelsardo, good for a lunchstop.

But really, if you like us are at Baia di conte for just one week there is no need to go anywere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The grounds of the hotel are brilliant it cannot be faulted, the cleanliness of the entire hotel is of the highest standards. Buffet style food was to a very high standard and there were many different types of food on offer at every sitting. Staff were amazing, so helpful and courteous.
The pool and pool bar has to be one of the better attributes of the hotel, food offered all afternoon and drinks right up to the pool. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and on the pristine beach.
The only thing letting the hotel down is the lack of evening entertainments and the awkwardness of getting into town, other than that if your looking for a chill-out holiday reading by the pool then this is for you and only a short 20 minute transfer from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2203 it was in my opinion one of the best rooms, sea view, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks at the Baia di Conte some comments before I forget:

Good points
Only 15minutes transfer from the airport.
The staff are great and very helpful in my experience. The rooms and public areas are very clean if a little dated
The beach is really great with no problems getting sun beds or umbrellas for shade
The main pool is also good. About 35m long and 15m wide. Towards the end of the day it is also empty so great if you want some longer swims.
The rooms in the central section of each building are huge (about twice the size of a normal holiday room).
They suffer from poor aircon but which can be difficult if the nights are hot - hopefully this will be improved during the forthcoming upgrade.
There is sufficient hanging space and drawers for clothes plus a free safe and loads of hangers.
The bathroom has a hairdryer fixed to the wall.

Not so good
No entertainment to speak of. A lone singer three nights a week. No real entertainment team so little organised during the day either.
Air con almost no existent throughout the hotel.
20km to the nearest town so fairly isolated
Nowhere to walk at night except around the grounds - and the outside lights where switched off one night making this impossible

Other points
It is possible to use a combination of the Red bus, beach bus and hotel shuttle to get around quite cheaply without using a taxi.
The nature park down the road is great if you enjoy walking and it is not too hot. Getting to the top of the hill takes about 60min. You can also hire bikes or do an evening tour (6pm) on a small bus with the park ranger.
In Alghero I would recommend cocktails at the Hotel Catalunya bar (9th floor) for a great view of alghero by night

Room Tip: Rooms in the central section of each block are bigger than those towards the edges (except the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia di Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia di Conte

Address: SP 55 Bis | 07041 Alghero (SS), 07040 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alghero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#15 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia di Conte 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L' Hotel Baia di Conte riapre i battenti per questa stagione , questa volta sotto un nuovo management. Il piu che conosciuto gruppo Tui subentra da oggi per i prossimi nove anni in questo splendido hotel , unico nel suo ambiente e situato in un bellissimo spazio accanto a una riserva naturale e una spiaggia ad uso esclusivo che lo rende speciale . Il 3 maggio apriremo le nostre porte e saremo felici di darvi il benvenuto . Questa nuova struttura sara legata in tutti gli aspetti al marchio Tui conosciuto per la sua dedizione e attenzione all'ospite , al dettaglio e impegno affinche tutti possano godere al meglio della loro vacanza. Le nostre 303 camere e 2 suite delizieranno gli ospiti che potranno passeggiare tra i magnifici giardini , nuotare nelle piscine o nella spiaggia vigilata , gustare i cibi serviti durante tutto il giorno in diverse parti del resort , allietare le serate con i nostri spettacoli dal vivo; attesi dal nostro staff , iniziando dalla direzione , che cercara' di fare del suo meglio per rendere il soggiorno indimenticabile . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baia Di Conte Hotel
Hotel Baia Di Conte Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia di Conte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.