We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but very nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Balear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Balear to your Saves list
El Balear
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Dante, 32, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple but very nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed on night in two very small rooms hidden away in a courtyard.
The rooms where clean and light but very small - the shower was almost just a kids shower.
It seemed a quiet-hotel, meaning that you had to be extra quiet. We had three children and they had no problems here.
Extremely nice personel always helpful

Room Tip: Make sure you get seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    34
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
14
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We arrived 'on spec' and they found us a room - it was clean and the bathroom was very small (tiny 'hip' type bath with shower over) and a side sea view. After two nights they happily moved us to another larger room on the top of their newer block (No 41), which was very clean, had a lovely large balcony and overlloked the sea. The staff were lovely and friendly, which was what made us decide to stay for a further two nights. The breakfast was a bit limited but adequate - would not want it for a week! Position is good; quiet but near the old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We liked the location on the seafront and the pleasant stroll into town along the promenade. Alghero is a great place to spend time, very relaxed with good cafes and restaurants. The hotel is really basic, but the staff make a great effort to make your stay a pleasant one. I think I would skip any meals at the hotel and just eat in town. I was very impressed that one of the reception staff phoned me to let me know I left a memory stick in the room and he mailed it on later. It confirmed my good feeling about the service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We had prebooked this hotel for one night based on its location close to the centre of town. It did the job but is seriously lacking in sex appeal and pzazz. Rooms are spartan and basic '80's 2 star and the shower rooms need updating. There is a pleasant courtyard in the centre of the building and some rooms have (restricted) sea views. Parking can be tricky. Breakfast was very ordinary and we didn't sample the restaurant which didn't appear particularly inviting in a town full of good eateries. Reception staff were helpful and obliging. A totally forgettable experience, Alghero is a great town to visit though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here last night on 1-week trip to Sardinia. Just walked in a got a double room on third floor with partial seaview.... Overall decent 3-star hotel, nothing to write home about even though I am not so pessimistic about the bathroom as some earlier reviews... Maybe they have updated some...

Nice bed and great balcony with evening sun... Breakfast was ok with both the usual sugar rush products, but also bread, cheese and ham... we paid 100 Eur incl breafast for double room, which was their off season price... they charge extra for children, but waived that when we asked if we really needed to pay extra for our 4-year old...

We tried the dinner in the hotel and 20 Eur/pers was overpriced for the crap they served... So stay away from eating here for dinner... there is several restaurants on the road into the old town or 10min walk into the old town...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This hotel doesn't worth the price asked ( 150€ for three + breakfast). We have had to pay before for 3 nights. the room was very small, the bathroom also, the furniture and the bed must be cheap because bad level quality. the sight on the backyard and the neibourgh. The breakfast poor choice.
I don't recommand this hotel.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — the size of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Fourth and last stop on our trip around Sardinia in 2007, El Balear was conveniently located but a bit pricey. But I can't complain too much, since i did not pre-book. Alghero is one lovely charming town, that is a very interesting cross between Sardinia and Catalunya. Different from the rest of the island, it is distinct in its architecture, perhaps the most interesting I've seen in Sardinia. There were charming restaurants and great walks. The hotel is in a good location since it faces the sea and is very near the old town. I had a bit of bad luck as the first room they gave me reeked of cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room. The second one smelled OK but the view was non-existant. But I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel anyway, so who cares?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — First room reeked of cigarettes
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balear

Address: Lungomare Dante, 32, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balear 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Balear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Balear Hotel Alghero
El Balear Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Balear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.