We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Negative Part of Algheiro"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Dolphin B&B to your Saves list
Blue Dolphin B&B
Via Marconi 75, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 225 Alghero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Only Negative Part of Algheiro"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

After spending three weeks traveling in Europe, we were really looking forward to finishing our trip in Algheiro. We were not disappointed with the city, but were disappointed with the B & B. The location was not close to town, although within walking distance. The walk was not picturesque as the description stated. Although there was a balcony, if you turned to the right there was a field that was unsightly. The breakfast was as previously stated, packaged bread (Not Fresh), yogurt, teas, and a coffee machine. We had stayed the last couple of days at a B & B that provided freash bread and coffee that was made by the owner and juice. The room itself was just that, a room. It was very hot the days that we were there and the ac was not good. Roberto did pick us up at the bus stop and provided transportation to the bus stop to the airport.

The Blue Dolphin is not a place to relax and is just a room to sleep. I did not stay at the B & B that was described in the literature!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbRome, Owner at Blue Dolphin B&B, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
The Blue Dolphin is a Bed and Breakfast, not a hotel 5 stars
I am really been sorry that these guests have written this critique that doesn't correspond entirely to the truth.
The air conditioning /haeter is perfectly workins.
The balcony is not a panoramic terrace and I has never described him as such.
Among the other things, the balcony of their room leans out on the Street Marconi and not directly on a garden!!!
I am not responsible of the garden of my neighbors even if this results to be neglected!!!
Perhaps these guests had the idea to lodge in a hotel, but the Blue Dolphin is a bed and breakfast and as such it offers services of bed and breakfast.
Clearly the room that the gentlemen have occupied was a room, nothing more. A room with airconditioning, private bath, tv, balcony.
As it regards the breakfast, rhyming to the Italian legislature and particularly to the Regional Law that regulates and authorizes the citizens to open their houses with a service of lodging and breakfast and that it clearly points out what services can be offered: exclusively furnishing to whom is lodged, foods and drinks manufactured for the breakfast. The breakfast
it can have served to the guest with manufactured foods (and at the most
heated), excluding every possibility to manipulate the food however.
It will be possible to offer the continental breakfast constituted by bread slices to own guests therefore,
toasted bread, brioche, butter, coffee, juice of orange.
It is made absolute prohibition use stoves or similar in the rooms to get ready himself foods or drinks and each
other manufacturing instrument of heat except those for the ordinary toilet.

ROBERTO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

To tell the truth, we were a little disappointed with this B&B, but for the price which is quite low for Sardinia it was a good place to stay. But don't expect too much of it. I was really surprised, that it got so many 5*. I never would say, it's a five star location. And I am not the pickiest person.

It's situated a little on the outskirts of Alghero with a view on a building site, which wasn't that romantic. About 15 - 20 minutes walk to the centre of Alghero with all the restaurants, shops etc. Beaches are about 10 - 15 minutes away by car.

The rooms were ok, nothing special, but so far almost clean. Simply furnished. You only have a shared bathroom on the floor.

The breakfast is poor, don't expect too much. Even though Italian breakfast is not that famous, this breakfast was really disappointing. There are packed biscuits in the kitchen, that's all. And you can made yourself a coffee.

Roberto, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. No complaints at all.

If you are looking for a cheap backpacker place and don't expect that much comfort, this B&B is good for you. Don't go there, if you are looking for a romance atmosphere or something similar. Note, that it's better to eat outside.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbRome, proprietario at Blue Dolphin B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2009
From April 2008 in the B&B Blue Dolphin we have all the rooms with private bathroom inside (ensuite). The breakfast is packed because the italian low for the b&b (snacks, sugar, biscuits, toasted bred, milk, marmalade, honey, all of this are single packed).

Roberto (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

I've been in Alghero last weekend and I stayed two nights in B&B Blue Dolphin. The owner is very helpful and neighbourly, the room is really tiny and very spacious. Roberto, the owner gave us a warm welcome and some useful information! Inside the house there is a small kitchen where you can prepare and have breakfast. I think this place is perfect to spend some days in Alghero, a wonderful little city!

  • Liked — The cleanlinless
  • Disliked — The position
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

This B&B can surely not deserve to be rated as top in Alghero. We thoroghly enjoyed our week long stay on the island but little did it have to do with our accomodation. The B&B is a 20 minute walk from the 'old town' on the very edge of Alghero overlooking a school and a building site. The breakfast consisted of a selection of small packaged sweet breads and cakes which is fine for a day but can not be eaten for a week. While Roberto keeps the place clean and tidy and is keen to help upon your arrival, having to be out of the B&B from 1030 until 6 leaves you with the feeling that you are in someones house and that you can not come and go as you please. While we would recomend Alghero as a great place to stay, self catering apartments would probably be the better choice if you like your own space. The Blue Dolphin is good value for money and would be fine for a day or two but not for a week.

  • Liked — It Was Clean
  • Disliked — Location/Food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Quite a nice B&B, located on the far edge of town. Clean, comfortable, simple accomodation. Shared bathroom. Very basic breakfast. Quite a way from the centre of Alghero, about 20 min walk, but its located in a fairly quiet residential street. There is a supermarket on the next road. We hired a car & there is on-street parking outside or behind the B&B. Owner accesible via mobile most times, very friendly, helpful & honest.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — too far from town
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

I am just writing to confirm what the other reviews say about Blue Dolphin.If you read them all you will get a balanced view of the b+b and in particular the effort that Roberto puts into it . He is obviously proud of his town and is keen to help his guests make the most of their stay. Although Sardinia can be an expensive place to visit, by using cheap flights and budget accomodation, the total cost can be very reasonable.
We flew with Ryanair [our first time] and were impressed. Both flights left on time and both arrived approx. 30 minutes early. The planes were new and although the term 'no frills' sums the airline up perfectly, we had no problems. Apart, that is, from the muppets on both flights who had not read the baggage restrictions. You are allowed only 15kg and then you pay for any extra by the kilo. This is clearly stated. On both flights we were held up by people arguing with the check -in staff, as if they had just made the rule up on the spot, just to be difficult. They then kept the other passengers amused as they opened their suitcases on the floor and tried to redistribute their belongings to try and avoid the extra charges. One guy had a suitcase so large , it must have weighed 15kg without anything in it!
Arriving at Alghero, taking the bus is 70cents and a taxi is approx. 25 euros, so that's a no-brainer. Read the Alghero forums on this site for all the information you need about ticket machines, where the bus stop is, what happens if the ticket machine is broken, etc. etc.
When you reach the terminus, you phone Roberto and he comes and picks you up. This is really useful. It avoids wandering around a strange town,in the dark, dragging a suitcase ,without the faintest idea of your whereabouts. On the way to the b+b he points out the street names and routes that you will use during your stay. He will then show you where everything is in the BD and how everything works. He will also give you his mobile phone number which is also very useful. Hopefully, like us, you will not need to call him as we thought this should only be used if we were in difficulty, and not every time we needed change for a 5 euro note, or whatever.
As other reviews point out, the BD is not in the most pictureresque part of town and the walk to town is 10-15 minutes. Bear in mind that you will probably do this twice a day, typically walking to the beach or bus stops, walking back to shower and change ,and then back to town at night to eat and drink, and then back afterwards to sleep. We did not at any time feel unsafe,but looking in the same shop windows twice a day can get a bit boring!
A bit about Alghero. It's growing. There are a lot of cranes, property prices are soaring and this has a lot to do with cheap air fares. Now is a good time to go as it still retains its character, which might not always be the case.
One of the most pleasing aspects of our trip was the feeling of actually being abroad. Unlike Spain and Greece, English is not the first language, and you sometimes have to work to make yourself understood, which is a refreshing change. At the moment there are no 'English pubs', no 'all day English breakfast', and best of all,no overweight, middle-aged blokes in football shirts.
Walking through the old town is a bit like being in a film set, but look above the expensive shops and you will see that it is still home to lots of local people, their washing hanging from balcony to balcony, across the high, narrow streets.
In summary, it is still possible to do it fairly cheaply.Fly Ryanair or similar and if you are flexible with your dates, you can get a better deal. If we had travelled 2 days earlier, the return fare would have been £48 instead of £88. Stay at BD or similar, the cost is much less than staying in beach-side hotels. Use the buses instead of taxis[get a timetable from the tourist information office] and don't pay restaurant prices every night. There are good supermarkets, take-away pizza, etc. so you can eat and drink well on a budget.
Hope this helps.

  • Liked — cleanliness price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Situated up a back street on the edge of Alghero with no view worth talking about, 'The Blue Dolphin' seems an unlikely place to find a little bit of heaven. But there it is; a beautifully presented large room with adjacent shared bathroom and kitchen might not qualify in most people's opinion as much to write home about but when the host is Senore Roberto and the immaculate cleanliness and attention to detail are taken into account, then, 'The Blue Dolphin' really comes into its own.
I have stayed in well rated hotels which do not compare to this B&B! In fact my last experience of Italian B&B led to my expectations of this property being well... low. It was wonderful to be proved completely wrong.
Roberto richly deserves every plaudit I can throw at him. From the first moment my wife and I entered the apartment building to the last time we closed the door (was it really just over a week ago?) we were treated as honoured guests for whom nothing was too much trouble. A rare thing in itself in these days when it seems that, more often than not, money alone dictates the warnth of a welcome.
Let me stress this is a B&B and not a hotel. But if you are in Alghero I challenge you to find a better place to stay at a reasonable price... unless you really want all inclusive luxury. We'll be back as soon as possible and who knows we might just meet you at some point. In the meantime: 'Ciao!'

  • Liked — Its owners personality
  • Disliked — Quite a walk from the centre of town on a hot day (approx 1 Km)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin B&B

Address: Via Marconi 75, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphin, your home in Alghero. Services Included: breakfast, air conditioning/heating in room, room with balcony, TV in room, bedroom and bathroom linen, hairdryer, shampoo and shower gel.The breakfast is served in living room (winter) or in terrace (in summer) from 8:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Dolphin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin B&B Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.