We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but Poor Location, Uncomfortable Beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero to your Saves list
Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero
Via Iglesias 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cody
1 review
“Good Value but Poor Location, Uncomfortable Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

When we selected Solemare, we thought that "Via Iglesias" would be near the center of Alghero, "near the Church". Alas, it was two + miles from town with infrequent public transportation, so...a long hot walk. One of the rooms we stayed in was fairly comfortable, but then for some reason, we were moved to another room that had very uncomfortable, noisy beds. Our host was initially hospitable with arrival assistance and orientation, but once the payment (cash only) was collected he was rarely available to answer questions, provide directions to bus and train stations or to help us with problems (despite appointments made in advance). Hot water was undependable. On the plus side, there was a beach about four blocks away, the price was good, the location was quiet, the grounds were very pleasant, the housekeepers were excellent. However, we would not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a private studio apartment. Avoid the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elio f, Proprietario at Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,
I'm so sorry about your review we will try to improve everything that we can improve!
If you will come back we will check our improvements...
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I booked a last minute trip to Alghero with my sister this summer 2011 and choose Solemare due to good reviews on tripadvisor. I was very pleased with our studio and hospitability of the owner that picked us up from the airport for a very small fee. Great location, near to the old town. So if you are looking for a comfy place which is good value for money than Solemare is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Dear all,

pse consider my words as more than sincere.. I saw someone wrote a "terrible" comment on this place and i'm happy to see that is only one. This shows how the world is different. I really do not understand how this was possible.. This place is great, prices are more than in line and eventually are even cheaper than usual. Elio, the owner, is one of the sweatest person ever met and he's always available for any request guests could have. This place is nice and confortable and the garden is giving a familiar atmopshere. It is even very close to the see within walking distance and if you take the bike you can appreciate all the Alghero neighborhood that is one of the nicest town in Sardinia. Very close to this B&B there is also a very famous pizzeria where you can take the "pizza metro" : a great meter of Pizza.. !!

Room Tip: I was in the double room and it was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great price & top service....

The BB apartments is located ideally within a quite residential area far from traffic noise. The apartments are just a few minutes walk to the beach, local shops and close to restaurants serving local specialties. The rooms were very comfortable. If you fancy chilling a few hours in the hotel before going out...I recommend its beautiful and well looked after garden (it almost looks like a parc) where I spent some enjoyable time sipping champagne with my Miss's;-) Great news for late sleepers too; breakfast is available anytime:-) Facilities are cleaned on a daily basis and kitchen is fully equipped.

For us it was the Best BB ever. Not to forget the the warm welcoming and the great hospitality....The hotel's owner was always available when needed and he knows how to look after his guests....thank you Elio....we will keep good memories

Najib & Alicja

best regards from Luxembourg

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

location-
15 min walk to the old city
3 min supermarkets
1 min bus stop to the airport
5 min is city beach but we prefered Maria Pia is nicer,clear water,white sand-walk 25min
you can rent a bikes from ELIO-the owner .. 8 € per day
nice garden
breakfast just milk,jam,juice,buiscuits,cereals
but there is esspreso machine you can make yourself anytime you want
the room was clean,ok
ask ELIO at what time the room must be empty
becase we came from beach last day and cleaner was packing our luggage
so thats was not fair enough-he knew about our departure in the afternoon
anyway Elio is helpful,gave us bootle of vine and picked up us from the airport 5 € per person
everything was ok just last day...
can recomend this b&b

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010 via mobile

Spent a romantic 5 days in Alghero with my wife at the lovely Solemare.
Location is great, 5 mins to beach, old town, supermarkets, banks etc.. Rooms spacious and clean, comfortable beds.. The host, Elio was extremely helpful in telling us where the best restaurants and beaches were. He also provides a bike hire service of excellent quality bikes, at a better price than anywhere else in town. A very charming puppy named Lillo made our mornings and evenings at Solemare all the more enjoyable. All in all, extremely good value and we will be staying here in all future visits to the wonderful Alghero. C & J. Standish, London UK

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed with my wife in solemare b&b for 4 nights in june. elio (the owner) took us from the airport. he is very nice in each aspect and made us being comfortable. b&b is very clean. The rooms are elegant furnished. breakfast is italian standard. There are bikes in good conditions for hiring. To be honest, we would recommend this b&b to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALGHEROSOLEMARE, Owner at Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Hello!
you are really polite , like almost all my guest! For me it was a pleasure to have you in my accommodation.
I hope to see you again...
Best regards from Alghero and from Solemare,
ELIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero

Address: Via Iglesias 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solemare Accommodation b&b - Apartments Alghero, offers a simple (no frills) service as b&b and Apartments or Studios (These with air-conditioning too) as base for holiday in Alghero. Located 1 minute walking from the main Alghero's beach, the Lido; we are into the city (with all the appropriate services nearby: supermarket, bar, tobacco shop, train station, chemist) with a large garden & a popy dog, . Solemare is favorite from easy young travelers, who know how to adapt to a b&b - Accommodation that is not a hotel and does not promise luxury, but it offers a clean bed in a central position in Alghero (Train Station is 70 mtrs from our entrance), in complete independence and autonomy, with a big garden, closeby the beach ... We offer all our knowledge of Alghero and its secret places ... (breakfast is included ONLY in the rooms. It's not included in the Self-catering Accommodations). If you believe that this will be enough to spend your holiday here, You are welcome! :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.