We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rina Hotel Alghero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rina Hotel Alghero to your Saves list
Rina Hotel Alghero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Baleari, 34, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Donegal
1 review
“Good holiday base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for four which had sea view from balcony. The apartment was cleaned every day and our bed linen changed twice during the week. The pool was very clean and of adequate size.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    89
    60
    28
    6
See reviews for
55
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were able to book a triple room at the last minute and were very happy with our one night overstay here. About a 20 min walk from the old town centre, but it's a nice coastal walk.
Buffet breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Poor/scruffy location. Quite a walk into the old town. We stayed in a studio apartment with a noisy fridge and the worst view from a balcony I have ever seen. Definitely not recommended and not considered by us to be value for money. The only positive was a nice inside/outside bar area. And....expect to be woken up around 7am by bottle deliveries and towel cages being moved around.....not what you want on holiday!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a quiet place, 100 m from the beach. Restaurant staff is very friendly, went over board to answer our needs.
The hotel is not a 4 star property in my opinion. The rooms are big, but with old fashion furniture, no coffee or tea making facilities in the room.
Bar quite expensive.
For the right price, I would stay there again

Room Tip: are no activities for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Studio rooms in the apartment section (the hotel is in two buildings). The Studio rooms are ok for the price. It was their "off season", so we got the rooms for 50 euro per night. The rooms looked like they have been partly re-furbished. There was a new kitchenette and new bathroom, but very old furniture, with saggy beds and flat pillows. The new bathroom was nice with great water pressure in the shower. The shower cubicles are very small though, so would not suit larger people.

The TV was tiny, and although they listed English channels on their room info, I couldn't find any after flicking through all the channels.

There was reverse cycle aircon in the room, but this didn't seem to work on heat, which was a shame since it was a bit cold when we stayed. I had to ask reception for additional blankets.

We also had issues with noise at night time, and if we had been staying any more than 3 nights, we would have had to move somewhere else.

The breakfast buffet was overpriced for what you got. Not a great selection of food, and the hot food that they had was very greasy.

It is also a bit too far out of the town center, which may be ok during the summer season, when more cafes and shops are open, but during the rest of the year it's definitely a taxi ride into town to get a meal or do anything. We did walk it, but it's a 45min walk into town.

Hotel Rina seemed to cater more towards an older crowd, and was very popular with retiree bus tours while we were there.

I can recommend bicycle hire - it's a lovely way to get around the town. You can find the hire places near the marina.

Another quick tip - Italians don't really eat breakfast, so be aware that all you can get in cafes in the morning, is a doughnut and a coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

no worth 4star. bed no comfortable. food from 5 days for diner 5 days fish the same. morning breakfast choise from : jam, 2x chees. jam. and fruit caned !!! small swimming pool. all drinks payable very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weilerbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If it wasn't for the fact that we spent $134 on this hotel/apartment I would have demanded my money back. The apartments are in need of a serious update! The furniture is so old fashion, the apartment is ok in size, but the beds/ pullout beds are uncomfortable and old. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes/pots/pans and the grocery store across the street was convenient. Oh my gosh the noise...you can hear everything-the baby crying next door and above us, the party-goers outside, the motorcycles and cars. I think i can hear a pin/pen drop in the apartment next to us if either was dropped. It's a wonder I got any sleep. The view consists of the street. Like most hotels in Europe there is no bath tub for the children, which wasn't a problem except for the fact the hot water went out the night before because the water heater wasn't on maybe? I don't know but I wasn't happy because check out is at 10am and I had to wake early to get all of use showered grrr...

No fault of the hotel bit we couldn't swim in the pool or beach because it was chilly and they don't have an indoor or heated pool. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel we tried Lido's which was very good! Breakfast was ok but they tried to charge my husband full price for a child, 6 euros, for my 14 month old daughter. Seriously?!? Don't use their cab "shuttle" either 40 euros for a trip that cost 20 euro from any other cab company (very mad about this rip off since we paid 20 euros from the airport to the hotel). It is a little distance from the old town, I guess like a 20 minute walk with a 14 month old and a 3 year old.

The killer is the Internet. For 4 stars you would expect it to be free...it is NOT. You can only get it in the lobby and then it is some ridiculous price like 2 euros for 5 minutes, 5 euros for 10 minutes and then 10 euros for 10 hours, but again you can only use it in the lobby...are you serious?!?

Room Tip: Sleep in the hotel AVOID the apartments. Remember the Internet is nonexistent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rina Hotel Alghero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rina Hotel Alghero

Address: Via delle Baleari, 34, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rina Hotel Alghero 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rina Hotel Alghero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel Alghero Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rina Hotel Alghero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.