We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lido 15, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We recently enjoyed a 4 night stay in this lovely hotel which we booked directly with the hotel via their website. The hotel is just across the road from the beach and was fairly quiet during our stay in mid May and became a bit busier towards the weekend. We chose the hotel because it had a pool, was close to the beach and old town and it had positive comments on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. We opted for a sea view room which was well worth the additional small cost. We had a beautiful view of the sea, old town and sunset from our balcony every evening. We could hear the waves lapping against the shore from our room as if we were on the beach itself.
Continental breakfast was adequate and plentiful - it kept us going through most of the day until the evenings. The coffee was lovely!!!!
The pool area was superb and the pool was cleaned every day. Lots of sunbeds and parasols (though it was quiet during our stay) and no charge. On the beach you can pay 12 Euros for 2 beds and a parasol.
The room was lovely, not huge but perfectly adequate for our stay. A very large comfortable bed (6ft at least) with a very firm matress and extra pillows provided immediately when we requested them. The bathroom was big, lovely shower, and tiled floor throughout the bath and bedroom. Lots of hanging space in the wardrobe.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the lady on reception gave us lots of advice on where to visit etc. The Old Town which is about a 20 minute walk was lovely and not too overly commercialised. There are lots of small shops selling both cheap and expensive coral jewellery and they are all very much the same. We found the restaurants small and intimate and a meal for two with a drink was between 30 (pizza) and 50 (steak/fish) Euros. Alghero Old Town is far less commercialised than the Old Town in Nice. The harbour is huge and we enjoyed sitting at a pavement cafe with a drink or gelato watching the boats.
We took the Alter bus from the Airport to the hotel which cost 1 Euro each and asked the bus driver where to get off. The bus doesn't go past the hotel but was only a 10 min walk from our stop. I think we could possibly have got closer to the hotel via the bus and will investigate that futher if we go again. When we returned to the airport the taxi was 25 Euros so some considerable saving if using the bus. There is a supermarket a <5 minute walk from the hotel which sells most things you might need if you are travelling light and you can rent pool and beach towels from the hotel at 3 Euros.
There is no fridge in the room which is a shame.
We did the Neptune's Grotto tour on our last day. The boat is 15 Euros and it costs 12 Euros to go into the caves once you arrive. Bear in mind if you go out of peak season that they will only take the boat if there is a minumum of 20 people booked on the trip. We walked to the Old Town for the 4pm trip which they didn't run as only 2 people had booked so went back at 10am the next morning. All in all we loved our stay at the Florida in Alghero and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    131
    55
    17
    4
See reviews for
35
165
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Spent two weeks here in May 2011, I chose this hotel because of its location, and it turned out to be a good choice for that. It is a 15 - 20 min walk to the old town, and about the same distance the other way to the best beaches - the Hotel is opposite a beach but its not up to much, its full of seaweed both in and out of the water. The Hotel good points are: its really clean and the pool is well looked after with lots of sunbeds and never a problem getting one. The beds were comfy and the pillows (asked for extra and they sent them straight up). We had clean towels and room service every day and clean sheets every other. You get free air con but only from the 29th May as the official season doesn't start till then. If you like to read an English newspaper don't go in May as they don't have them until June. It is extra for a sea view room but they do get the full sun during the day and can be quite hot, we had a side room with a partial sea view and it stayed cool. The Hotel has a gym but charges 6 Euros a day to use it. Pool towels are available but charged at 3 Euros a day, parking is charged for too. The TV in the room doesn't have one English channel.
I know its a three star Hotel but the food was appalling, we ate in two nights and had to eat out the third day, the food was bland tasteless and freezing cold, (not just on the cool side like most Italian food) my soup had skin on it was so cold. To start its salad from the help yourself buffet, and dinner was between 8pm and 9.30 pm but you have to get there at 8pm to get any salad as it was not refilled when plates were emptied, and a lot of people were using the salad to fill up on. We were given a fish or meat for main course with one veg, so I had a pork chop that looked like cat food inside with carrots and that's it - the night after it was pork medallions with fennel which I don't like so I would have just been having medallions.
Lots of people were complaining and sending things back, most of the food is prepared well in advance, I had a chicken leg that looked like it was cooked two weeks ago. in the end most of us just went out to eat, which makes your holiday so much more expensive but necessary when you are hungry. The restaurant Manager noticed we were not eating in and asked us why, we told him - and he persuaded us to try again and said that the plates were being warmed and the chef was a good chef, so we gave it another go but it was no better. The breakfast is ok with the usual choices including bacon scrambled egg and frankfurters every day but again these were often cold by 8.30 as they had been cooked at 7.30 and left out. They also do lunch food for the pool users and again they are just limited microwave snacks at expensive prices. If your not too fussed about the grub you get this Hotel is a good choice for Alghero but as its a bit part of our holiday it was a real let down. So would not go back again. We went with Thomson and had no choice but to have evening meal, but if your self booking do bed & breakfast and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights recently. We found the hotel to be a) very clean b) in a great location and c) with very friendly staff. We went for the B&B option which was very good value for money. We would recommend going for the Sea View Rooms as the views are great, expecially at sunset.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

every whim catered for in this funky little hotel overlooking the sea -- try love bombing the
waiting staff and they will thaw nicely - frosty first impression soon fades !!
Alghero is pure magic - a walled town right on the sea with a beautiful harbour.
The town is hundreds of years old with Italian / Moorish atmosphere but families live in
every house so us tourists are mingling with the children / grannys / dogs and characters
of a real town -- it's not a museum rather it's a vibrant living small city right on the sea !!
Fabulous fresh sea-food and italian nosh / nice local wines , slurp slurp.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The staff at the Florida really could not have been friendlier. The kitchen and dining room had recently been upgraded, and unlike previous reviews have said, the breakfast fare is more than acceptable, with a selection of hot and cold foods, a toasting machine and juices/hot drinks cakes etc. We stayed B&B, but others said the evening meals were good and the wine list was very reasonable.
The rooms were quite large (although the safe is small with only enough room for money, documents etc) and kept spotless by the house keeping team. It is probably worth the extra to get a sea view room. The pool area was was always immaculate and sunbeds could always be found.
The beach opposite the hotel was OK rather than good (there are definitely better beaches elsewhere), and it is packed with locals on the weekends.
The walk into the town centre is a pleasant stroll. Although the food in all the restaurants we visited was generally of quite a high standard, be warned eating out in Sardinia is expensive almost everywhere.
Sardinia itself has an ideal climate, hot but airy, and seems to attract a less rowdy crowd than many of the Mediterranean destinations, which in itself is a blessing.
Would I recommend this hotel to friends, definitely. Would I go back, certainly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

As long as you realise Itailian Hotels are quite old fashioned you will not be dissapointed in this hotel. It is clean and the staff are very helpful the food is not bad the breakfasts very good .The evening meal is a little a bit repetative but not bad and waiter served which is a plus, drinks quite expensive but it is anywhere you go in Alghero. The pool is great and warm the beach is just across the road but a better beach 20 minutes up the road behind the pine trees. The location is fantastic just 10 minutes into Alghero which is lovely a old fortress town very pretty. Back to Hotel the thing we missed most was not having a fridge and the room was quite basic when you compare the price you pay in other parts of europe. All in all tho it was a great holiday and the weather was superb the sea wonderful just a trifle expensive loved Sardina

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We can only endorse much that has been said by others who have stayed at the Florida. Our sea view room was hardly spacious but quite adequate, as was the bathroom. Throughout our two weeks we were consistently impressed by the cleanliness, not just of our accommodation but also of the hotel in general and the pool area (the floor hoovered by underwater robot every morning). Sunbeds and umbrellas round the pleasant pool were never close to being over busy. Overall, the staff were invariably friendly and welcoming.

There were minor disappointments: thin room walls, no fridge, no English channels on the room TV in spite of its availability elsewhere in the hotel. Menus were acceptable if unexciting: to the hotel's credit they did not simply repeat in the second week. Dinner from eight to nine p.m. was a bit of a problem: with no entertainment on offer the options were a drink and a book in the bar area or early to bed.

Nevertheless, this is a three star hotel and expectations should be geared accordingly. Our deal through Thompsons (whose organisation could not be faulted) was very favourable, so on several enjoyable occasions we varied our half board opportunities by taking the fifteen-minute stroll into the old town to dine; do not miss Angredas (see our separate review).

For a quiet, relaxing holiday in the sun, the Florida is good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Via Lido 15, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.