We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dei Pini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dei Pini Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dei Pini Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Le Bombarde, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 hotels in Alghero
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for families with small children. Hotel is situated just a few metres from the Sea with the beatiful beach and swimming pool. The photos of the hotel are realistic. The food at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and fresh every day.The rooms were very clean. The atmosphere at all was very relaxing. The people who work there were extremally helpful. We will definetly come back to his hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    151
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
110
157
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel has a quiet location, directly on a private beach. Rooms on sea side have a balcony with breathtaking view of Alghero Bay and the beach. It was beautiful to sit on the terrase with a glass of wine in the evening and watch the sea.

Room Tip: sea side in higher floors with beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to stay at Dei Pini after a lot of research, as it seemed like good quality at a reasonable price from looking at the reviews, we wanted somewhere outside the town centre so that we could relax away from the hustle & bustle but still get into town if we wanted to. We knew we would need a hire car anyway, and it's a must if you want to explore the local area. The hotel was a good base, but, I think due to the season it was very quiet, although this did mean we got upgraded to a sea view room, which was lovely as you could hear the waves to send you to sleep and wake you up. The rooms were clean and tidy and all you really needed, the breakfast was standard continental buffet but plenty to keep us going for most of the day. We didn't spend much time on the hotel's beach as we wanted to see as much as we could away from the hotel, ditto the pool, but as I said, if you don't have a hire car you'd struggle to get away from the hotel as the public transport seems to be basically non-existent and the hotel is about a 20min drive from Alghero centre. But I can't fault the hotel or staff, and the I'd definitely go back to Alghero, or Sardinia in general.

Room Tip: go for the sea view if you can, it really made our stay that bit more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked to stay here after searching for ages. Tried to book directly with the hotel and reservation agents were poor at best. Gave me prices for a 7 day stay which was 220 euro more than on their website. Booked in Aug for Oct and 6 days before flying I got an email to say they were booking me out. I didnt want to be booked out and they just said they had too because of an event. I insisted and then they changed their story that they were closing. Well why take booking if you are closing, I had a hotel confirmation for my booking and it was all pre paid. Very very dissappointed and annoyed. They offered no compensation at all, when I asked them they just said you have to go there - have they heard of hospitality. Never again will I book with them.

Room Tip: book some place else as they will only book you out at the last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Dei Pini Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest, we really regret that you could not stay at our hotel and therefore that you are not able to value our services. When you took contact with us to book your room, you were advised that our hotel could anticipate the end of the season and that, in this case, you could be relocated in an other hotel with same facilities as our. And so happened.
We never charged your credit card and there were no price difference between the price communicated on the phone and the price on our booking engine. The only difference you probably mean, was the sea view supplement, that we gave you free of charge and that also the other hotel which welcomed you, guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great hotel! Great staff! Great Beach (although - after a windy period it could do with a more thorough and speedier cleaning up) Great food. And not to forget: The most magnificent property directly on the Seashore with great view to Alghero.New this year: A wonderful and well maintained outdoor pool. Will definetely come again.

Room Tip: My secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Dei Pini Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Mr Stord,

Thanks a lot for the time you dedicated to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from the whole staff Hotel dei Pini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

End of September 2012. Fantastic hotel, incredible location. The new pool terrace overlooking the bay, was a particular highlight! Fantastic view from the breakfast room/restaurant and main bar terrace too. Beware that you will need a car though, as the best restaurants are in the old town, which is €23 each way in a taxi. Apart from that, it's great. We just used tripadvisor for restaurant reviews, didn't disappoint!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Dei Pini Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Danny and Stace,

Thanks a lot for the time you dedicated to review our hotel. We really hope to welcoming you soon again.

THANks again and kind regards from the whole staff dei Pini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here from 23rd to 30th September. We arrived early (10:30) but were still given an introduction, a chance to get "freshened up" and somewhere to put our luggage. We then went down to the beach for a few hours until our rooms were ready (15:00).

The beach is lovely. Accessible by some steps (no disabled access) but easy to get to. Every room has two sun loungers and a parasol which are numbered, so there's no need to rush to the beach to reserve a spot. The only change to this is when it gets windy and the sea gets rough. As the sea come in further, they remove some of the front loungers. When the wind picks up, they put a red flag up to state no swimming, but it gets rough so that's a good idea! The rough seas can bring seaweed up onto the beach, and it takes a day or two for it to get clean again.

The bed is very hard, and they are just two singles pushed together (although this becoming more and more popular in hotels I've found). The aircon does have much range of temperature, but it's more than enough. The bed linen it quite "rough" and there's not much of it! There's no tea/coffee making facilities, no iron and the shower is very small. But it's nice enough and cleaned daily.

You seat yourself for breakfast, so don't wait around for someone to come and sit you down. Breakfast is served between 08:00 and 10:00. Breakfast comprises of cereals, cakes, croissants, scrambled egg, bacon, bread, fresh fruit, yoghurts, hams, cheeses, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, etc, so there's plenty to fill your stomach on! Tea and coffee is self service, which I wouldn't expect from a 4-star hotel, but it's not the end of the world, and the machine is easy to use (and very nice).

There is somewhere to get lunch on site each day (between 12:00 and 14:00) which is nice enough. They do a standard menu of salads and then change their hot food menu every day. Sit yourself down and they bring over some bread rolls, traditional Sardinian flat bread and some bread sticks. Food is brought to you quick enough, but not so quick that it is pre-prepared. The Parma ham and melon is nice :)

Dinner is quite a short sitting (between 19:30 and 21:00). You should reserve a table if you're not half board, as it can get busy with the half board guests. Just book it at reception during the day. Before you sit down, grab a basket of bread, as this is self-service. Also try and sneak some olive oil and white wine vinegar, as this goes lovely on the bread rolls :) Their dinner setup is a bit alien to me, but we went along with it anyway. To have their full dinner menu (starter, first course, main course and dessert) is going to set you back about 60 Euros! The starter, which is essentially a buffet of sea food, pastas, meats, etc is 22 Euros! A bit steep in my eyes, so I'd have just a first and a main if I was feeling hungry. A first course (normally pasta) is anything from 8 to 12 Euros. The main course (normally a meat or fish) is anything from 10 to 15 Euros. It comes with veg, so you don't need to order the extra veg which is at the bottom of the menu. The menu isn't very clear about what options there are for dessert, so just ask. It's normally fresh fruit, gelato, fruit with gelato or a cake. As for drinks, even the "cheap" bottles of white wine (16 Euros) are nice. Two of them are fizzy (frizzante) so check if you don't want a fizzy wine.

Off of food for a second!!! The swimming pool is accessible by going out the front and up he steps to the left. Which seems a bit of an awkward way to get there. Outside of lunch hours you can walk through the outside bit of the restaurant to get there. But this is close between 12:00 and 15:00. The pool is open from 10:30 - 13:00 and then 15:00 - 18:30. You can still sunbathe outside of these hours. Although the pool is shut, you can lie by the side. Most people go for lunch during the two hour closed period though. The pool is cold! It's not heated, and the sun doesn't do a good job of warming it up! Just jump (subtly) straight in and that's the easiest way to get used to the temperature. It's lovely and clean. It says not drinks on the safety sign, but I think plastic bottles are ok as long as you use the bins provided.

Now onto the area itself. The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport, but the taxi companies charge about 25 Euros to get to the hotel from the airport (each way)! It's cheaper to get a taxi from the airport (although you may have to wait 5-10 minutes) as to pre-book one was going to cost £40 (50 Euros) each way! The hotel is not close to any amenities. It's a taxi journey, drive or long walk to Alghero! A taxi cost us another 25 Euros each way. In hindsight, I would probably have hired a car. There was plenty of free parking on the beach on the lead up to Aghero, and then a 20-30 minute walk along the beach into town would have been bearable. Algghero itself is very small. It's a maze of little streets which can only be identified by the road names! So take a map. We got on a tour bus (as we do on most holidays) which leaves from by the harbour. It costs 18 Euros, lasts two hours, and travels right up to Neptunes Grotto. It stops along the way so you can get on/off as you please. The sights are great, so take a camera. There's plenty of restaurants in Alghero, so you won't struggle to find something to eat, although a lot of the shops/restaurants close between 13:00 and 16:00! You can get a taxi from a taxi rank next to the tourist information centre which is about 100m (if that) up the hill from the harbour.

We only left the hote twice, once to go to Alghero, and once to go on a wine/olive evening at a local vineyard. It... was... brilliant! You can find it on Trip Advisor under Azienda Agricola Leda' d'Ittiri. Book in advance, as they run English and Italian speaking tours during the week. It costs 20 Euros per person, and comprises of a talk about the history of the vineyard and local area, a tour and talk of the vineyard and the olive groves, some tasting of wine, cheese, bread, olives, olive oil and sausage. It's great value! It runs between 17:30 to 19:30, although if you're getting a taxi back, get it to pick you up at 20:00 as it can overrun. You also get the opportunity to buy some oil or wine, so take some cash as it's lovely! A taxi from the hotel cost us 30 Euros each way, which is a bit steep, as it's about 10-15 minutes away.

I think I've waffled on enough now, so I'm going to do a little summary, and then some positives and negatives of the hotel.

SUMMARY - Sardinia was lovely. The scenery is great, the weather was lovely, and the food was great. The hotel definitely gets its 4-starts on the location front, rather than service. In hindsight I would have hired a car, as we would have seen more of the island that way. The hotel is "basic". There are things that I have seen in other hotels that I would have expected in this hotel (covered below). I would stay here again, but only on the basis that we hired a car or stayed half board.

POSITIVES - The location is amazing. So peaceful and views are lovely. The beach is well kept, although after a storm/windy period, it gets rough and the beach gets covered in debris/seaweed. The pool is very well kept, although it could do with being heated! Breakfast has a good selection. I'm not a fan of continental breakfasts, but there was enough choice to keep me happy.

NEGATIVES - The rooms are simple. There is no iron, no tea/coffee making facilities, and the shower is tiny! It has a minibar, but it's not very cold. There's no vegetarian options (or very few, boring ones) on the dinner menu. It's very much meat or fish, and not much else. The starter buffer is ridiculously priced at 22 Euros. That's more than the most expensive main course! I think if they dropped the price more people would pay for it, but we definitely didn't. If you're going half board, then don't let this put you off.

~~~ THE END ~~~

Room Tip: Forest facing rooms look over the car park as well. Not a problem, but not very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Dei Pini Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Andrew,
We never read such a detailed review on our hotel and thank you very very much for the time you spended to write it. We will keep in mind your considerations.
We are sorry for the things you did not like and apologise for the misunderstanding about the dinner price since the whole daily menu costs Euro 30,00 - 35,00 and not Euro 60,00 as you understood.
We really hope to welcoming you soon again.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dei Pini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dei Pini Hotel

Address: Localita Le Bombarde, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#8 Family Hotel in Alghero
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dei Pini Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dei Pini rises in a reserved area in the north west of sardinia and is set between a private beach of fine white sand and a 30,000 square metre wood. Our hospitality is available in 94 rooms (double, triple and quadruple), 1 junior suite and 4 suite.. Lunch and dinner are served in our panoramic restaurant and breakfast buffet is served in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dei Pini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Pini Alghero
Hotel Dei Pini Sardinia
Dei Pini Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dei Pini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.