We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carlos V Hotel to your Saves list
Carlos V Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungomare Valencia, 24, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Pesaro, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is quite one of a kind among the recent restored hotel.
What is really impressive is the quality of the interior furnishing and decorations, specially in the superior rooms.
We had natural marble everywhere in the bathroom, we had solid and well done furnitures, and a comfortable bed.
Very well insulated room (good double glazing unit), a sufficiently furnished minibar, tea/coffe machine, tv, and everything was in good order.
The hall is very nice, and there is also a small interesting library, and newspapers.
The hotel was renovated recently and we were amazed by the quality of the renovation, which I guess was very expensive.
Coming to the service, we can only judge the breakfast, as we had there no lunch or dinner: wide choice, good presentation, prompt waiters.
Definitely we were happy about it, and we would recommend it.
The only point, the internet connection is not free, and in spite the price requested was a small one, I would expect in such hotel to have it included in the rate.

Room Tip: I suggest the superior rooms, in spite they have no direct view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    248
    79
    28
    7
See reviews for
89
363
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was due to travel to Alghero in July but had to cancel The hotel management were very kind to accommodate me for a weekend in october and for that I am very grateful.
This must be a wonderful hotel during the summer but while we were there the weather was bad and the hotel is not geared for that. The restaurant offered a full dinner only so we couldn't have a snack all during the day , the bar is on the terrace so no cosy drink area. The prices were prohibitive so really we were forced into town despite the storm and torrential rain.
Our room was beautiful and could not be faulted. Breakfast was good ,staff polite and friendly and happy to look after us.
We enjoyed our stay and did not let the weather hinder us. Alghero is lovely and we had great meals at reasonable prices.
I would love to return to Carlos V in the Summer and perhaps someday I will.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit In Lux
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Reception area and ground floor were transported from a 3 star tourist hotel. Everything above was a good 4 star, the spacious rooms / beds/ furniushings and bathrooms/ dining rooms was excellent. However no tea/coffee making in room. A nice place to be based for a few days whilst exploring the surrounding area and local town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here on business and fortunately had an excellent company rate for the rooms, as this five-star hotel definitely has five-star prices. But this hotel is high quality - rooms were spacious, nice large bed, clean and modern fittings and bathroom. Unfortunately there was an additional charge for tea/coffee in the room and no wi-fi provided. The hotel has lots of facilities and a large swimming pool, although I didn't get to try these. The hotel is just a 10 minute stroll to the centre of Alghero, so well positioned and it has nice views out to sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would recommend this hotel, if the price is right.

The staff speak fluent English. The breakfast and buffet dinner were great. The hotel is located right on the water and is about a 10-minute walk from the city center. The room was well furnished. (A suggestion to the hotel management: consider placing the plethora of drink and snack options in a minibar out of sight; fee-based Internet access with a complicated setup
should be eliminated.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Walking into the Carlos V hotel, you will be greeted with a reception designed in the 80's - which is very strange for a hotel re-opened in 2007....

The hotel staff are generally pretty good, and were relatively accommodating to our early arrival, getting us into our room a couple of hours before schedule. The "maitre de" was a smug sort of chap. I'm not sure why, or what he thought it would achieve, but he practically laughed when we ordered three courses each... excuse me for paying your wage son. The barman on the other hand was delightfully helpful. Finally, the receptionist was useless when our pay-per-view film didn't work, simply forgetting about our plight when her shift changed. The maintenance man was friendly, but utterly clueless, and we still have no idea what happens to poor Ben Stiller in Tower Heist.

Attempts to download the same on iTunes proved fruitless - there is no Internet in the rooms. Well, unless you count a Cat-5 cable as internet - which of course will not work with an iPhone, iPad, iMac or anything else with an "i" in it. "The internet doesn't work so well in the rooms", so we are told.

The food is tasty, but comes at a price. Avoid the gnocchi and the raw prawns - both are undercooked (which you might expect I suppose for the prawns), and neither taste that great. Other items were delicious, and all can be washed away (with your sorrows) with reasonably priced local Brut Torbatto.

Mattress's optional. The floor may be a more comfortable option. Drinking heavily is better still. If chosen, they will of course come as a pair of singles. No bath. The shower is spacious - but no bath. Really? REALLY? Fine for a two star - I'd expect more from a five star hotel....

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space - at peak times you may struggle to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Carlos V in Alghero is a beautiful five star resort overlooking the ocean, located less than 1/2 km. away from the city center. It's right across the street from the beautiful "Villa Las Tronas". They have everything that you expect from a five star resort. Their friendly staff makes everything easy for the guests. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Their beautiful, modern marble bathrooms have jetted tubs, along with seperate showers equipped with rain showers. My husband and I had to agree that they had the best cappucino we've ever had! Their breakfast offered a wide variety of organic honey, and organic preserves. The omelette station was one of our favorites!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
0.2 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
4.2 mi away
Dei Pini Hotel
Dei Pini Hotel
#14 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Corte Rosada
Hotel Corte Rosada
#13 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Address: Via Lungomare Valencia, 24, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos V Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.