We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent hotel at a reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angedras

Save Saved
You added Hotel Angedras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Angedras
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Frank 2, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Alghero
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Descent hotel at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If ‘Descent hotel at reasonable price’ may sound less favourable than I intend. So I should say immediately that I would go to Hotel Andregas again where I to go to Alghero. The price was ok, (partly because it was slipping out of season), the rooms and facilities were generally adequate and clean. So I would go again because it was a ‘Descent hotel at reasonable price’ that I know rather than risk finding a new one. Could it be better: easily. The bathroom had three minor maintenance problems, all of which must have been known to the previous occupants and the cleaner, and so possibly reported. Bicycles were, to their credit, offered for hire by the hotel (very useful for either whizzing round Alghero to get your bearings, or to visit attractions, or for me more importantly to quickly get out into the so different surrounding areas). These lacked basic maintenance e.g. rusty chains, but you could equally drop lucky and get a good one. Breakfast is offered, again to their credit, over a long time (say 7.30- 10.0, I forget exactly) but in a room which is too small if residents come down at a peak time: avoid 9 o’clock. The staff in the breakfast room are less than cheery in their response to the problem, so tables and food run out. Pity because the breakfast is good. Reception staff put functionality ahead of conviviality, though with one exception who was enthusiastic, helpful and smiley. ‘Service with a smile’ is not the norm, though this seemed to be the case in many places in Alghero. So does Hotel Angedras have the attention to detail and customer satisfaction mentality you would hope for: no; so how can I say 'very good' as a rating. But at the end of the day, Alghero and the hotel are ok by me. I’ll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have balconies, I suspect that none are truly awful views, but non are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Angedras, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Angedras, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mr David,

thanks for your opinion, it is very important for us to know what is not good for the guests in our hotel.
Really your room had three small problems and when you left the hotel, the first thing that we did, was the maintenance. Generally when there are some problems in the rooms the waiter always inform us but it is possible that something could be forgot, anyway we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Generally we rent out bikes but you booked in our web site the offer “Autumn in Alghero” and with the cycle path along the coast, the trip is more pleasant
.
It is important that all guest when arrive in our hotel have all information about the city and the hotel’s rules, we are happy to answer at all questions and we do always with smile.

We welcome your opinion with pleasure and we will try to improve our faults. You writhed that you will return in our hotel and we are happy to have you again as our guest.
We remain with best regards
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    269
    46
    14
    2
See reviews for
66
323
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friends and I had a lovely stay at the hotel for a short break. Rooms were extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and had great showers. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Would recommend this hotel for anyone taking a break in Alghero. It is only about a 10 minute easy walk into the town or a couple of minutes longer if you walk along by the sea.

Room Tip: All rooms, I believe, have balconies and the hotel is in a very quiet area so I think any room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and wished it had been longer! The hotel lived up to all the positive reports which we had read. Our room was spacious, quiet and spotlessly clean, as was the large bathroom.
The staff were so charming and helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We were lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy breakfasts out on the balcony overlooking the hotel's courtyard.
We booked the option of bikes and were delighted to find dedicated cycle lanes which enabled us to visit the old town as well as nearby beaches without fighting the traffic. A real bonus!
We walked to the old town each evening, where there is an excellent choice of bars and restaurants, as well as quaint cobbestoned streets and beautful old buildings. We had an excellent meal one night in the hotel's restaurant Macchiavello which is situated right on the ramparts overlooking the sea.
We will dfinitely be returning to this beautful island and to the Angredas!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We choose this hotel because it seemed to offer good quality for a fair price. It did exactly that. We were three adults in one room and whilst the room was not huge, we did have more than enough space.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was as you would expect in a medium price Italian hotel but always fresh and well stocked.

We hired the hotel bicycles for a very reasonable price one day, another day the hotel organised car hire for us. We were collected from the hotel and returned to it all included in the very reasonable price.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the old town, so it may not suit someone who cannot walk and does not have transport. Having said that it is a very pleasant walk along the seafront most of the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good value - good location, nice breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms, well serviced. Very friendly and helpful staff and located in a quiet and safe neighborhood. Also, as other people mentioned, the hotel has a 10% discount arrangement with the Macchiavello restaurant which is well worth a visit and a short walk away. On arrival at Alghero airport get the municipal bus to the last stop in Alghero and then walk straight up Via Sassari or Via Kennedy. It is uphill so be prepared and takes about 15/20 minutes to arrive at the hotel. Bus tickets can be purchased from the machine in the arrivals hall for ONE euro or you can pay on the bus for ONE Euro 50 cent - no big deal or fuss. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Angedras in nicely placed on the south side of Alghero with access to the old city centre.
The hotel staff are very kind and professional it has a 24 hour repception and a late bar for the last drink before bed , Breakfast is from 7-30 to 10-00 . It has a limited private car parking but you can use the surrounding streets. Alghero is a lovely place it has own airport ,beaches and in the old city the narrow streets are full of shops and wine bars and the Hotel Angedras is the perect place to stay.

Room Tip: use Tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were in the hotel for three nights during early october and the staff were really lovely.
When we were told we would be having a 'continental breakfast' we expected the usual toast and crossaints but this was mozarella, tomatoes, ham, cakes, bread, coffee and much more..

The rooms are nice and clean albeit a bit basic and free wireless means you are always connected..

Would definately reccomend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Angedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angedras

Address: Via Frank 2, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alghero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#6 Family Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angedras 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in Alghero (Sardinia) open all year around within walking distance of the historical centre. Shuttle to the beach, restaurant, parking and internet Wi-Fi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Angedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angedras Hotel Alghero
Hotel Angedras Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angedras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.