We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I wish I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I LOVED my stay here, and often think back to it. I can't wait to go back. The ocean view from the room was stunning... as was everything else. The staff was so gracious, too. I was there in October, so it wasn't crowded. Having the Roman-style indoor pool to myself was one of the highlights of my trip to Sardinia. Laying out overlooking the sea & admiring the classic furniture & architecture were also wonderful. I even loved their complimentary gummy candy - try the grapefruit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    66
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
197
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband brought me here for a long weekend and I wished it had been for a month. Delightful old building almost surrounded by sea. This of course made for stunning views from the room and most areas of the hotel. The room was not the largest but was comfortable with a modern bathroom and quality soft towels. The staff are friendly and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. My request for different pillows had been corrected by the afternoon and they also turned down the bed. Good food, views and relaxing surroundings it's all here. Enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

After 3 weeks of traveling throughout Italy, a friend and I stayed at Villa Las Tronas as a two day treat to end our trip. Best decision we could have ever made!

They were super welcoming, accommodating us as we arrived in the early morning due to an early flight. A welcoming cappuccino & croissant were a fantastic treat!

We had a simple double room facing their front lawn & loves the big bathroom with tub, and large bed! The staff are always willing to bend over backwards to help you out and the spa services are wonderful. Nothing better than having an entire pool to yourselves!

And as it's been said before, the location is beyond amazing. It's stunning and still so close to town you can walk along the gorgeous sidewalk into town. On a side bye, make sure to go to Il Pavone restaurant for AMAZING seafood!

A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stay at Villa Las Tronas a couple of times a year, typically June and September. The hotel is traditional in its decor but feels aristocratic rather than dated. The staff are attentive but in an understated manner so you don't feel harassed. We have stayed in a variety of the rooms, including the suites. I think the suite offers the additional benefit of sunbathing on your own terrace which is a delight. However, if the weather is settled, which is 99.9% of the time it is then sunbathing options are by the luxurious outdoor pool, with spectacular views over the sea and the coastline, or on the man made jetty near the sea. The latter is our preference as you get a little more breeze from the sea and can enjoy endless dips in and out of the sea. The sea is so warm in September but still a delicious refreshment from the sun. My partner is vegetarian so dining in Italy can at times be slightly limited, however there are many thoroughly decent pizzeria's close by in the town. If, like me, you enjoy fresh fish then you will be spoilt at many of the restaurants. Simply cooked but the flavours speak for themselves, fussy recipes / sauces are not necessary. I am sure there are many things to do in Alghero however we just enjoy, typically 5 night stays, of complete relaxation and indulgence of sunshine, wonderful breakfasts in the hotel, prosecco on the terrace in the late afternoon before heading out for supper in the town, a short but always pleasant walk away. The ONLY thing I could suggest to improve this hotel is the by pool / by sea waiter service offering drinks - maybe every few hours? Rather than having to trek up to the bar to get drinks outside. This would make this hotel, in my opinion, the best we use and will continue to use for years to come. Highly recommend. It's not cheap but with only a few rooms its always special and select so you don't feel huddled or crowded even when the hotel is to capacity.

Room Tip: If, like us, you spend very little time in your hotel room then rooms garden facing are fine however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Villa Las Tronas is a wonderful place to spend some of your life in! It is ideally situated, on a promontory facing the sea. The building is classic, and the staff always helpful and courteous, nothing was too much trouble! My room was cleaned twice a day! Given that the hotel is 5*, it is anything but stuffy, in fact, I couldn't have felt more relaxed. If you can, select a sea facing room, with balcony/terrace.

The hotel is surrounded by a delightful private garden, and there are spa facilities for those who wish to use them.

The breakfast buffet was typically luxury Italian with a combination of fresh fruit and juices and an extensive selection of pastries, bread and cheeses. I dined in the dining room on four evenings, and found the menu both varied, and good value in fact, I was pleasantly surprised by the prices, not being too high. The food was excellent, and well presented, and the wine list extensive.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Alghero area.

Room Tip: As above, get a sea facing room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked a 4 night stay in mid-October, upon our late arrival the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful and the hotel atmosphere was excellent. Our room although didn’t immediately scream 5*, it was fairly suitable, comfortable and had the adequate space needed for luggage storage and resting as we were out most of the time. The breakfast lacked hot food with only bacon and scrambled eggs, but with the large selection of cakes I couldn’t complain. The location of the hotel was excellent only about 20mins from airport and flaunted breath-taking views overlooking of the sea and the grounds were very beautiful. The spa facilities contain an indoor heated pool, gym, sauna, steam room as well as an outdoor pool.
Couldn’t fault the hospitality and level of service.
For dinner try the steak house restaurant which is a short walk away from the hotel, serving great spaghetti dishes and pizza’s – the staff are extremely friendly and serve great wine :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The old "monument" is in 1km distance from Alghero citycentre surrounded a small park and directly in front of the mediterrianean sea. We had a lovely small room with perfect seaview, tidy and with cozy furniture. Also the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately there were only italian TV programms. We had a very warm welcome with a bottle of cold sparkling wine as a salutation gift. Breakfast was very varied inside or outside the building. parking was enclosed off street. The service very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.