We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Villa Las Tronas is a wonderful place to spend some of your life in! It is ideally situated, on a promontory facing the sea. The building is classic, and the staff always helpful and courteous, nothing was too much trouble! My room was cleaned twice a day! Given that the hotel is 5*, it is anything but stuffy, in fact, I couldn't have felt more relaxed. If you can, select a sea facing room, with balcony/terrace.

The hotel is surrounded by a delightful private garden, and there are spa facilities for those who wish to use them.

The breakfast buffet was typically luxury Italian with a combination of fresh fruit and juices and an extensive selection of pastries, bread and cheeses. I dined in the dining room on four evenings, and found the menu both varied, and good value in fact, I was pleasantly surprised by the prices, not being too high. The food was excellent, and well presented, and the wine list extensive.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Alghero area.

Room Tip: As above, get a sea facing room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    66
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
198
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked a 4 night stay in mid-October, upon our late arrival the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful and the hotel atmosphere was excellent. Our room although didn’t immediately scream 5*, it was fairly suitable, comfortable and had the adequate space needed for luggage storage and resting as we were out most of the time. The breakfast lacked hot food with only bacon and scrambled eggs, but with the large selection of cakes I couldn’t complain. The location of the hotel was excellent only about 20mins from airport and flaunted breath-taking views overlooking of the sea and the grounds were very beautiful. The spa facilities contain an indoor heated pool, gym, sauna, steam room as well as an outdoor pool.
Couldn’t fault the hospitality and level of service.
For dinner try the steak house restaurant which is a short walk away from the hotel, serving great spaghetti dishes and pizza’s – the staff are extremely friendly and serve great wine :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The old "monument" is in 1km distance from Alghero citycentre surrounded a small park and directly in front of the mediterrianean sea. We had a lovely small room with perfect seaview, tidy and with cozy furniture. Also the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately there were only italian TV programms. We had a very warm welcome with a bottle of cold sparkling wine as a salutation gift. Breakfast was very varied inside or outside the building. parking was enclosed off street. The service very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a bright and breezy week here at the end of August and received a warm and helpful welcome in beautiful, relaxing surroundings. Whilst the rooms (we sampled two) are not large, they are comfortable, have high ceilings and benefit from stunning views on all sides. The spacious and gracious outdoor space more than compensates and really – where would you rather be: indoors or outside in this wonderful location? The big plus for us was the freely available hotel bikes. Not in the best condition at the end of the season, but the staff could not have been more helpful with adjustments, tyre inflation and so on. The coastal routes to the north and south are beautiful, do-able, and the roads are not too busy. Alghero is full of character and interest, and I highly recommend the Villa las Tronas if you are looking for a proper, old school sea-sidey hotel with lots of charm.

Room Tip: You can't lose, really, unless you want a terrace (but the grounds are so spacious this is reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at las tronas completely frazzled after our wedding and left - after just one night - feeling refreshed and revitalised. The weather wasn't great but that didn't matter as we spent our time in the spa and on a leisurely bike ride through town on the hotel's free bikes. We had one of the less expensive room categories but everything was first class and we had a lovely shore view of Alghero. Our only one suggestion for improvement would be a warmer attitude from the lady receptionist who was efficient but frosty, acting like a 5* customer rather than a 5* hotelier. Otherwise couldn't recommend this hotel more. On or off season it has the facilities for a real treat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here 21-28 September 2012 after 'inspecting' when in Alghero earlier this year. This hotel is located in gated private grounds and can give the impression of being rather 'aloof'. In reality, the atmosphere is exceptionally relaxed and not at all stuffy.

We had a corner room on the 1st floor with views of the coast and gardens. The room was sufficiently large to accomodate a king bed, large very comfortable sofa, small dining area and other necessary furniture. In summary, most aspects of the accomodation were very satisfactory with perhaps two minor issues of no balcony and quite poor bedside lighting. However this did not in any way reduce the overall experience and comfort.

We did not use the spa as the weather was relatively good but made good use of the seawater pool and sun loungers overlooking the sea. The gardens are absolutely superb with a number of seating options for viewing the sunset overlooking the sea and Capo Caccia. The car parking was on occasions a little tight (the hotel appeared to be full throughout our stay) but perfectly manageable.

The real jewel of this establishment is the service. The staff were always helpful, courteous and unobtrusive. The room benefitted from two full services each day. The breakfast buffet was typically luxury Italian with a combination of preserved and fresh fruits and juices and a wonderful array of pastries, bread and cheeses. A limited cooked breakfast was included in the buffet but the option of kitchen orders was also available. A small point is that there is no menu and I do not recall being advised to order from the kitchen; we just did and got what we wanted! We did not use the dining room for dinner as Alghero is full of outstanding restaurants in the vibrant old town but did have lunch on the terrace and drinks on occasions which were very good value.

Other reviewers have remarked that prices were high but we cannot support this view. We booked directly with the hotel and pre-paid a few weeks in advance for 7 nights and received a 15% discount on departure. Overall the price we paid was very favourable for a hotel of this quality.

There was absolutely nothing about this hotel we did not like and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in late August. Staff were very professional, helpful and pleasant. Hotel was grossly over-priced and in need of major investment. Our seaview bedroom was small, the bed was very high and brick-hard and two armchairs would have been preferable to the hard chairs provided. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant twice and breakfast was also very good. The pool area was very enjoyable. The hotel is an imposing building but paint was peeling off the dilapidated shutters. It is within a secure gated location but only a leisurely 15 minute walk into the old town area of Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.