We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abba De Mar

Abba De Mar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abba De Mar to your Saves list
Abba De Mar
Via Lo Frasso 35 | Ang. Piazza N.S. Mercede, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 220 Alghero B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Room great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Abba de Mar is in a fantastic location, easy walk to everything. The room is spacious and has all you will need whils staying in Alghero including Air con that works and a good bathroom. The rooms are well lit by natural light and all rroms have shutters so it blocks out light and any noise for a very good nights sleep. The breakfast is self serve but the amount of food and variety thet leave is very good and unless you are fastidious for a cooked breakfast this would more than suffice.
We found the owners who speak very little english enthusiastic to show you how everything works and where the best restaurants are, I did not follw them for one meal, to my peril, They helped us up the stairs with our luggage, you could not ask for more. Parking is in the street but after 3 before 5 there is plenty of all day free parking to be found, we moved our car to the front of the building after 9pm, the street was half empty.

Room Tip: only two rooms, both would be exactly the same. Both of us are over 60, no trouble second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On arrival owner Mario and his wife met us outside the apartment and had saved us a parking spot outside the front door for unloading our luggage - nice touch. They were very friendly and helpful but spoke hardly any English so had to communicate through sign language and google translation on his laptop. The fridge had been filled with water, ham, cheese, yogurts, fruit, wine etc.and these were all replenished every 3 days during cleaning. Bedding was changed once during our weeks stay. Plastic cutlery, cups and plates were left in a cupboard for our use also cakes, biscuits, jam, croissants etc. Use of disposable plastic is not ideal but unavoidable as there was no sink for washing up. I would have preferred my coffee in a china mug and would have been happy to swill it in the bathroom sink! Everything was kept very clean and the bathroom was modern with a good shower. Plenty of towels and toilet rolls provided also a bowl and washing powder with a clothes line and pegs on the small balcony (not suitable for sitting out on). There was also a decent hairdrier and beach umbrellas which saves on the cost of hiring them.
Mario runs the shop virtually underneath the apartment so is always on hand if you need him. We had to ask him about the parking which is confusing as it isn't clear which areas are free and which are not. As we visited in peak time we had difficulty finding a "free" space on a few occasions and had to park in the blue lines costing between 3 and 5 euros. We would then move outside the apartment when a space became available - usually around 8pm when the local shopkeepers closed up. This was done to avoid renewal of parking fee at 9am the following day.
Location is ideal for all the local restaurants and bars the majority of which are in the old town a 10 minute walk away.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and if you are looking for a "no frills" large clean room at a reasonable cost then you can't go far wrong.
A word of advice.....print out a map before you go as it's quite difficult to find in the maze of streets especially as a lot of them are one way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. All we wanted was a clean and simple room for not a lot of cash in the centre of Alghero. And that is exactly what we got. Met by the charming owner who spoke more English than my Italian but we got by. Lovely big room which was spotless. DIY breakfast served from fridge in room which was excellent. Help yourself to fruit and cheese and ham - you name it. Wifi good. Just two minutes from the harbour. Really bang on and for 60 notes great value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay.
In your room you have actually two rroms. a room with a double bed and a room with a single bed.

you also have a fridge on the room. The owner filled it with drinks, yogert and so on. Just take what you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This bright, spacious and meticulously clean room was the perfect hub for exploring Alghero and environment. Within minutes of the old city and boulevard, yet free parking available in the street (if you are lucky in your search, otherwise a quick browse around the block will find you another spot). Little balcony to dry your washing (bucket with soap provided). High windows and balcony doors (double-glazed, giving a good night's sleep). Owners are very friendly, be prepared for the international language of signage though if you don't speak Italian. Oh, breakfast is DIY; little fridge with condiments and toaster provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abba De Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba De Mar

Address: Via Lo Frasso 35 | Ang. Piazza N.S. Mercede, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abba De Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba De Mar Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abba De Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.