We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food and Stunning View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lido

Lido
Via Lido 18, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 079 9739518
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 261 Restaurants in Alghero
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mayo, Ireland West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Stunning View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We dined here the day we arrived and the food was very nice although service was a bit slow. Waiting staff seemed somewhat aloof and most had poor English. The same chap was called each time to translate. Hope he was on a higher hourly pay rate! Didn't have much cash on me so had just enough to cover the meal itself. We called a couple of times after that but they were always 'fully booked', although on occasion one of their senior attendants had said that they were not. I guess Management only want people who tip. Not to worry as it happens, we found a nicer place further up Via Lido and happlily gave them our business.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    67
    27
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Great Setting and a fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Alghero has many restaurants but the gastro-diversity is incredibly limited. So many restaurants have the same menu and the Lido is one of those. So don't expect michelin star food but on a bustling Sunday night it served a range of good tasting classic dishes (fish antipasti, mussels, fried fish and a range of pasta dishes) with verve. The young group of waters and waitresses work hard under the eagle eye of the owner.. The setting is wonderful - the only decent restaurant on the beach with a view out to Capo Caccia and the sunset. The clientele is diverse. Lots of tourists and lots of kids but also Italian families, birthday parties and much else besides. This is regular haunt for us and if you stick to the straightforward stuff it is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Too crowded and bad tastning food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had unfortunately a bad experience at this place. Only the spagetti with mussles very tasty. The rest were from freezer ( lasagne).
Great view over the Beach and sea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located very nicely on the beach, with a view over the ocean. Unfortunately, i find this to be their best feature. When my boyfriend and I arrived there (walking distance from the hotel we were staying at) we were told that there was a waiting list if you didn't have a reservation. Fair enough, we thought, it seemed to be a very busy night. We were told to wait 15 min and take a drink in the bar while waiting. So we did, and it ended up being 30 minutes of wait before we were rushed to a table for two. The atmosphere was very stressed with servers running around like hens in the restaurant. No one really seemed keen on taking our order, and although they passed our table many times, out order was first taken 30 minutes later. We ordered the sword fish and a gamberi pasta (prawn pasta). The menu stated that the seafood was 'if not fresh, frozen' and when we asked it seemed like nothing in fact on the menu was fresh. The man taking our order was pleasant, although stressed out. He recommended the sword fish very highly, even though it was frozen. He seemed like the owner and one of the few who actually spoke English.

Anyway, the food came after 10-15 minutes and the sword fish dish was a piece of fish with cherry tomatoes on top. Nothing with it, no sides. It was quite dry an tasted of fish. Since it was the first time tasting sword fish, we didn't know what to expect, but from other people we've heard that it's supposed to be a 'meaty' fish.

The pasta with prawns was good! The taste was very nice, but it did lack in prawns (there were 3.. And a whole lot of pasta) and they weren't peeled, which I find quite annoying, since they're wasn't a wet wipe or anything for me clean my greasy seafood hands on after peeling them. There were a few hard bits from the prawns' scale in the pasta, which was very unpleasant to chew on, but overall, the dish tasted well. Pasta was al dente (which I quite like!)

A side note: when I went to the bathroom to wash my hands, there were no soap.

Finally, when we were finished and asked for the bill, it took almost 15 minutes to get it. And they took an extra 3€-charge for 'coperto', which a worker there explained to be a charge for using the glasses, cloth etc.
She stated that 'in Italy we do this', but previously we had never come across a fee like that.

Overall, the restaurant was okey, the food was underwhelming, the location was nice but the service was lacking. We probably wouldn't visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with great sea front view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Restaurant looks little bit shabby from outside. But when you enter it opens up and you can have a great seats with sea view. Excellent good and friendly service. I recommend the mixed fish grill or the meter pizza. Prices int he restaurant are fair too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.