We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant I have ever visited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria La Saletta

Trattoria La Saletta
Via Kennedy 27B, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 348 017 1332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 269 Restaurants in Alghero
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best restaurant I have ever visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

U have to book a table in this restaurant when in Alghero. Food is local, fresh and I do not talk about the wonderful price of 25€ for a set menu which is nothing! U have in this price included wide choice of local Antipasti, then a first course, second course, coffee, digestive, and plenty of Cannonau wine which i personally love!(water is also included). Staff is very helpful and the head of the place (btw helping in the kitchen) was always smiling! Place full of positive energy and u really feeling like eating at home. They open at 8pm but u have to book a table before. On Fridays and Saturdays u have to book a table at least 1-2 days before. It is a tiny place which can take about 10 tables per evening(35 people maybe)..We went there twice ant although we had to choose from the same menu, it was still delicious and everything homemade!This is a 5 star place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    110
    23
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious starters and pasta.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We walked by La Saletta the night before we actually ate there, hoping we might could get in when we saw an empty table. Unfortunately it was after 10pm and they weren't taking any more customers but we were able to make reservations for the following night. We chose to order the set menu after asking the price (€25 per person). This included a half-liter of the house red wine, an array of starters, their wonderful and warm fresh flatbread which is drizzled in olive oil, your choice of 2 pastas, and 2 main dishes followed by espresso and a digestive. The starters were excellent, everything from oven-baked mozzarella to fresh ricotta with honey on the side, just to name a couple. Both of the pastas were excellent but we should have ended the food portion of the meal there because the main dishes just weren't to our liking. We had ordered the wild boar and lamb and I can't say I'll be rushing back to try either of them again. We left most of ours behind as it just didn't taste very good or very much at all. There wasn't a whole lot of meat on either of them. One thing that wasn't included but that I opted to try was the dessert, which was a type of custard pie with the tiniest hint of chocolate and cinnamon. It wasn't sensational but it was very good and had that perfect home-made pie crust. The house wine was excellent and only €2.50 for half a liter.
As far as the service goes, one of the waitresses was very good and as others have mentioned they do not speak much english at all, but I don't really expect them to either. The only other downside after the meat dishes was having to wait a very long time for our bill. At this point there were no other people left in the restaurant and we could see at least 3 of the staff through the open kitchen window, so they knew we were just sitting there. Finally we had to wave one of them down to get them to come out. Another thing to point out was the extremely cheesy video channel they had blaring on the tv the entire two hours we were there. It was pretty annoying (funny for the first 10 minutes though) and I didn't see how it fit in with the typical sardinian cuisine.
So while I would definitely go back to this restaurant to eat their starters and pasta again, I would absolutely skip the meat dishes and look for a table in the non-tv room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Crazy lovely people, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked for 8.00, arrived at 7.50 to be politely told they weren't open until 8.00. Went for a drink, returned at 8.05 to find the place heaving at the seams!
Traditional rustic Italian food with home made pasta, brilliant ragus and crazy service. We had the tasting menu on recommendation, no prices shown, antipasti. followed by two fabulous pastas followed by suckling pig (or as they named it in English, wild boar!!) Everything was prepared from scratch, the tables are basic, the wine very cheap and plentiful and the staff great fun.
You must reserve, absolutely no chance of a walk-in. We enjoyed the whole experience enormously and will certainly go back on our next visit to Alghero.
Closed Sunday evenings

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal we have ever had ... amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We loved it so much - we went back the next night for more - i will dream about this place! We had ravioli filled with potato and mint and gnochetti for starters followed by suckling pig on the first night ... 1/2 litre of wine, 1.5 litre of still water, 4 expressos and 1 dessert --- 32 euro! unbelievable. Next night we both had the ravioli followed by like a lamb stew with water, 1 litre of wine, 2 expressos...just fabulous. Can't wait to go back =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The donkey was off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having found this on TA I decided to make a booking, which had to be 4 days in advance because it is so popular but not very large.
The food was first class - antipasti shared between us, followed by a pasta each and then the meat. The menu is, like the restaurant, very small - 1 antipasti, 3 prima piatti, and 3 secondi piatti. Also as it is very Sardinian the secondi are all meat.
My wife had the suckling pig and I had the lamb for mains.
All washed down with a litre of house red (4 euros!), but for me the highlight was the curugiones, a ravioli of mashed potato and mint in the most intense tomato sauce I have ever had. Needless to say we were both stuffed by the end, as the portions are not small.
My only unhappiness was that by the time we arrive the asino was off the menu, leading to the title of this review.
Highly recommended, but you must book for any day of the week in the height of the holiday season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Saletta also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Trattoria La Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria La Saletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.