We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not fantastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion

Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion
Via Sant Agostino, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 3664979671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 45 Activities in Alghero
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Sea Kayak Sardinia, Sardinia's sea kayaking specialists. We offer sea kayaking tours, instructional courses and holiday packages in the Alghero area. We have the most highly qualified sea kayak guides and instructors in all of Sardinia. We are a mobile business taking our clients to the most suitable areas every day in order to find them the best conditions. If you are a beginner or old hand we can cater to your needs and make a kayaking trip the most enjoyable experience of what we can assure you will be a lovely holiday in Sardinia. We hope to hear from you soon.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We decided to do a full day sea kayaking after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Both Clark and Tarin were very friendly, however we were a little disappointed that we did not get to see any of the more remote coastline and beaches that you see on the website. Instead we went past the port in Alghero which itself was very busy with boat traffic which we had to avoid- not ideal for first time kayakers! We were unable to stop at the planned beach because of the strong current so stopped at a beach that was rocky. If offered the 5 euro lunch- you should consider taking your own unless you love warm ham and tomato rolls!

We would suggest enquiring before hand where you will be going on the excursion and if you will be joining another group that has already been out on the water together and who are not beginners.

Although the equipment was of a high standard, friendly and skilled staff- we didn't think it was value for money at 170 euros for 2 people.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakingclark, Owner at Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your trip with us. We constantly strive to exceed our paddlers expectations and for the most part we feel we have succeeded in having very happy kayakers. You have some valid points and we will take these onboard and will address them for example the lunches, we will ensure they are carried in a cooler pack – they are made by a local small business which we like to support and are made with local prosciutto (sometimes Bresaola) , pecorino and tomatoes grown locally – we make no profit on the lunches and offer as a convenience for people on holiday not having to shop for lunch before the trip and we always ask if people would like this included or not via email during the booking process. To address your point about not seeing our routes shown on the website - if we are taking people outside the normal routes we will let them know so they have the option to either go on another day or cancel. But we do feel we were honest with you and that we did explain the different route and why, unfortunately on the day of your trip we had strong winds and had to find a route that would allow the range of paddlers we had to cope with the conditions in hindsight it was not a good alternative. It is quite normal for us to have a range of experience of paddlers from complete novices to experienced, some stronger some less so and in the past have not found this to hinder the enjoyment of the trip but we take this onboard and where we can we will suggest alternative dates to match up the variation in experience. The price of a full day trip we feel is fully justifiable based on the quality of our kayaks and qualifications of me and my other guide – we are responsible for your safety and for us it’s a long working day including pick-ups and drop-offs. Also, we have used these guidelines and try to keep our prices in line with others in the business and in some cases we find the cost of our trips are a lot less. We hope people feel they are getting good value for money and are looked after. Thank you for your comments without them we are not able to improve and hope that if you do come to Sardinia again that we would be able to take you on a complimentary trip and try and show you how good it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had a lovely view days with Clark and his colleague Taran. What a wonderful place to paddle. Saw lovely coastline and visited beautiful beaches and caves. Nice to have just good quality kayaks and equipment too and expert guiding. Met some wonderful other paddlers from Denmark, Germany and Ireland on the trips. Overall a fantastic few days and definitely hope to get back again next year.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I had a blast during our day trip with Clark and his new number 2, Teran! There were six of us total, Clark, Teran, Me and my hubby, and a very nice couple from Denmark. The weather was slightly overcast and a bit windy, but it was still very warm out and not bad for kayaking, and the sun came out by the end of the day. We went out to the Porto Conte bay with a few stops at some small beaches, and paddled around the impressive cliffs of Capo Caccia. The water was too choppy to go any further, but we were all ok with heading back at that point, and we had time to stop for a bit of lounging on the beach and snorkeling! Clark provided us with a tasty, healthy lunch from a local place, and had a lot of information about the area.

We definitely recommend Sea Kayak Sardinia! We thought the full day excursion was definitely worth it. And as Clark will also tell you, make sure you go to La Botteghina while in Alghero! Awesome food! But make sure you set a reservation, it's a tiny place and books up quick!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wish I'd done the day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Perfect day tho the wind came up on the trip home which caused no real problems even for the 2 in our group who were first timers. Clark is great with all people and it was simply a lovely way to see the coast and enjoy the water. I'd recommend it for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Plan to do it at the start of your holiday...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself and himself decided last minute at the end of our holiday that we
would try to do a kayak trip with Clark. Lucky for us clark could accommodate us the next day.
Ok..so the Kayaking...l it was great, calm waters, there were 4 of us in the group,
none of us had any experience. That didnt stop us though, we kayaked to other islands, visited bays, parts of the national park, stopped for a beer along the way, and for lunch too. It was such a great experience, definitely the highlight of our holiday.

One regret would be that, I wish we had done it at the start of our trip,
as clark told us some great spots to eat, and drink in alghero.

enjoy your trip to sardinia, i give that 5 stars too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Kayak Sardinia Day Excursion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.