We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but needs a renovations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domomea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domomea to your Saves list
Hotel Domomea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 47, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good but needs a renovations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent a week in Sardinia and I stayed at Hotel Domomea in Alghero. The entrance of the hotel is not very sophisticated but the common areas are cozy and beautiful. The hotel has a rooftop swimming pool which is very nice and has a particular shape. I would only suggest to improve the sunbathing area because It is a bit bare and small.
The room was very nice, clean and spacious. Each room has a typical color and mine was yellow. The furnishing is simple and functional. The bathroom is large and clean but In my opinion a little bare.
In addition to this the hotel is in a very good position.
On the whole the hotel is good and the staff is friendly and always ready to help you. I would only recommend to renew the public areas and the rooms by adding for example some new details.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    122
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
183
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel Domomea is situated on a tree lined avenue about 10 minutes walk from the old town of Alghero and about 15 minutes from the beach. From the moment we arrived staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, in particular Gianni Paolo who helped with our choice of restaurants and made sure the taxis we used at night brought us directly to the door - my high heels couldn't cope with the cobbled streets especially having walked them all day! Apart from that he was very knowledgeable about attractions in the area and shared some interesting facts about Alghero's history. Other members of the team on reception were always friendly and helpful too. Rooms are a good size, well furnished with king sized beds and have modern bathrooms with ample hot water, day or night and a professional hairdryer rather than the usual contraptions that extend from a socket in the wall. The mattresses were too hard for us but we were provided with a 'topper' which made all the difference. The hotel is spotlessly clean, a great tribute to the cleaners who managed to make our room look as if we'd just checked in every single day. There was ample choice for breakfast, cereals, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, bacon, yoghurt and a variety of pastries and cold meats which could be eaten indoors or out. I found it a little strange that the hotel is situated in an apartment complex and therefore washing lines etc could be seen from the seating in the small garden/breakfast area but by the end of our stay it somehow added to the ambience. Domomea does not serve lunch or dinner which I felt was a pity but Alghero is well serviced by restaurants so it didn't make a great difference to our enjoyment. Staff were willing to provide tea/coffee when we arrived in from a night on the town but I think the hotel would be improved by installing the equipment to make these for oneself in the room. The swimming pool on the roof terrace is not very large but served its purpose. From the moment we stepped through the door to the moment we left, we were made feel very welcome in Domomea and we would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Great clean room, breakfast very good.
Picture on the hotel = real life!!!!
The staff was helpfull.
Pool on roof was fine and cleaned every morning.
We will return to this hotel.

Cap from hotel cost 25 €.

Walking distance to the town and beach.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First impressions are important: the smile of the man at the reception, his efforts to help you park your car (which can be a bloody nuisance in this part of town). The size of the room, the 21st century design character of the bathroom which gives a luxury feeling. And these first impressions were confirmed in the rest of teh stay: good breakfasr, good cleaning, good roof terrace for sunbathing. Although the swimming pool is a mere bath tub, it is a good excuse to stay on the roof terrace. All in all: sympathetic and a good choice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived as refugees from a homeswap gone disastrously wrong and the friendly, helpful and supportive staff saved our holiday. We were allocated a beautiful suite right next to the swimming pool on the top floor, given great advice about what to do locally and looked after beautifully. The hotel is fully air conditioned (a huge relief in August in Sardinia!) an oasis of calm and homeliness. The swimming pool and solarium were small but truly lovely. Top marks Hotel Domomea thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Domomea is small but absolutely perfectly formed and is ideal for a short break in Alghero. We stayed for four nights and couldn't fault it on anything. Although it's not in the most attractive location, mixed in with local houses and washing lines, it's only a ten minute walk to the old town and is very quiet at night. Extremely clean, the rooms are spacious and nicely furnished in a contemporary style with limed oak doors and cupboards mixed with some traditional Sardinian touches on the curtains and bedspreads. The air condiioning was very efficient and got the room ice cold really quickly and the bathroom was large with a decent shower and again, spotless. Breakfast can be eaten outside on a covered verandah and was a small but decent selection of cereals, breads, yoghurt etc. You can squeeze fresh oranges to drink but watch out for the juicer and make sure the lid is down - I didn't close it properly and the orange shot out across the room and hit the waitress!! The staff are incredibly warm and welcoming and offered us free drinks while we waited for our room to be available, and were very willing to help out with directions and ordering taxis. Everyone smiles at you, which was so lovely. The swimming pool and jacuzzi on the roof top, although tiny, were lovely for cooling off and were so easy to access from our bedroom. Two cheeky seagulls were also partial on having a dip! Overall, the Domomea is a very good quality small hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are nice and choose the third floor for super quick access to the little pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domomea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domomea

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 47, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Family Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domomea 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Alghero this nice four star hotel offer:frigo-bar, internet wifi, king size bed, lcd tv 32", all rooms in Sardinian style. Pool on the top floor with jacuzzi. Transfer service and rent car. Finish to build in may 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Domomea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domomea Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domomea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.