We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 food experiences of my life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azienda Agrituristica Sa Mandra

Azienda Agrituristica Sa Mandra
Strada Aeroporto Civile, 21, 07041 Alghero Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
+39 079 999150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 261 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Benevennios. We are Rita and Mario, and together with our daughter Maria Grazia and our sons Michele and Giuseppe we run our farm stay "Sa Mandra". Twenty years ago we left Fonni, our birthtown and we moved to this region, Nurra, near Alghero, taking the affection from our native place and the love for our origins with us. Our lives have been made even happier with the birth of our kids first, and the birth of our nephew Fabrizio more recently.We both belong to families from agro-pastoral communities that moved to the same area in the northern Sardinia.We took our culture from Barbagia with us, and we use it as distinctive mark to run our business: the farm stay "Sa Mandra"( mandra stands for a circular paddock that shepherds used to build in order to confine sheep for milking). We started up this activity in 1993, in a plot of one hundred hectares close to Alghero and to the "Riviera del Corallo" (the coral coast), in the Nurra region, a flat land with few plateaus, rich in naturalistic and historical sites, monuments, with areas for growing medicinal herbs, other with olive groves, and lands left for grazing.Over the last 20 years we have asserted ourselves in this field, improving and increasing the range of services we are able to offer, thanks to our qualified staff (of 10-20 people depending the season), trained in our farm within the project Programma Operativo Regionale 2000/2006.We currently offer
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top 10 food experiences of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place offers the best kind of tourism - unbelievable, locally grown food in an incredible, outdoor setting. It also doubles as a kind of museum. You can walk around and see how they fire up the pork, or wander into rooms that show you traditional costumes. Also, great for kids because it has several playgrounds. Be sure to try everything. Worth starving yourself before you get there in preparation for the six courses. Best fresh ricotta that I've ever tasted.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    228
    64
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not much to add to like-minded reviews. This place has very friendly staff with excellent service. Food was fabulous - all Sardinian produced and plenty of it. The ambience matched the service and the food. This was the culinary highlight of our stay and a worthy meal to celebrate a special family birthday. Was also excellent value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadier en Keer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good (but not number one)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We've read the may positive reviews and visited this restaurant during our stay in Alghero. Once you have entered the typical entry you go to a separate bar and receive a drink. The wine you get here has very poor quality (ok it's free/part of the total price). We've dined in the the restaurant outside. Although is was very crowded the place is this big that it's not a problem. They have a fixed menu. You recieve may courses with Sardinian products and it's much. So when you go here be sure that you're really hungry. They have no winelist you you only can choose white or red wine!
Our conclusion: it's a place worth visiting but defnitly not the best restaurant. To achieve this they should choose for more quality in stead of the quantitity. The quality of the meal is mediocre but he portions a huge We've experiende this restaurant once and that's enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, cosy surroundings and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We came to Sa Mandra after reading about it on Tripadvisor, and it proved to be the best decicion of our entire holiiday!

Fantastic locally produced Sardinian food and wine as well as great service. We came there not really knowing what treat we were in for, and after having a glass of wine and some cheese and meat for aperitif we sat down in the cosy outdoor section of the restaurant.

For 40 euros per person we were served both wine and a fantastic dinner consiting of different antipasti (cheeses, cured meats, you name it!) several pasta dishes (their ricotta and spinach ravioli is possibly the best I ever tasted), great meat and a dessert plate with coffee and local spirit to finish it off.

Just one tip - come hungry!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“NUMBER ONE?! ABSOLUTELY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

It's a pleasure to find a Number One that is really the best in town.
It's a pleasure to walk in and discover all the features of this place. 
It's a pleasure to go through their fixed menu with all the Sardinian specialities (no fish) served by friendly people.
Their piglet is probably the best we ever had.
All included from aperitives to digestives and coffee: 40 euro
Only problem is getting there if you don't have a car. Taxi is an astronomical 50 euro!! We were told by the nice girl in charge that Sa Mandra now has organized transport from Alghero Porto and back for 10 euro, give them a call for the details.
Highly recommended.
Just one final comment: we find it very hard to believe that Sa Mandra was overtaken for several weeks by an ordinary, middle of the range, poor location trattoria, on the basis of a sudden surge of exceptional reviews...then when real customers started to get in the reviews became much less favourable and the place is now on it's way down. Maybe TA should implement a procedure to avoid similar situations that affect TA credibility.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azienda Agrituristica Sa Mandra also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Azienda Agrituristica Sa Mandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azienda Agrituristica Sa Mandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.