We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but almost left before we started!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angedras Restaurant

Angedras Restaurant
Bastioni Marco Polo 41, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
(+39) 079 9735078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 269 Restaurants in Alghero
Price range: $35 - $112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but almost left before we started!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Initially offered a table that we felt unsuitable, the waiter serving us then advised all other tables reserved (reasonably empty at the time) we then decided to move on.

The head waiter then stepped in (and in Italian as my partner undestands the language) ticked off the gent in question as the other seats were not reserved and we should be seated where we had requested.

All food was great and we enjoyed thoroughly the view of a wonderful sunset.

Starter
Traditional potato filled ravioli with fresh tomato, cheese and basil

Mains
Tempura prawns - I need to learn how to make this light spicy batter....
Steak
Roast suckling pig

Grappa and coffee

10% service charge, again not unusual and the total bill just about 100 euro. Would have gone back but too many other places to see and try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    162
    63
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury st. edmunds
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice views, food not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Good sea views of Cappa Caccia. Enjoyed my pasta but spent a fortune on my wife lobster which she said was a bit bland. Service was good and the establishment was clean as were the toilets.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful! We had to go twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stumbled across Angedras restaurant on our first evening. They were enormously busy, but the Maitre'd ensured our custom by offering complimentary glasses of prosecco on the marina wall. At the most we waited 15 minutes & boy, was it worth it! I experienced lobster for the first time & my boyfriend had seafood linguine, both of which were delicious. On our final night we chose to eat at Angedras again. The service, atmosphere & food were all excellent, we couldn't fault it. We paid roughly about 70 Euros for starters, mains & wine. A real treat & totally worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway,Ireland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great food, great views but poor service lets it down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We got here nice and early for dinner to avoid the crowds. We got a seat outside and ordered two mains with wine and beer. The head waiter tried the old 'can i recommend a starter' trick but we had just come from a great deli and didnt need it, he seemed maybe a little disinterested and indifferent from then on. Food arrived quickly enough and was very good, the steak and the maltagliati were our dishes, however my girlfriend asked the head waiter for a steak knife to which he tersely replied 'no' and gave a 'look', we were both quite surprised as everywhere else we have ever eaten have steak knives. Upon finishing and paying and while finishing our drinks we felt the staff constantly looking in our direction in an effort to make us leave so they could seat some of the waiting diners, we decided to enjoy what we paid for and stayed another few minutes. Nice food but definitely let down by the attitude shown.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“top restaurant in Alghero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A lucky find - we stayed there for lunch and took twice the lunch menu which was a pasta and a fish dish. We got very tasty home made pasta and excellent fish / seafood as a main dish. The service was very good too. Can recommend this place and would go there again :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angedras Restaurant also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Angedras Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angedras Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.