We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Could Do Better With a Little Effort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Picale Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Picale Apartments to your Saves list
Picale Apartments
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Via Lido, 69, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Molde
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Could Do Better With a Little Effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife & I stayed in these apartments (Room 1E) for 8 days after staying in similar apartments across the road. (Buganvilla Apartments). The set up is similar. The bedroom was OK, but the bed was far too soft for my taste. The bedroom had not enough storage space in comparison to Buganvilla but if you are travelling light you should be OK. Room had quite a few marks on the walls where a mosquito had been splatterd by the previous occupants. There were few electric sockets and those that were working were sometimes difficult to plug in to. Overall the bedroom was quite clean. The bedding was not changed in the time we were there.

The bathroom was small but was an improvement in size over our previous apartment. Nice space to put all your toiletries and dirty washing. It was let down by the shower which didn't drain properly which was really quite annoying. The toilet didn't flush either so I had to temporarily remove the top of the cistern to flush it by hand. It was like that the first day we moved in. Apart from that, reasonably decorated. The sink was big and for once, lit well.

The lounge/kitchen area was comfortable enough. The oven had gas hobs which I like for cooking. However, no oven and no microwave oven either - that was disappointing. Else, all the utensils and cutleryand crockery you need to fix holiday meals. The absence of an electric kettle may be a bit of an inconvenience to some people who don't fancy boiling a pan of water every time they want a hot beverage. Plenty of hot water to wash up with.

There was a sofa-bed in the lounge which was quite long. The TV had absolutely no reception at all. When I first booked the apartment I enquired about the standard of TV and was told it was good. Now it may be asking too much for staff to take that much notice of what you say but I think that for a little effort the receptionist could have made sure the TV was working as I especially asked about it.

There was no washing machine in the apartment - OK it's the same in many apartments but there were no facilities for you to wash them in a communal room either. And this brings me to a point I found about this place. Upon asking reception about washing they said somebody could collect it and wash it for us but the price was incredibly expensive. If you wanted the aircon on then you had to pay for that (Buganvilla was free). You could use the internet in the foyer only and it was hellishly expensive. I asked if I could print out my flight tickets I had just booked in the foyer, on their printer. The answer was a curt 'No'. Many other instances of quite poor customer services and anything you asked about invariably involved the receptionist quoting how much it would cost. There were 2 receptionists. It was like 'Good Cop, Bad Cop'. One was extremely helpful, resourceful, polite, and friendly... the other was not any of those things. If you wanted to use a safe then you had to pay extra. These were located in reception which meant that during siesta or after the hotel reception closed for the night you had no way of getting your valuables. OK. Not too bad for the night but if you wanted to set off early the next morning you had to take your valuables out early evening the previous night. This rather defeats the purpose of having a safe.

In summary, with a little effort in customer services and the small points I have picked up on it could be really quite a nice place to stay.

We stayed from 23 Sep to 1 Oct towards the end of the season which meant that this hotel's bar/ cafe was shut. It would have livened the place up a bit and given one a change to meet other guests if this had been open. The games room for the kids was shut too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Lovely hotel in a great location only feet from the beach, staff very helpful and friendly. Would definately go back. Rooms spotless clean and great restraunts and a great bar beside hotel. Nice place to go to for an Autumn break.

Room Tip: Room 3a has a wrap around balcony over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I had a lovely stay at these apartments they are very good value for money, the studio apartment we had was more than sufficient with a lovely balcony overlooking the beach that is across the road. The receptionist is more than helpful and speaks very good english. The apartment is very close to several surpermarkets but if you do by food please be careful and make sure all food is cleaned up or placed in the bowl as it seems they have an ant problem.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room that overlooks the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Good Parts: Clean/Modern setup with all you need for nice stay in Alghero.

Near a good supermarket and beach is just outside door.

Plenty of parking outside the hotel, a couple of restaurants nearby that are good quality and okay prices.

Pool is nice.




Poor Parts: Towels/Toilet Roll/Bin Bags/ Wash Up Liquid .....a struggle to get from staff. They make a big hassle about them. Its a bit frustrating as necessity..

No oven or toaster/kettle in kitchen area.

Pool closes at 6pm which is too early

Dead in terms of no bar/cafe onsite so very quiet

25min walk to old town...this might suit you but I think its just too far.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment facing Sea or Restaurant as nice to site on balcony at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Nice apartment hotel close to the beach. No frills, but very clean. Comfortable beds, pillows and everything worked perfectly. We didn't miss anything in the room. Cleaning is once a week and you have to take out your own garbage ( to the garage ) but that was no big deal. It can also be nice knowing that the maid doesn't want access to your room should you want a sleep in. Yes it was a bit noisy around the pool, happy chlidren and not so happy children playing, but that was no big deal either. Pool was lovely btw, well kept and with a deep end. Life guard on duty, almost the whole day. Liked the fact that Italian holiday makers stayed there as well as Scandinavians, Brits etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent a week at the Picale residence in mid August 2011.
4 of us (2 adults, 2 children) stayed in a large 2-bedroom apartment. I had some concerns going, based on reviews on Tripadvisor, but had been unable to find anywhere "better" . There were good points and bad, so I'll summarise them by category:

1. Pool
+ The pool was the best thing about the accomodation. It was 2.1m in depth apart from a small section that was 1.1m in depth. Our children are good swimmers so they enjoyed the pool tremenduously. Not ideal for non-swimmers, however!
+ It was really clean and well kept.
+ Half of the pool was in shade at any time of the day, so was great for our fair skin. We didn't have to be exposed to the sun if we didn't want to.
+ Sun beds: We were always able to get as many as we wanted (2,3 or 4). Most people did not put out towels when not there, in keeping with the policy of the accomodation. In addition, the sunbeds were really comfy (canvas, not hard plastic) and they had a small shade section that could be put over your head - which made reading much more pleasant.
- The pool closed too early in the evening - at 6pm. Our girls would happily have used it until 7.30pm, which would have fitted better around eating times also. The restaurants do not serve evening meals until 8pm.
- There were some mosquitos around the pool - and we got bitten!

2. Aparment:
+ Very spacious
+ Clean - and it was cleaned mid-week also.
+ Had air-con
- Air-con unit in living room kept breaking down. Once we notified staff, they fixed it within an hour. The trick was to plug it out and then re-plug it in. It would then work for another 30mins.

3. Location:
+ Across the road from the beach
+ Good supermarket only 50m away, and open all day.
+ Car parking available in the hotel carpark for low cost (€7 per day).
+ Beautiful scenery!!!
- The beach was a big disappointment. The crowds were ok, but It was unpleasantly foul smelling. We tried to persuade ourselves that it was a seaweed smell (otherwise there would not be such crowds, surely?) but we just couldn't be certain.
- Too far from the old town. This was a 25min walk - pleasant in the early morning and late evening, but not so in the blistering heat between 11am and 6pm. And the local bus service is appalling. We bought bus tickets, but never managed to actually get a bus. The service is quite minimal, and they do not keep to the timetable.

The aparment was better than what I had expected, and the staff (at reception and at the pool bar) were really nice.

With the benefit of hindsight...
* Alghero old town is beautiful - visit it, stay close to the old town, 2 days would be enough.
* Picale is good value for money and the pool is superb.
* If you want a nice beach, go to La Pelosa, it's stunning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very poor facility. The apartments are very sparsly furnished, although we stayed in an apartment for four people (the two room apartment) we still did not have more than two spoons and barely any knives or forkes, it was like the "apartment" was falling apart with broken cabinet doors (barley hanging on), the balcony only had two chairs and a small little table. Also be aware that you only get cleaning once a week ( you have to bring out your own garbage) and do not forget to bring own towels! Minus is also that you have to pay extra for air conditioning. Good is that the hotel is located very close to the beach and Alghero itself is a beautiful little town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Picale Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picale Apartments

Address: Via Lido, 69, 07041 Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Picale Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Picale Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picale Apartments Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picale Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.