We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, cannot wait to visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloc d'Or B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lloc d'Or B&B to your Saves list
Lloc d'Or B&B
via Logudoro N 26, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 219 Alghero B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay, cannot wait to visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at Lloc d'Or for 3 nights and it was the best accomodation we experienced during our tour around Sardinia. Right from the moment of booking through to our departure Gemma and her husband Giovanni were most helpful in every aspect to ensure we had a wonderful stay in Alghero. We were lucky enough to stay in the 5th floor roof top apartment of their own home, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise as it surpassed all of our expectations. It was spotlessly clean and had a pretty terrace with lovely sea views which was ideal for sunbathing and enjoying a glass of wine in the evenings. The hosts were so pleasant and friendly and really contributed to our stay in this beautiful part of Sardinia. Every morning a generous breakfast was served up to us. Location is ideal, about 7-8 minute walk from the amazing old town and in the opposite direction the same distance to the lido beach. As we hired a car, Gemma gave us excellent recommendations for the remainder of our tour of Sardina. She recommended that we drive north (approx 1hr 15mins) to Stintino and La Pelosa beach (one of the top ten beaches in the world) on our first day.This beach has to be seen to be believed, absolutely incredible! After a day here we then drove further north and stayed in the fabulous seaside town of Palau, taking in the Madelena archipegalo and the stunning Costa Smerelda. Alghero was the highight for us and we cannot wait to return. Please stay here, you won't regret it!
Thanks so much Gemma and Giovanni, Lorraine and Dermot

Room Tip: ask for the penthouse apartment, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B, which has two rooms. We were in the twin, and there is also a double with an enormous bed! It is basically a self contained apartment with a full kitchen. The bathroom has recently been refurbished and is very nicely done. The whole place was spotless and very cosy. Gemma, our Sardinian hostess, has enough English to get buy and is an absolute star. She will help you out with anything, she was so kind and helpful with us and even gave us a lift to Alghero's elusive train station! Top marks!

The area is residential and we, as two young women, felt very safe. It is a very short walk from the old town and the sea. We used the bike hire directly nearby and cycled to the beautiful beaches towards Ponta Conte, well worth doing.

One big tip: this place is self contained so doesn't have a reception. Arrange an arrival time in advance OR ring the mobile number on your arrival and they will come and meet you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in Lloc D'Or for 7 nights and we liked this small family run B&B very much! Owners Gemma and Giovanni are very welcoming persons and works hard to make a stay for guests comfortable and pleasant. B&B is located a few minutes walk from the old city, bus station and Lido beach, yet in a quiet small street. Train station is within 20 min walk. We stayed in a room of the two rooms apartment with fresh and modern bathroom and cosy kitchen. The room was spacious and modern, it had a good air conditioner and a balcony. We liked privacy, comfort, cosiness and cleanness of the apartment. We appreciated the possibility to make tea/coffee whenever we wanted as the kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary utensils. Breakfast was good and filling - fresh bread and pastries, youghurt, local ham/cheese, butter, jam/nutella, wonderful fruits - and varied every day. We liked the relaxing and informal atmosphere, flexibility of the breakfast time and care of owners about guests! It was very nice to have a chat with Gemma while having breakfast, as we were given a lot of information about Alghero and its historical sights to be visited, places and beaches nearby, received information about good restaurants and cafes, and shops where one can buy real corals from Alghero. Guests also can find guide books and magazines about Sardinia in the apartment. For our convinience Gemma provided us beach towels and beach umbrella. It was so nice of her to give sandwiches and pastries with us when we were going to the beach! We would like to come to Lloc D'Or again and we strongly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed three nights at this B&B and we can highly recommend it. The hosts Gemma and Giovanni are really lovely and very helpful.

Lloc d'Or was our first stay on our visit to Sardinia. We got some valuable travel tips that helped us plan the rest of our drive through Sardinia.

The location of the B&B is really good, between the old town and Alghero beach. Within a few minutes walk on a nice promenade, you reach either the old town or the beach.

The breakfast was generous with croissant, white bread, juice, coffee, cheese, ham, jam, grapes and sardinian cakes. The room was clean and fresh and we had a spacious terrace where we had our breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Lloc d'Or B&B for 9 nights, and it is a very nice place to stay. The owner Gemma is very friendly and helpful, and the place feels like home. Good location, 5 minutes from the bus stop and a few minutes away the Lido beach. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed five nights at this nice little hostel in Alghero. The location is really good, with only a five minute walk to the bus station, and 8 minutes to the old town. The woman in charge is really friendly and helps out with any questions you might have. The breakfast is really good and is served at an arranged time. Very clean and highly recommendable, for a good price!

/Linus and Mimmi from Sweden

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our room was on the top floor of the owners flat, and was actually more of an appartment than a double room. The room was clean and well equipped and had a terrace with a wonderful view over the city and the ocean. This B&B is defenitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloc d'Or B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloc d'Or B&B

Address: via Logudoro N 26, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a strategic position, Lloc D'or B&B lies close to the most important culture and touristic places of Alghero, the catalan old town, the beautiful port of pleisance and the finest sandy beach of Lido. Lloc D'or B&B has a luxuriant and well cared garden inside, where, in the summer season, we use to serve the traditional breakfast. Lloc D'or has 2 spacious and bright bedrooms; a wide and nice bathroom; the living-kitchen room has direct access to the garden.Lloc D'or B&B is also equipped with colour TV; hairdryer, iron and ironing board available on request.Bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Lloc d'Or B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloc D'Or B&B Alghero, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloc d'Or B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.