We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 2, 74100 Taranto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
Freedom, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice hotel, optimally situated near shopping. You can find a parking spot right below your window facing the canal. Very friendly and efficient staff. Now for the negatives...your room is a loft and your bathroom and bed are upstairs. The stairs are more ladder than they are stairs. Bed was very good which is rare in Italy. There weren't too many other guests in the hotel and the breakfast nook was so so. The in hotel restaurant might be worth a try at night but it's more geared to Italian style (sweets and cakes) than international you would find internationally. If only Italian hoteliers would visit the far east more often. When we returned from dinner in the evening it was packed with locals which is always a good sign in Italy of good food. I am Italian and grew up in New York but I can tell you that for Italy this is a good hotel. They always spot themselves a star or two and this hotel is no exception to that rule. For the price and the cleanliness I will probably stay there again. The view of the river from the bed was fantastic but the window at the top of the glass doors leading to the balcony were obscured by many months of dirt. Saving grace...They had Fox News.
Walking distance to the Al Canale restaurant across the canal. Subject for another TripAdvisor but would get Excellent rating with very exceptional food.

Room Tip: Canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
20
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was given a first floor room with a view across the harbour. The window was from floor to about 1 metre - great view if you lie on the floor or are under six years old! Other than the view the room was perfectly acceptable. I was travelling by bike and the hotel allowed me to store the bilke securely overnight in their basement.
Breakfast was quite basic and the hotel appeared to be aimed at local business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I had a chance to stay just one night in this hotel and I must say that it was a really nice experience; My room was more a duplex apartment than a regular room, with a two-story arrangent and a small kitchen. The balcony faced the inner bay with a magnificent look of the Aragonese Castle.
Breakfast is not so big as in the big hotels, but you have quite a small variety of cereals, fruit, muffins and croissants...enough for me.
The only bad thing I can remember is some noise from the HVAC machine

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel is right near the seaside in Taranto, Italy. It's a nice location. Service was good. My room had a loft bedroom (which I don't particularly like, but others may not mind), with a nice living room area downstairs and more than functional small kitchen. Internet worked well. The light switches were a bit weird and the outlets were not standard European, but an Italian 3-pronged outlet that I had not seen before. The front desk had connecting plugs. Breakfast was quite reasonable and they make a nice cappuccino. There is a restaurant there as well, though it was closed when I was there (probably for the winter). All in all very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

A thoroughly lovely hotel. The owners and staff were incredibly friendly, and we were made to feel most welcome. Excllent rooms, good food, lovely views across the inland sea. I would always come back here if I were ever to visit Taranto again, and would recommend it to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We just stayed at this Hotel Europa location. Now being that they are a chain hotel, I had quite honestly low expectations, but as it turned out, I wonderfully underestimated this great hotel!
We had room 406- on the corner- and yes with the awesome apartment like features including a loft bedroom and bath upstairs and downstairs a kitchenette, living room and balconies that wrapped around looking at both the harbor and bay areas- AMAZING SUNSET!

Also service wise- very outstanding- especially in italy ;) seriously, we had to reschedule our trip bc our meeting got moved from Friday morning to Monday morning and we had booked online but couldn't change it on there, so we called the lady at the front desk who easily, kindly, wonderfully changed it for us with no problem!
Also when I asked for another pillow, again no problem. This may seem simple and obvious but after living out of hotels for four months, you learn that sometimes the simple things like pillows and getting more can be a headache itself. Not here though.
They have Sky TV with the basic channels and you can buy movies :)
If I could think of anything I didn't like, which really was nothing honestly, would be the shampoo/body wash was the crappy little chain hotel blah kind, so bring your own.

We left all smiles and wishing this could be our winter home. So needless to say we will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

One of the best hotels that i was stayed during the last few travels... I say this, only for the reason it offers an amazing view of the sea... I got to stay in a room where the living room was split with the bedroom by stairs leading you to the top floor.. For 80 Euros, you get to stay in a huge spacious room or should i say an apartment :)

Best part: the room itself n the sleeping space..+ you have a kitchen (but no vessals.. )

to be improved:

Common walking space is soo narrow, give you the gitters while walking up the stairs... needless to mention the elevator, OMG!! its the smallest elevator that i have ever been... with one luggage i found it hard to enter n exit the elevator...

Restaurant: service is great, but bit pricy. not many ppl eat there.. but your in Italy and you should probably try out the Pizza's in a pizzeria..

Parking.. not available (not only in the hotel but in the whole of the city)

Internet.. u hve to pay 8Euros for 6 hrs..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Roma, 2, 74100 Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa received his historical heritage from the old hotel cafe' restaurant D'Europe already famous at the end of XIX century by renewing it’s fashion and allure. Located in an enchanting position the Hotel dominates Mar Piccolo and offers a wonderful view of Ponte Girevole, Castello Aragonese, the old town and it’s sea. In the new refined and soberly elegant surroundings, the guests will find comfort and quality for a very pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Taranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.