We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel in old Taranto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akropolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Akropolis to your Saves list
Hotel Akropolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Vico Io Seminario, 74100 Taranto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely little hotel in old Taranto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a bit worried as we arrived in Taranto as all the buildings were very run down and old. When we found the hotel we were happily surpised. It was a beautiful small hotel with only a few rooms. Across the bridge is new Taranto which is very nice and the old part does have some charm with the locals around.
The manager is so lovely and helpful. He directed us around town and even kept our SLR camera when we left it there by mistake!!
The rooms are very pretty and have little balconies.
The breakfast is very basic but otherwise it is a great hotel and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
29
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful oasis in the "old historic area" of Taranto. The hotel has been supberbly restored and you have a sense of the ancient origins that lie beneath the modern touches. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a glorious dinner in the open air restaurant and all the courses were absolutely delicious. Walking around the area during the day was not a problem but it would be better to be walking in a group in the evening. The cocktail bar has a superb view and it was a pleasure to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset. The overall service was good and the staff were all very friendly. The owner spoke English and was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

It is a shame to write a negative review of this hotel, just because the people were so nice to us! But, it is what it is.

First of all, if you are a woman traveling alone, this is not a place for you. The area is not good, full of unoccupied buildings and during our walk to the nearest bar to get sandwiches (no room service until the evening) we had to walk past a bunch of pretty weird guys (sorry guys). The local person who was attending us even told us that the hotel was not in a nice area.

It's about 20-30 minute walk to the center of town for any restaurants, or simply to walk around.

The view was nice over the water, but that, along with the people being nice, is pretty much the only thing that this hotel has going on. Yes it was clean, but old, and cold. (we were there in January - freezing - our thermometer was at 64 degrees in the room for the first ca. 6 hours.

Breakfast was surprisingly bad: no fresh bread, just stuff that would not go bad if no-one would eat there for weeks. You know, toast in plastic wrappers, jelly, cereal. For a 4 star hotel (supposedly) it is amazing that there were no eggs, no fresh bread, no fruit, no yogurt... you're getting the picture.

Again, nicest people, but go elsewhere. This is absolutely not a 4 star hotel - by far.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taranto hotels

Glenning Valley Aust
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

This is a fantastic little find. Dont be put off by the dim lane and unimpressive entry. This hotel was a highlight - beautifully clean with a divine fifth floor rooftop open retaurant overlooking all of Taranto and a cocktail bar as well to watch the sunset.
Walk down the winding back lanes to get to the city (10 minutes). I usually will only stay 5 star and am very particular. This hotel was so clean and quiet and the girl at reception friendly and helpful. Taranto itself has the best (and inexpensive) Italian fashion shopping. We loved it all.

  • Liked — So clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Parking (in a small shed)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

This is a great hotel - really friendly people, lovely decoration, nice atmosphere. The problem raised by other reviewers is a genuine problem, however - we decided to walk to a restaurant in the evening, and the streets around it are either choked with traffic or dingy and dirty, depending on which way you go. Having said that, there is a nice bar-restaurant on the 4th floor, with a good view.

  • Liked — Front desk and bar views
  • Disliked — Streets around it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

Visiting Taranto we found this place on the web, and loved it!

It is a former palace of the city center (central island), which has been renovated while keeping architectural elements and style.

It is located in a very tiny street, with only a narrow one-way street to access the hotel parking space.

We had the impression that except us and a few sales reps, the hotel was not very crowded. One reason may be the area around, lots of semi-crumbling palaces and houses, and at night dark narrow streets...well, we were two, and I was glad about it, I would not have been very comfortable strolling around in this maze of short streets!
From what I understood it seems the area should get "soon" some refreshment and repair, which will for sure improve the hotel location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

My wife and I had the surprising pleasure of staying at the Akropolis this past month.
Although the hotel is in an area of Taranto that has been in decline, the hotel is new, spotless, comfortable with all amenities. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable, helpful, kind, and attentive.

I cannot say enough good things about the owner, who personally greeted us, took us for a tour of the hotel and allowed us to see the remains of the Akropolis stones on which the hotel is built. He also took us to a nearby museum for a quick tour.

Our stay was only one night, but I assure you we would stay there again and would highly recommend the Akropolis to anyone.

John and Katherine Freeman

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Akropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akropolis

Address: 3, Vico Io Seminario, 74100 Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Akropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Akropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akropolis Hotel Taranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.