We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recently renovated gem in the old town of Taranto.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Arcangelo

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Arcangelo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'Arcangelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Fontana 33 angolo Via Garibaldi 3, 74123 Taranto, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Taranto
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A recently renovated gem in the old town of Taranto.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is right on the edge of the Piazza Fountain, and the edge of the old town. It is clean and comfortable, with great staff who strive to help in every way. The breakfast was ordinary and at times the wifi was a little clunky but overall a great experience.
Its location surroundings are very old and confronting, but the locals are friendly. The hotel staff recommended a restaurant diagonally across the square, The Frisc & Mmange, which serves very fresh local seafood. It was fantastic value.
If you want to experience the 'old town' of Taranto this is the place to stay.
The hotel shows its address at via Garibaldi, our mapping could not find it, it was listed as Via Guiseppe Garibaldi. But if you find Fountain Piazza you can't help but see the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    34
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
86
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Europe. It is situated in the old city of Taranto just in front of Piazza Fontana and 30 m. from the sea. Excellent service. Logical prices. Every room is unique and most of all warm reception and family atmosphere. We have enjoyed a wonderful long week end. Grazie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are considering staying in Taranto then this hotel should make your decision for you.

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently and we can say without hesitation that this is an outstanding 3 star hotel at a comparatively budget price. The welcome was warm, enthusiastic and friendly. The passion for the hotel and their city from our host and hostesses was clear and the whole experience of our time here was one of pleasure and comfort. We felt we were in an extremely well appointed and relaxing home from home where nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was attractive and well-appointed with a comfortable bed and a beautifully finished modern bathroom. The included breakfast was tasty, fresh and we were offered further options which were not laid out but would be provided freshly from the kitchen. We were repeatedly asked if everything was to our liking or if there was anything more we required, but in a friendly genuine way and not as on off-hand afterthought, and we had proper conversations - not just "Have a nice day"!

Arriving from the railway station the first appearances of Taranto are a little off-putting as Taranto is a working industrial city and the short walk to the hotel is not through the tidiest area. However, the hotel is directly in front of you in the Piazza at the end of the bridge and stands out as a newly renovated old building among less well maintained old properties.

Any qualms we had on arriving in Taranto were immediately dispelled on entering the hotel, and we came to love the curious fascinating charm of the city and appreciate the location of the hotel for its convenience for the station and its superb position right at the start of the old city. Taranto is also convenient for a day trip by train to see the trullis of Alberobello.

We visited nearly at the end of a 3 week tour which saw us travel the length of Italy with short stays in other adjacent countries travelling by train, and this was one of only 3 visits out of 10 where we were truly sad to leave.

If you are not sure whether to stay in Taranto or not then please do, and if you do decide to stay here, look no further than the Hotel L'Arcangelo. We do not believe that you will be disappointed, and if you are then we cannot believe that you are true travellers but mere tourists and can only assume that you do not appreciate the nature of the city and the personal touches of a small hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms such as we had with windows and balconies on 2 sides give lots of light if required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed for two nights and it was late in the season (end of September) so not much was happening. We stayed in the room pictured and it was very comfortable with a splendid modern bathroom. The staff we extremely helpful, although the wifi only worked down in the restaurant, but it was free. The restaurant only served breakfast, but they recommended a good fish restaurant opposite for dinner.

Room Tip: Have a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A delightful stay with a passionate ambassador for the city as hostess. The rooms are not big, but nicely appointed and clean. It has a great atmosphere and is nicely decorated. For instance the front desk used to be an altar from a local church.
It is very close to the most beautiful, ornate baroque church.
The new part of town is a 15minute walk away and makes for a great stroll in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumia, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is very nice located in old town, room was very clean . Staff very helpful and nice. The Owner of the Hotel is extremely proffesional open - minded and helpful . I have spent there 8 nights without any problem.Thanks for all staff.

Room Tip: the bigger one room can be better for me in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KONSTANCIN-JEZIORNA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel located in the old town very close to the sea promenade. Room that we had was quite small with a very small bathroom but everything was clean. Breakfast good but basic. Staff extremely nice. There is a free wifi but during our stay it stopped working on the 3rd floor. Next to the hotel (50 meters) there is a pizza place with the best pizza I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arcangelo

Address: Piazza Fontana 33 angolo Via Garibaldi 3, 74123 Taranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Arcangelo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel L'Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Arcangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.