We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, incredible views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Histo'

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais Histo' to your Saves list
Relais Histo'
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sant'Andrea-Circummarpiccolo, 74100 Taranto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing location, incredible views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip to Taranto. I really wish it had been longer. Absolutely amazing hotel. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. No one at home could believe the pictures. I will go back with my wife for a romantic stay. My only complaint was the temperature. It was July in southern Italy so it was hot. The AC unit in the room wouldn't go lower than 22 (72 F) but there is no way the room was even that cool. It had to be over 25 C in the room. To make things worse, the only AC source was blocked by the curtains when they were closed. Other than that, absolute wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    60
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
47
172
2
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

With my family we stayed at the Histo, the property is small but very nice with a touch of Luxury especially the Suite we had.
My wife and I we both agreed that the staff working at the property is not 5 star beside a guy call Alessandro (professional and attentive to customers request).
To our opinion a 5 star Hotel needs a touch of class from the staff receiving their guest.
Others guest complained about the same subject.
Beside that we made our vacation nice and smooth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband, recent college grad and I stayed in this beautiful hotel on our last 2 nights in the Puglia region of Italy after 2 weeks at break neck speed. We needed to rest from our whirl wind tour and was hoping this would be the place. We left with a bad taste in our mouths and wondering why this hotel is considered 5 star.
The pro's: historical facility meticulously restored, wait staff at meals were superb - they went above and beyond to explain the area, food and historical significance of the hotel, quiet atmosphere to unwind, beautiful spa facility which included wonderfully affordable services and the food was fabulous!
The con's: The owner's son lurked around and gave the fabulous wait staff a hard time for no apparent reason, maybe to show them he's the boss? Uncool! The beds were uncomfortable, especially in the 2 bedroom Loft we booked. Upon leaving the hotel, I realized I had left my jacket at the cafe during breakfast and we immediately called to ask them to send to me. They said they couldn't do that and recommended we have someone pick it up and mail it to the States for us. Really???? When we were fortunate to stay in the Ritz Carlton in Istanbul my husband left something behind and they mailed it immediately, at their expense, ~30 euros, is a small price to pay for customer service and good will. The Ritz is 5 star in customer service, the Relais Histo is not.

Room Tip: Avoid the Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Two couples spent three nights here after a walking tour of Puglia. The hotel is really a restored and modernized stone palace about ten miles from Taranto. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was stone and marble with sleek furniture and a wonderful waterfall shower. There are walking trails mapped for you. The breakfast is wonderful and best eaten outside. At our request they arranged a taxi to take us to meet a guide in Taranto. The new archaeological museum had us gaping in awe. If you want to bask in pampered solitude for a few days, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The place is great but it no longer has the services of a 5 star hotel. We stayed for the second consecutive year, and we noticed a tremendous change! Negative! Discounted food at the restaurant of a typical trattoria. Poor service! (Where is Giancarlo?) Rooms are spacious and comfortable clean enough. Certainly will not be back because we paid a lot more than last year with much lower levels of service. Recommended for those who want a break from the city, but not for people demanding high quality services!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The somewhat bumpy roads in Puglia might not provide the most comfortable drive, but once the gates to Histo are opened, you enter a bubble of peace.
Histo's coolly-designed, minimalist rooms and decor were by far the most stunning of the hotels/agriturismo I've been to in Italy.
But it's the newly refurbished spa which provides the highlight of the stay. The intricate attention given to guests for the spa services, which are reasonably well-priced for a five-star establishment, are a guarantee that you will wash your stresses away.
The breakfast might not be great (did you ever get a decent breakfast in Italy?) but the food and service provided in the restaurant at night merely perfect the wonderful Puglia cuisine.
This is the perfect resort to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Settled in front of the heavy industrial moments of the busy Taranto area on the horizon, Relais Histó has not the charm of the usual apulian masseria. So don't expect the picture book kitsch of the adriatic coast line. However, the beautifully restored hotel guarantees a feeling of post-nuclear serenity in midst the lavishly flowering poppy fields around springtime. The rooms are nicely designed with a reduced, almost clerical touch. The spa and the gym are sufficiently equipped to strengthen this feeling. They should work on the breakfast - reduction is no viable concept for satisfying italian food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Histo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Histo'

Address: Via Sant'Andrea-Circummarpiccolo, 74100 Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Histo' 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Histo Relais Culti is a new luxury hotel which has been built by carefully restoring an abandoned medieval manor and farmhouse of great historical importance, also due to the presence of an ancient Roman aqueduct. People have lived here since ancient Roman times. The Basilica of SS Pietro and Andrea, which dates back to 1st century AD, has been very carefully restored as well, and today it is a wonderful frame where it is possible to organize meetings, special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Histo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histo s. Pietro Sul Mar Piccolo Relais Culti Hotel Taranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Histo', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.