We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Corte del Borgo Antico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Corte del Borgo Antico to your Saves list
La Corte del Borgo Antico
Vico I San Francesco della Scarpa 12, 70122 Bari, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 103 Bari B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The host was enthusiastic and helpful and speaks reasonable english. She found a free park outsdide the hotel although I am still nervous as it required going into the ZTL, which she assurred me was acceptable at that hour of the day.
The hotel was easy to find from the directions provided. The breakfast was the normal Italian breakfast and adequate. I agree with other comments that it felt more like a home than a hotel.
There is no lift and the stairs are narrow. While the host carried my wife's bag up, coming down when we left was not easy.
The hotel is close to the centre of old Bari but quite a walk from the shopping and the train station.
Sadly, the linen was unacceptable - holes in the towels and the room was sparse. The internet did not work and from what she said had been off for a while.

Room Tip: No lift. Get as close to the ground floor as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for a night in preparation for catching the cruise docking at Bari port the following day. Located very near the cathedral, old palace and Bari port. The aparment however is difficult to locate if you are a first time visitor as the old town has maze-like streets. Better to avail of the transport she provides. We are a family of four and the apartment is very spacious for us. Clean, strong water pressure, hot water. Owner lives in the building. She has a lift but it stops at every other floor so if you have heavy luggage, prepare to lift and carry. Wifi signal is very strong in our room. Yes ... we could unfortunately hear the neighbors at dawn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed there together with my parents for couple of nights and it was the most pleasant place to be.
First - owners, Sabrina and her husband, contacted me beforehand, asked about all the accomodation details and offered a transfer from airport only for 15 Euro. Than after arrival met us in airport, made a short "excursion' in the city and then gave some tips on where to go, to shop, what to see, etc. And was really helpful when we had to leave our luggage inside the hotel after check-out before our flight back to Milan.
Second - location. It's really perfect, everything is near, few steps to Castello Svevo, 10 minutes walk to St. Nicolas Basilica, Harbour and Central railway station where you can take train to Alberobello and other destinations of Puglia.
Third - the apartment itself. It was really perfect. We had 2-level flat with 2 big and 2 small beds, sofa, 2 TV, equiped kitchen, spacious bathroom with shower amenties. Towels were changed every day that in our case wasn't necessary. There were also WiFi access.
And the price was really low for this type of accomodation.
We were very happy to be in this hotel and would reccomend it to everyone, especially to big families or groups of friends.
Grazie mille a Sabrina e suo marito! Baci :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This B&B is hidden away in the old town but the directions given are good and will lead you to the doorway at the end of a dead end alley.

Rooms are small (~2.8 x 3m) but as we only spent 2 nights, it was adequate. Breakfast likewise was adequate at best. Internet was slow.

Owner was waiting when we arrived and was there at the time we requested breakfast but otherwise, did not see her.

Room Tip: Rooms are identical, one per floor up narrow stairs so maybe first floor room would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

the bnb is located in the middle if bari's old town. it is easiest found by following the main road to the port and entering the old town from that side. there are signs leading you to the bnb. the lady anna was very nice and welcoming. i had to get up at 6am and she was there making coffee and serving italian sweet pastry. the rooms are nice and clean. the bathroom is adjacent and clean as well. would recommend this bnb.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

a very small personal thing. . four rooms in all. one room in each floor!! room was clean and had all basic necessities. clean sheets and clean towels. paid for breakfast too. its a very simple breakfast. you can choose to have breakfast outside if you want. i also booked a transfer with the hotel from the airport to the hotel. very convenient to do so than to take a taxi from outside as the taxi would not be able to get into historical centre. also if you take the bus from airport to station then you still need a taxi or you d have to walk to find the place. Might not be that easy to find it as once in historical centre all alleys are the same. . once i got to the place they also showed me way to the main piazza nearby. . .thumbs up for this lovely place!

Room Tip: there is no lift and the stairs are wooden ones. if you prefer not to use the stairs ask for room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Corte del Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Corte del Borgo Antico

Address: Vico I San Francesco della Scarpa 12, 70122 Bari, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Corte del Borgo Antico is a bed & breakfast located in a typical four-storey, terraced "palazzotto", renovated with careful attention to furnishings to make it confortable and welcoming. Each of the four, individually styled bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom with shower unit; air conditioning, digital tv, internet access and window feature. A rich and plentiful breakfast is available in the well-equipped kitchen diner on the ground floor. we are located in close proximity to the main port and within easy walking distance of the Basilica of San Nicola, theatre Petruzzelli and the city centre with the Fiera del Levante exhibition centre and the central railway station only 1 Km away. Parking is also available. A shuttle service to and from the airport can be pre-booked. Exursions around the beautiful province of Bari (Alberobello, Grotte di Castellana, Trani, Polignano etc) can also be arranged on request. Special rates available for stays of over 5 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Corte del Borgo Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Corte del Borgo Antico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.