We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera has amazing food for excellent prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera

Opera
N.piccinni 151, 70121 Bari, Italy
3401774153
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 766 Restaurants in Bari
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Opera has amazing food for excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Greetings...this is an addition to the Boston Hotel posting I made for Bari, Italy. If you stay there you might as well make this the place you come to for lunch or dinner. It's terrific! The food quality is without question and depending on what you are used to spending for meals at other restaurants the prices are good for the quality of the meals/service you will receive.

While they first language is not English, don't worry, there are several people here that speak English well enough for you to order. I ate here three times and the only issue was I received water without gas (aqua frizzate) which is no big deal and was resolved in seconds.

They of course have pasta dishes, but I skipped all of these. Any restaurant in Italy can make good pasta, I went for steak and fish with salads on each occasion I eat here and the food was amazing every single time. I only took photos of one meal...sorry, I forgot my camera the first two times (jet lag), but did remember the final time. This place is more casual during lunch and a little more fancy for dinner, but not super formal. I'd suggest khakis and a collar shirt, but just don't wear shorts or t-shirts with rips in them.

Boun Appetitto! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We wanted to try local seafood and the restaurant was located next to the Hotel Boston, where we stayed. The quality of the food, service, and environment were excellent. Prices were reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Precooked fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We enter in this fish smelling retaurant looking for a nice fish based dinner. We looked for the only waiter that make us seated without asking for our coats. The sarted were eadible, just too much onions canceled the real taste of what we were eating. As main courese we had a precooked heated fish with potatoes that had becomed smashed. The atmosphere was cosy, just the smell of the fish all over the place was unpleasant. It's more like business dinner place and not a romantic, tete a tete restaurant. Probably for foreignair customers that do not know how really fresh fish should be.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best meal of my trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Nice small restaurant right next to the Hotel Boston, where we were staying. The best recommendation ever got from a hotel concierge!

We wanted to eat seafood, as Bari is THE place to do it in Italy. We asked if it was possible to get some fresh raw seafood for starters, and the waiter brought a huge, huge plate with oysters, several kinds of clams and mussels, sea urchins and what I have never tried before: something called "cannolicchi" (google translator: razor clams or razor shells), which were really good, along with shrimp and something that looked as a cross between a shrimp and a lobster. We ordered the "spaghetti coi frutti di mare" (seafood spaghetti), and they were unbelievable. And soon as the waiter knew we wanted to try local seafood, he brought us a local delicacy for us to try: the "cozze ripiene" (stuffed mussels), which were not on the menu, but the chef just made for us and send them at no cost!! Really nice way to attract tourists I would say!! Nice setting and impeccable service!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big city feel..big city meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011 via mobile

Talented young chef gives traditional Bari cuisine a new twist while respecting the subtle blend of freshness and flavour that make it unique.Creative and filling mixed antipasti loaded with flavour and flair. Wide variety of pasta dishes, flawless fish and perfect meat dishes and the dessert bringsit all to a close. Big city decor and atmosphere hits the right note. Perfect for business lunch, special night out or just a fine dining experience. Fair price for a meal that is both sophisticated and hearty.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera also viewed

Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 
Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 

Been to Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.