We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food but a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Pescatore

Al Pescatore
Piazza Federico II di Svevia, 6, 70122 Bari, Italy
+39 080 523 7039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 766 Restaurants in Bari
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High quality food but a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant twice and the quality of the food has never disappointed. The fish is very fresh and the dishes are extremely flavoursome. There are several reviews here that state a menu has never been presented and the waiters simply recommend various dishes. This happened to me on both occasions however I insisted on seeing a menu. The desserts are very nice despite portions not being very big. Desserts are never cheap in Italy however I did expect to be served bigger portions as per other restaurants in the city. As per other reviews, at the end of both meals I was presented with a white piece of paper with one figure on it. I insisted on having an official bill with a breakdown in order to confirm the total cost of the meal. The owner didn't appear to be particularly keen to do this however the total sum was in fact correct. Overall the quality of the food is excellent and I would certainly recommend eating here. However I would strongly advise that you insist on seeing a menu and an itemised bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    216
    114
    79
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a lovely authentic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Super food, high (constant) quality, very good prices, wide range of choices on the menu, fine service. Whenever you are in Bari, don't miss this restaurant. Lots of Italian families visit this place, and that is allways a good sign. They have, beside the regular menu every day (depending the catches) extra offers: ask for them Wine: excelent local vino bianco secco,, just € 10,-.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

not the perfect service and atmosphere as waiters were overwhelmed but the food compensated. Amazing fish dishes... good home made limoncello (for free and as much as you can drink) and good home made sweets. a bit overpriced for bari but nothing over what you find in italy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“unfriendly, overpriced, totally underwhelming,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Went for a late lunch to Al Pescatore with my wife looking for something good but light to eat.
the restaurant is next the Bari castle and therefore well placed to attract tourists. However, the service was surly and slow even though there were only 4 other tables being used.
We ordered 2 fish pasta dishes, still water, a beer and a mixed salad. My wife's pasta dish was OK, mine called a fisherman's spaghetti, was very average. The pasta itself was 1 minute short of 'al dente'; the mixed seafood (usual shell fish assortment and polpo) I am sure from a freezer mix, and the final surprise was that the one crayfish on the side had been placed there as a garnish only as the flesh in the tail/body had been removed before it was placed on my dish and the meat was definitely not in the meal. Worse even than that was that our overpriced mixed salad was only an Iceberg lettuce with one sliced unripe tomato. When we pointed out that everywhere else we had been in Southern Italy we had had rocket (in season), carrot, onion etc in a mixed salad the waiter told us that as this was Bari such vegetables were not available. Laughable! On complaining he said he would remove the salad from the final bill.
It was the worst meal by far we have eaten in Puglia and one of the most overpriced.

This is the first bad review I have written but believe this restaurant needs to improve its service and standards overall. Maybe we were unlucky, but now so are they.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were told that this restaurant does seafood well, so decided to give it a try. When we showed up we were told to come back in 30 minutes as we did not have reservations. Even when we came back they made us wait another 15 minutes. We were already annoyed but the waiters and host, made no effort to make us feel welcome. The service was rude, and most times we tried to get the attention of the waiters they ignored us.
The food was mediocre. The mussels marinara and the pasta frutti di mare, tasted exactly the same. They charge 5 euros "coperti" for basically nothing.
The best part about this restaurant is people watching. We sat outside and it was interesting the see the locals dine, hang out, and mingle. Italians are a lively bunch, and they really enjoy themselves around the dinner table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pescatore also viewed

Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 
Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 

Been to Al Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Pescatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.