We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strada delle 52 Gallerie al Monte Pasubio

Strada delle 52 Gallerie al Monte Pasubio
Passo Xomo | Posina, 36010 Vicenza, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Attractions in Vicenza
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having walked in many areas in the Trentino area over the past 3 years, i have to say this was one of the most interesting walks i have ever done. I would however advise one to wear suitable footwear and clothing and bring a head torch. Start out early and continue beyond Refugio Papa and explore the trench system on the mountains to the rear of the Church. Well worth the effort and well within the reach for a person with reasonable fitness.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    40
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Walking fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice walk as you go through each tunnel. If you bring children keep a good eye on them as there are points that are a bit dangerous for young ones.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We saw this site on tripadvisor before leaving for Italy. We were not sure at our age (65) that we could make the trek up mountains. We are glad we made the effort. While we only completed 8 tunnels, we took photos to last forever. The drive up is not for the faint of heart. Make sure you follow the signs for the tunnel path entrance. If you don't see a large wall mural of soldiers, you are on the wrong path! Make sure you have a fairly sunny day without much chance of rain!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great Workout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was more than a casual hike---but one that was well worth it. Some reviews indicate that it's two hours and great for kids---not if you're going to do the entire route! While we are in reasonable condition, two hours is probably not a reasonable expectation. Yes, bring some good flashlights---some tunnels are long and winding with little or no light. Much of the path and inside the tunnels have pretty large rocks. We went with good tennis shoes, and hiking shoes would have been much better.
We went the last week of May, and the end of many tunnels were partially blocked by snow, requiring some climbing about. The alternate route back to the beginning was about 25% snow covered. (Be sure to know where to turn for it so you don't head to the wrong mountain!) We were snowed on and rained on, after leaving in brilliant sunshine, so be prepared for changes.
The restaurant at the end of the trail was very good, with reasonably priced pasta & wine.
While it was much longer to take the round trip than we expected, it is a great memory, and we'd do it again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamberlain, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Strada delle 52 was a great hike. But, previous reviews didn't quiet prepare us for the moderate roughness. First, don't stop at the first parking lot. There is another one higher up. Turn left when you reach the first building/parking lot. You climb over 2000 feet, and the is a lot of loose rock. Boots are helpful. It took us over three hours to reach the resteraunt at the top. Be sure to leave fairly early in the morning so you reach the top early in the afternoon because the weather can turn bad late in the day. We walked through snow (in the air and on the ground) and rain. If you're going to take the road back, it is the first left after you go past the resteraunt and around the shoulder of the mountain. You'll be on the other side of the mountain from the tunnels, but not on the other side of the valley. Take headlamps or flashlights, water, snacks, cameras, raingear, sunscreen, and a map. This is a true hike and adventure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada delle 52 Gallerie al Monte Pasubio also viewed

Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to Strada delle 52 Gallerie al Monte Pasubio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strada delle 52 Gallerie al Monte Pasubio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.