We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica Palladiana

Basilica Palladiana
Piazza Dei Signori, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
+39 0444 222811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Palladian Basilica is the landmark building in Vicenza. Designed by the famous architect Andrea Palladio and completed in 1614, was included in the UNESCO list of World Heritage property in 1994.
Paciano, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The piazza di Basilica Palladiana is wonderful and the Basilica itself, stunning. I did not have the opportunity to go up into the top of the Basilica, but it looked like a wonderful place to stroll and view the city at night. I hope to do it next time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    163
    18
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Center of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We strolled around this building in more of a pub crawl fashion after our hike on Strada delle 52 Gallerie. My boyfriend attended Architecture school in Vicenza circa 1998. We visited his old spots to find they were updated and swanky instead of dives, but were very happy with the atmosphere and ambiance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I'm a local and you can't visit Vicenza without visiting the Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovers of Renaissance architecture love the Basilica - how could you not? The outer shell was designed by Palladio, the famous Renaissance architect. The interior is the original trading center of Vicenza. History is right before your eyes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Architecture at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

One of the first places I visited when arriving to Vicenza. I knew nothing about the historical significance when I first saw it, but was immediately impressed. I also met my wife in front of it, so this place has a special place in my heart.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Serenity and Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had just come from weeks in Rome and Florence and had no idea what to expect. This was a serene and elegant offset to the many baroque Romanesque and rococo buildings of the previous citys.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Palladiana also viewed

Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to Basilica Palladiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica Palladiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.