We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in a newly-renovated room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campo Marzio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Campo Marzio to your Saves list
Campo Marzio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Roma, 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Vicenza
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a newly-renovated room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this charming hotel, two blocks from the train station and a block from a large market (open a couple of days a week). Massimo at the front desk took wonderful care of us, graciously seeing to every need and answering every question in perfect English. The included breakfast was more than adequate (although some scrambled eggs would have been nice) and the service was attentive and prompt. Our room was a small suite, with a comfortable bed, a beautiful bath with nice upgrades, and a tile floor which I appreciated. Nothing worse than stale, dirty carpeting. We were aware that our room was one that had been renovated, and that some of the rooms have not yet been done, but if all are completed to the standard of the one we stayed in, it will be a very good hotel. The best room of the four hotels in which we stayed during our trip... hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, customer care at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr.Mikes Trav

How are you?

we hope You're very Well!!!


Thank you for your warm review!

We are very glad that you appreciated and enjoyed your stay at Hotel Campo Marzio

Thank you very much for the compliments that you said about our news rooms , the breakfast , the service,and our staff , in special Massimo

This is our way to make our guest at feel at our home ,


We really hope to see you again , and remember you ,that if you need a scrambled eggs or others just ask !!!, our staff will be happy to accommodate your request


Warm greatings from Vicenza and all staff of Hotel Campo Marzio

Giovanni Dalboni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    80
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
14
63
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This recently renovated hotel is near the train station and just outside the town gate. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, with a comfortable sitting area and good reading lights. The divider between the bed and seating held two open suitcases comfortably. The marble bathroom was roomy, with good counter space and a luxurious shower. The lobby was comfortable and well-supplied with books about the area and Palladio. Note: the town is shut down on Monday - museum, most restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, customer care at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Mr., Dick G.
We thank for your time spent here. We appreciate a lot your words and we look forward to welcome back.
With our best regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, just a few steps to the old center city. Very friendly staff, rooms recently renovated. Ours even had a Jacuzzi. It will be even better when they are finished. Other reviewers mention the kids hanging out in the park just next to the hotel, but they are easily avoided. Nice breakfast buffet, and terrific coffee.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, customer care at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs
We are very happy and pleased to read your wonderful review about your stay in our hotel.
We hope to have you our welcome guests.
With our best regards
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Let me just start by saying that the photos displaying this hotel are inaccurate and do not portray what this place really looks like. They are in the process of renovating the rooms, but they've only completed one floor (shown in the website photos) and the remaining rooms are old and dirty with moldy showers and broken doors and lights. I can't believe they claim to be a "4-star" hotel. I've stayed in hostels that put this place to shame. Also, this hotel is located outside the city of Vicenza, and is in a very shady area with heavy police activity. If you're traveling with children or anything expensive, do not stay here. Maybe once the renovations are complete this place will get its act together, but after such a terrible experience, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Public Relations Manager at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Rob R.
We can understand you did not appreciate our hospitality, but really you wrote some wrong words :
First of all the photos, we wrote you om May 13 at the booking time, explaining to Mr. Spano who confirmed the rooms that were not available the photos of these standard rooms at a cheap ratem as where the last days on sale, from the end of last June in fact these rooms (just 2 in the whole hotel) now we are destroying them and build some new ones.
Second : we have 2 new Suites each floor and 3 Junior Suites each fllor (the first, the second and the third floor..) this regarding the double, furtjermore we also have 10 single deluxe renovated rooms. But, of course, they were all already booked.
Third : For sure there's nothin dirty in our rooms, specially the one you slept, as this is the first complain with more then 16.000 people sleeping here every year !.
Fourth : we are not located outside the city of Vicenza, but really 50 mt. from the walking and historical centre of Vicenza.
The 'shady' area (is only a corner, public-area) doesn't depends on us but the local administration.
We are sure in the next weeks we will become the most exclusive Hotel in Vicenza, completely exclusive all the rooms, we remind also we confirmed standard rooms and we replied writing not renovated at the moment of the reservation.....
Anyway we apologise for the misunderstanding but we cannot understand your heavy words in any case.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 and was there for the trade show. This was a great location as it was close to the show but also around the corner from the shopping district. The room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor and was one of the older rooms. A few tired areas but I found this quite charming. The staff were very kind and helpful. The breakfast was excellent when I discovered their delicious scrambled eggs and their killer coffee. If management reads this, can you tell me the brand of coffee as I forgot to ask at check out!!

The only downside to this hotel is the immigrants that linger outside in clusters. The hotel cannot do anything about this and as long as you are vigilant and do not encourage any communication you will be just fine. This would not deter me from returning.

The hotel took a delivery for me and I was eternally grateful for their superb service. The hotel has been undergoing refurbishment but it didn't bother me in the slightest.

I would be more than happy to stay here again. So thanks to Valeria, Massimo and of course Gianni!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVG
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

so close to the railway station and due to Vicenza dimension..also close to the old city center..from the outside nothing special and also, especially at night, surrounded by bunches of candy men..and look alike..but no to worry about even if you are a woman travelling alone ( there's always carabinieri and police around)
the hotel has a dated lobby but I have been lucky to have one of the freshly renovated room which was great , comfy and quiet
spotless clean, great wi fi for free..
breakfast could be improved but it is ok

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, customer care at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,
we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our new deluxe rooms.
Concerning the breakfast, we offer a choice of croissant (with cream, jam or chocolate), cold cuts, assorted cheese, white bread together with cereal and whole grain bread, biscuits, plum cake, choice of fruit jams (also diet marmalades are available), honey, fresh fruit and fruit in syrup, yoghurt of many flavours and also plain yoghurt, juices – on request scrambled eggs and fresh orange/lemon squash. Of course we serve a variety of hot drinks, like tea, milk, american coffee, cappuccino, espresso.
And above all we are talking about a continental breakfast buffet with no restrictions and with our staff always attentive and at disposal to guests.
In case of particular requests, like gluten free or diet products, the client can inform us in occasion of the reservation, and we provide the requested items.
Let us keep clearly in view always the opinion of our guests and advice because they help us to improve.
with the hope to have you back guests we send our best regards
Giovanni Dalboni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Vicenza train station area has all the usual ruffians etc. The hotel is barely 2 blocks from the station. There was nobody on the property to be leery of and nobody near the station bothered us at all. Campo Marzio is also only a couple blocks from the entrance to historic central Vicenza. The location is convenient.
The hotel is entering its last phases of a complete renovation. We were somewhat disappointed to be put in a room in the old area, which was to be gutted in about 10 days, in spite of an obvious occupancy rate of less than 60% during this off-season time frame. There were maintenance issues, which is not surprising given the imminent demolition of the room.

The breakfast room was open and cheerful. The breakfast was quite standard; cold cereal, sliced meat & cheese and such.

We had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Upon our return after the lunch, the sign had been removed and the room made up. Also, just before 8 pm we left to see the city at night. I came back to the room a few moments later to retrieve a forgotten item and found an employee in our room. When asked his purpose he said he was there to make up the room again & that is done each evening. However, it had not been done the prior evening. It may have been legitimate but certainly reduced my comfort level. I am not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Public Relations Manager at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs trekkers1 from Denver/Colorado

We read with regret your review , we apologizes you had a negative impression , we always give the best comfort to our customers.

The room that was allocated was one of those that have not yet been renovated , at the time you booked a standard room as clear specified at the moment of the reservation and you accepted .

We apologize if our staff entered in your room ,
sometimes a customer leaves the signal “no disturb” inadvertently .
Of course we know that we make sure by phone or knocking on the door that our customers are not inside before cleaning the room.

Even in the evening we usually review the room and check that everything is in order , we believe that this is the best way to make efficent our service for the guests.

However, if you did not want to clean up your room maybe notify our reception that no one would come to his room at the check in time.
 
We hope you come back and appreciate our new deluxe/juniorsuites in your next trip , and we invite you to come and visit us again we are sure that your opinion will become positive .
We send you our best regards.
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campo Marzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Marzio

Address: Viale Roma, 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Vicenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vicenza
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vicenza
#10 Business Hotel in Vicenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Campo Marzio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Marzio is situated 20 metres from the pedestrian area and 200 metres from Vicenza train station, in an excellent location close to Corso Palladio, Piazza dei Signori and Palazzo Chiericati. Guests have access to bicycles which they can use to explore the city, and the chance to rent a car to explore the surrounding area. The multilingual staff are pleased to suggest tourist excursions and restaurants for guests to explore the area's traditions and unique characteristics. The facilities on offer include a convenient Internet access point in the lobby and outdoor parking - available only by booking. The reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Campo Marzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Marzio Vicenza
Campo Marzio Hotel Vicenza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campo Marzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.