We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campo Marzio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campo Marzio to your Saves list
Campo Marzio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Roma, 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Vicenza
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the hotel a couple of days ago after arriving on a train from Padua/Venice. The hotel was easy to find, a short (5 min) walk from the station, though our first impression of the area wasn't helped with a young chap throwing a phone on the pavement & storming off!

Vicenza is a lovely town to explore. On this trip we went to Venice, Padua, Vicenza and Verona and apart from the obvious 'no where like Venice' factor, we actually enjoyed Vicenza about the most, a beautiful, peaceful place.

We checked in with Massimo, who seems to work endless hours, he's a pleasure to talk with, very funny and knowledgeable. We checked in on Friday at about 7pm and the building work others have mentioned was ongoing, but were told it would be over in an hour or so (it was), but also that it wouldn't start on Saturday as it was the weekend. Unfortunately that wasn't the case and while it didn't wake us, it did spirit us out of the room earlier than we otherwise would have as it's not the most relaxing noise. I don't deduct marks because of the work... we understand improvements/changes are sometimes needed, but the desk should know the timings and make sure they're at suitable hours.

Massimo gave us some good recommendations for dinner and directions/maps. The hotel is very well located to get into the town. The breakfast is very good, continental... good choices.

Two areas where the hotel (Massimo really) excelled:
1) I woke up with really bad conjunctivitis, I occassionally suffer with this but this was a sudden onset without the usual warning signs I recognise, I don't know if it could have been a problem with towels/sheets but there's no evidence of that. I woke at about 6.30am and immediately knew my eyes were 'wrong', I called reception and Massimo answered... having been there at 10pm last night! I asked about a pharmacy and at first I thought he didn't understand so I just said 'nevermind, thanks anyway'. Two minutes later the phone rang, he had called around all the local pharmacies, found one open at 6.30am on a Saturday morning and had the address, with a map for me downstairs... what a star!

2) My girlfriend is new to bike riding and likes to practice; she mentioned it in passing to Massimo, wondering if there was anywhere to rent bikes (as the town's very flat and largely free of cars)... he volunteered two new bikes that the hotel had, to use for the day, no charge.

Massimo makes this hotel really stand out, fully recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    54
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
11
46
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group for a week while visiting Palladian Villas and Palaces in Vicenza and the Veneto. Friendly staff and excellent service. Very well located in town opposite a nice park. Our room (314) had interesting trompe l'oeil (if not a great view) which gave it some personality, unlike many chains which are simply bland and you could be anywhere. They are currently refurbishing the hotel and some of our group stayed in the new rooms which sound very smart. I note some guest comments about noise; as we were out most days we weren't in the hotel a lot during the day but we were not disturbed by any building work at all. The hotel put on a small reception for our group with splendid snacks and a glass of the local tipple which was delicious. I would definitely stay here again if I were in Vicenza. I would also recommend a restaurant nearby the Agli Schioppi; it looks rather unprepossessing but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The secret to an enjoyable stay at Campo Marzio is the staff. They are friendly and very helpful. Despite its location is reasonably quiet and the rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is good and our primary contact, Massimo, is a gem. He knows the city well, and gave us good tips for sights, and food.
It was good value, and we would definitaly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Excellent location both for the city walks and travel to Venice. Comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful staff. Nice, cosy place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I arrived with a reservation for one night and found the amenities, staff and location of this hotel ideal that I extended one extra night. Also their knowledge of the city and surrounding area was very helpful to make the most of my stay.

Room Tip: i didn't use the pool or fitness center, can not rate them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here in May of 2011. The first room we were given was directly across from the elevator - you could practically touch the room door while standing in the elevator. I went downstairs to request an alternate room - no problem, handed another key. Opened the door to the second room to be met by a wall of smoky stench. This is supposed to be a non-smoking property? Went back downstairs and was told that the hotel was full, and the original room key had been given to someone else. And that our room was smoke-free. I asked them to go to the room and check for themselves, they wouldn't. They finally admitted the room smelled of smoke. But they still couldn't do anything for us. So we spent the night in the smelly room, and woke with enormous headaches the next morning. Not good, and that's without mentioning the mold in the bathroom shower. Or that fact the rooms facing the front are very noisy, it's hard to sleep. I do not recommend this hotel, I'm sure there must be better in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Our rooms (and those of friends) were very plain, similar to the traveler photo, not at all like the professional hotel photos. That being said, the rooms were comfy, compact, clean; wifi, elevator, decent bathroom, great breakfast. Superior location for walking in the city and the train station. Didn't have any problems with renovation noise. You pay a premium for being so close to the city and train.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Campo Marzio, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear MargaretEllen1950,

thank you for coming back to Hotel Campo Marzio and for finding the time to write a positive review.

We believe that renovation will make staying at our Hotel an even better experience, and we hope to have you and your friends as our guests again.

Sincerely,

Customer Care Campo Marzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campo Marzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Marzio

Address: Viale Roma, 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Vicenza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vicenza
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vicenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Campo Marzio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Marzio is situated 20 metres from the pedestrian area and 200 metres from Vicenza train station, in an excellent location close to Corso Palladio, Piazza dei Signori and Palazzo Chiericati. Guests have access to bicycles which they can use to explore the city, and the chance to rent a car to explore the surrounding area. The multilingual staff are pleased to suggest tourist excursions and restaurants for guests to explore the area's traditions and unique characteristics. The facilities on offer include a convenient Internet access point in the lobby and outdoor parking - available only by booking. The reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campo Marzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Marzio Vicenza
Campo Marzio Hotel Vicenza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campo Marzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.