We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Ville

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De La Ville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Verona, 12, 36100 Vicenza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Vicenza
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Okay stay for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night at this hotel during our bike trip, which had been organised by a tour organiser.
The hotel itself is located about 15 minutes walk from the old center of town. Rooms were clean, bathroom was clean and spacious, with nice shower. The room had a bit of a smell (I guess from smoke, though it might just have been a room that hadn't been used for a while) which we got out by having the window open for about an hour.
Breakfast was not very good, lacking in service. Reception was very friendly and efficient.
For a stopover in Vicenza it's okay, but don't expect extremely good service. It may be that we just had a bit of a bad impression because we were pre-season, and the personnel - at least in the breakfast area - was a bit bored and without energy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    57
    38
    32
See reviews for
14
60
20
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WashingtonDC
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel de la Ville for two nights as my partner and I biked in the Veneto. Overall, I would say this is an adequate and cheap hotel, but nothing I would go out of my way to recommend to friends.

First off, the location of this hotel is a bit out of the main center. The surrounding areas are safe, but they are not quaint or historic. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk into “downtown” Vicenza. There is a parking lot if you do drive.

The accommodations are typically Italian, that is to say, “fine.” I would say the American equivalent is a Motel 6, with tired furniture and a dreary ambiance. The lobby is kind of sad and is clearly from the 1970s. We had to change rooms because the air conditioner was not working in our original room. The TV system is very confusing, and required the staff to set it up for us.

However, the staff was friendly and helpful. There is free wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms. The breakfast is adequate, if small.

Overall, I would say this hotel is fine if you’re looking to save money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights when visiting Vicenza for business. The location is not very central but only 5-10 minutes from the central station. The hotel is on the main bus route and was also on the shuttle route for the Fiera Vicenza. The rooms were OK with a comfortable mattress. The internet in the room was free and they have wireless in the lobby. Don't visit the restaurant as it is very expensive! Food was nice but not worth the prices. Highest charge I have had to pay for seating at an italian restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Four night stay in September 2011.
Firstly, if you have a car, then the car parking is free and fairly secure (underground to the back of the hotel). Visually, the hotel is not the best, having a car park for the bank out the front and off-set to the main road slightly. There is seating outside, which is pleasant enough. Check-in / out was good, all three of the people that assisted at the front desk were accommodating and friendly and very helpful (Especially Deborah)!
Having noted already other comments on the rooms, we were pleasantly surprised to find a room that was functional for our needs and as a base to explore the local area, ideal in size and comfort. Shower was good, BBC World and Sky News available and enough space for clothes etc.
Breakfast was inconsistent, with the staff unable to keep up with replenishment of the food. Also, it appeared that the restaurant manageress was happier to talk to friends, rather than support the team to keep things well presented and available. As some examples, cheese was always down to the last few pieces, water (four bottles) would be empty, scrambled eggs empty, bacon not always available etc.
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, as it seemed very expensive, but chose to eat in Vicenza itself. Realistically it is a 10-15min walk to the centre of the town, and there are some nice restaurants to eat in with a larger choice. Drinks were also expensive at the hotel, typically double the price of the town.
Agli Schioppi restaurant was very nice, serving great roast beef (small slices cooked to your liking with roasted potatoes), along with good fish (bream) and excellent dessert (apple tart).
Antica Osteria Ca'D'oro is great for Pizza, and if you eat in the restaurant down-stairs, you can see the chef making the pizza. Well priced food and nice beers.
Tutti Gelato is the best place for Ice Cream in Vicenza, great products and average prices.
There is also a restaurant opposite Tutti Gelato, which is ok, although slightly pricey and a bit like a school canteen in feeling!
There is a road grill bar next to McDonalds, on the way to the motorway, which is good value, quick service and has typical american themed products.
The hotel is the right side of town to join the motorway, so ideal if you are visiting other towns in the area.

To summarise, if you are visiting the local area and want a central base to explore the cities of Verona, Mantua and Padua, then this is ideal, as all are within an hours' drive. I believe this should be a 3* not a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor room (7th floor) had great views over the city off to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Recently I had spent an overnight at this hotel for the first time as my usual hotel was full because of the gold fair in Vicenza. The hotel is located quite near to train station and drive of just 5/10 minutes.

The check in was quick, clean & well managed room with all required facilities + low speed internet.

Had ordered the food in room service and was delivered ahead of informed time and was delicious too.

Didn't get a time for breakfast next day but am sure, would have been good too.

Check out was matter of 2 minutes only and am surely recommending this place to other travelers.

Room Tip: Go for a front room over looking the main street on 3rd floor, big & airy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The carpet in my room was incredibly dirty and the shower would run over after 30 seconds. This is an old hotel that badly needs a makeover. The food was good though and the staff did its best, but just like the rest of Vicenza, it was very dirty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vicenza hotels

nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Our trip was touring Italy with pre-paid half-board. Food was excellent in other hotels except three stays in Boscolo which were poor, with Vicenza being the worst. The half-board ingredients are either specially bought in or scraps. Example: seafood risotto starter containing only one small prawn, the seafood having been saved for "paying" customers, a 5mm thick "minute" steak well done, and tinned fruit salad left over from breakfast. Hard to believe this is a £50 meal for two. A scan of the menu revealed the budget would justify far better quality. On our third Boscolo, and last night of holiday, we asked if we could credit the prepaid voucher towards a-la-carte. This was denied. So we pretended to be external customers and paid again in full for a decent meal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Ville

Address: Viale Verona, 12, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Vicenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vicenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De La Ville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel De La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo De La Ville Hotel Vicenza
Boscolo De La Ville Vicenza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.